We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No added value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 1,990 hotels in Xi'an
Suzhou
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No added value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really has an excellent location, reasonable prices and a good room service (food was very good). However some aspects made the stay not so convenient. There were some fruits and nuts on the carpet which were not cleaned during 3 days stay. No internet Wi-Fi access, cable only. They charged separately for using the business center, which was a standing alone computer in the lobby, the same place where people book cars and tourist packages. Breakfast had some 3 to 5 days bread, as hard as a rock. Finally for airport transfer it was not possible to include in the room expenses, having to be paid in cash only. I'm living in China and can understand that this is current practices around here, all the cash only stuff and actually for Chinese standards the room was pretty clean, nonetheless I was expecting more from Ramada, since I've already used these hotels in other countries.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
23
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hands down the best hotel we had on our trip through China.

Check in was done quickly, although sometimes the staff had a little difficulty with their english, but overall they could always answer our questions. We arrived around 3pm but still had to wait about 15min before we could get our room key as it was not ready yet, which seemed a bit odd.

We quickly forgot about that when we finally got the room key. The room was large, clean, SOFT bed (quite unique in China ! Where beds are usually rock-hard), clean and large bathroom. TV with a few english channels (not that I like watching TV abroad, but we actually appreciated it then).

The location is very convenient, near the bell tower.

One thing they really need to improve, is the lady at the business center, that is in charge to organize tours could speak almost no english, which defeats the purpose.
And if you ask for transport to the airport they insist on booking a private car whereas a normal taxi would be much cheaper so that was very disappointing.

Other than that we were very happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Convenient location, excellent service, modern and clean. Hotel transfer to the airport only CNY 150. Breakfast and dinner was cheap. Walking distance to city wall, bell tower, drum tower and Muslim quarter. Tours available through the hotel were also cheap though we did not take one as we had per booked before arrival. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a business suite (3/5, 4/5, 5/5 & 6/5) which had immaculate finishing's and facilities.

The breakfast options were fine allowing for all tastes - well priced at 68RMB. Had the buffet last night for dinner with a local friend - great value at around 170RMB for two. Drinks included except alcohol.

The room had a deep bath with the shower over the bath, I found this difficult to access as the bath was higher than the floor. The lights in the bathroom made it awkward to shave with twisting my head in all directions.

I found the Lives Café and Lobby Bar staff very helpful and can't fault the cooks/chef cooking special order dishes for breakfast.

Reception was ok with efficient check-in and check out.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay again in a room with a walk-in shower.

Room Tip: Book a room with a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Ramada welcomes you with the exact same smell as the Shangri-la hotel chain but that is where the similarity ends. We stayed in the Commercial suite and the rooms were big and clean but very poorly laid out, for example, the light switch for the bathroom is in the hall, fine when you enter the room but not when you are in the bedroom and need to walk through the dark bathroom to get to the switch.

on the first night there was no "hot" water, it was tepid but not hot. A man came turned on the taps and eventually it heated up a touch, only after depositing what looked like have the cities dirt in the bottom of the sink. Also the electric went out for a couple of minutes.

The breakfast is ok at best, I did not mind it was basic continental and basic Chinese but nothing special.

On our free day we wanted massages but they do not offer this service anymore even though advertised. the fitness room is a room with a couple of treadmills and a few free weight there were no staff around and the light switches were nowhere to be found. We went to the Sofitel down the road and had massages there and instantly wished we had stayed there.

The Large TV had HBO, discovery etc but the picture quality was not very good and really would have expected better.

Room Tip: We stayed in a commercial suite and the room was large but we could here the hourly bell tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is central for the Bell tower and walking distance to the Muslim quarter. Our room was upgraded which was nice, this had a huge, very deep bath to my delight.
The room service menu wasn't great, but they do have two restaurants within the hotel which were busy so I presume a better choice.
The front desk were not very helpful, they weren't able to help us with the area i.e. recommend restaurants or an area to head for food. Room service also came and knocked on our door at 10.30PM asking for their two glasses back from the beers we had ordered earlier which we found odd.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Ramada and found that it is in an excellent location. Walking distance to the Bell Tower, Muslim Street, shopping centers and restaurants etc.

Our room was a good size and shower worked really well. However, it was not very bright even with all the lights on, there is hardly any natural light during the day and the air-conditioning didn't work very well for us. We mentioned to the receptionist about the room being too warm despite setting the air-cond to a low temperature but I don't think they did anything about it.

We had a very good dinner at the hotel restaurant called Live's Cafe. We ate some excellent Chinese food there and the price was reasonable.

On the whole, it is not a bad hotel at all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel

Address: No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#60 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bell Tower Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.