We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Painful experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show

Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show
No. 165, Wenyi Road,, Xi'an, China
029-88221873
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,611 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a dance and music show in which a dumpling dinner is also included.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Painful experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent an evening at the Tang Dynasty, where we had a dumpling banquet to start followed by the music and dance show.

The dumpling banquet itself was fine - I particularly enjoyed the dumplings which were shaped into animals. However, many of them really pretty bland and I have definitely tasted better. I'd recommend asking around for a better dumpling banquet, as I'm sure you could find better in Xi'an.

But the real disappointment was the show - it was extremely tacky, and the only real talent was a lady playing wind pipes and a trumpet player. Other than that, I couldn't wait for the show to be over. The theatre itself is old and grubby, and could really do with a make over.

We paid 300RMB each for the experience, which in my opinion was a total rip off. If you have any alternative plans for an evening, I would do that.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    25
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A better version of a Vegas show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I expected this show to be touristy and a little over the top but was pleasantly surprised. The food they served at the beginning was actually quite good. The show had terrific costumes and the people in the show were very talented. The theater was very nice and comfortable. I would highly recommend seeing this show if you are in Xi'an.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Interesting for a little while”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have to admit to not having an ear for Chinese music and an understanding of Chinese dancing so I found the show repetitious and quite boring after a while. When we had enough of the sumptuous dumpling feast we left early.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the Tang Dynasty Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Firstly, excellent food and service. The Show itself was extremely beautiful, creative and dramatic. It was a terrific evening, all in all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Enjoy Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you are stuck for ideas to kill your night time, Tang Dynasty Show is your best choice. Tang Dynasty is considered the most prosperous dynasty in all directions such as politics, economy, diplomacy, art, literature and so on. Tang Dynasty style dance and music can showcase the prosperity with the form of music and dance. You can taste the delicious dumplings with different shapes (Dumpling Feast) before appreciating show. There are two major venues to put on the performance – Shaanxi Song & Dance Theatre and Tang Dynasty Palace.I once watch it with my friends. It is very nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show also viewed

 

Been to Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.