We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

ramada bell tower is situated 5 mins from bell tower and Muslim quarters which is the center of xian town. if you are visiting xian for business or pleasure this is a good choice , the hotel is very affordable and has a good ambiance. only negative is that they dont have wifi on all floor so you have to manage with lan cable

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
18
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Good value for money hotel on North Street just 400 m from Bell Tower.
Rooms were clean tidy, and cleaned every day.
Showers were good, as was bath.
I stayed 1223 which is at the front of the hotel so problem for me was constant traffic noise throughout the night which in conjunction with jetlag made for a disturbed night.
Not a problem for me ( because I was working, and had to be up early anyway) was the public tannoy clock which starts to chime every half hour from 0600-2400, if you want a more relaxing night ask for a room at the back, the view is not so good but youll get a better nights sleep.

Service was good, staff friendly, the food was good too, but I took off to the Muslim Quarter and eat on the street for about 5 USD a night.
Its not the best hotel in Xian but its low cost, centrally placed and has creature comforts like a gym etc.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really has an excellent location, reasonable prices and a good room service (food was very good). However some aspects made the stay not so convenient. There were some fruits and nuts on the carpet which were not cleaned during 3 days stay. No internet Wi-Fi access, cable only. They charged separately for using the business center, which was a standing alone computer in the lobby, the same place where people book cars and tourist packages. Breakfast had some 3 to 5 days bread, as hard as a rock. Finally for airport transfer it was not possible to include in the room expenses, having to be paid in cash only. I'm living in China and can understand that this is current practices around here, all the cash only stuff and actually for Chinese standards the room was pretty clean, nonetheless I was expecting more from Ramada, since I've already used these hotels in other countries.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hands down the best hotel we had on our trip through China.

Check in was done quickly, although sometimes the staff had a little difficulty with their english, but overall they could always answer our questions. We arrived around 3pm but still had to wait about 15min before we could get our room key as it was not ready yet, which seemed a bit odd.

We quickly forgot about that when we finally got the room key. The room was large, clean, SOFT bed (quite unique in China ! Where beds are usually rock-hard), clean and large bathroom. TV with a few english channels (not that I like watching TV abroad, but we actually appreciated it then).

The location is very convenient, near the bell tower.

One thing they really need to improve, is the lady at the business center, that is in charge to organize tours could speak almost no english, which defeats the purpose.
And if you ask for transport to the airport they insist on booking a private car whereas a normal taxi would be much cheaper so that was very disappointing.

Other than that we were very happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Convenient location, excellent service, modern and clean. Hotel transfer to the airport only CNY 150. Breakfast and dinner was cheap. Walking distance to city wall, bell tower, drum tower and Muslim quarter. Tours available through the hotel were also cheap though we did not take one as we had per booked before arrival. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a business suite (3/5, 4/5, 5/5 & 6/5) which had immaculate finishing's and facilities.

The breakfast options were fine allowing for all tastes - well priced at 68RMB. Had the buffet last night for dinner with a local friend - great value at around 170RMB for two. Drinks included except alcohol.

The room had a deep bath with the shower over the bath, I found this difficult to access as the bath was higher than the floor. The lights in the bathroom made it awkward to shave with twisting my head in all directions.

I found the Lives Café and Lobby Bar staff very helpful and can't fault the cooks/chef cooking special order dishes for breakfast.

Reception was ok with efficient check-in and check out.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay again in a room with a walk-in shower.

Room Tip: Book a room with a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Ramada welcomes you with the exact same smell as the Shangri-la hotel chain but that is where the similarity ends. We stayed in the Commercial suite and the rooms were big and clean but very poorly laid out, for example, the light switch for the bathroom is in the hall, fine when you enter the room but not when you are in the bedroom and need to walk through the dark bathroom to get to the switch.

on the first night there was no "hot" water, it was tepid but not hot. A man came turned on the taps and eventually it heated up a touch, only after depositing what looked like have the cities dirt in the bottom of the sink. Also the electric went out for a couple of minutes.

The breakfast is ok at best, I did not mind it was basic continental and basic Chinese but nothing special.

On our free day we wanted massages but they do not offer this service anymore even though advertised. the fitness room is a room with a couple of treadmills and a few free weight there were no staff around and the light switches were nowhere to be found. We went to the Sofitel down the road and had massages there and instantly wished we had stayed there.

The Large TV had HBO, discovery etc but the picture quality was not very good and really would have expected better.

Room Tip: We stayed in a commercial suite and the room was large but we could here the hourly bell tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel

Also Known As:
Ramada Bell Tower Xi`An Hotel
Ramada Bell Tower Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel China/Shaanxi
Address: No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#54 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.