We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located in City Midst - handy towers and North & South gates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 2,042 Hotels in Xi'an
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Well located in City Midst - handy towers and North & South gates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a business suite (3/5, 4/5, 5/5 & 6/5) which had immaculate finishing's and facilities.

The breakfast options were fine allowing for all tastes - well priced at 68RMB. Had the buffet last night for dinner with a local friend - great value at around 170RMB for two. Drinks included except alcohol.

The room had a deep bath with the shower over the bath, I found this difficult to access as the bath was higher than the floor. The lights in the bathroom made it awkward to shave with twisting my head in all directions.

I found the Lives Café and Lobby Bar staff very helpful and can't fault the cooks/chef cooking special order dishes for breakfast.

Reception was ok with efficient check-in and check out.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay again in a room with a walk-in shower.

Room Tip: Book a room with a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
19
25
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Ramada welcomes you with the exact same smell as the Shangri-la hotel chain but that is where the similarity ends. We stayed in the Commercial suite and the rooms were big and clean but very poorly laid out, for example, the light switch for the bathroom is in the hall, fine when you enter the room but not when you are in the bedroom and need to walk through the dark bathroom to get to the switch.

on the first night there was no "hot" water, it was tepid but not hot. A man came turned on the taps and eventually it heated up a touch, only after depositing what looked like have the cities dirt in the bottom of the sink. Also the electric went out for a couple of minutes.

The breakfast is ok at best, I did not mind it was basic continental and basic Chinese but nothing special.

On our free day we wanted massages but they do not offer this service anymore even though advertised. the fitness room is a room with a couple of treadmills and a few free weight there were no staff around and the light switches were nowhere to be found. We went to the Sofitel down the road and had massages there and instantly wished we had stayed there.

The Large TV had HBO, discovery etc but the picture quality was not very good and really would have expected better.

Room Tip: We stayed in a commercial suite and the room was large but we could here the hourly bell tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is central for the Bell tower and walking distance to the Muslim quarter. Our room was upgraded which was nice, this had a huge, very deep bath to my delight.
The room service menu wasn't great, but they do have two restaurants within the hotel which were busy so I presume a better choice.
The front desk were not very helpful, they weren't able to help us with the area i.e. recommend restaurants or an area to head for food. Room service also came and knocked on our door at 10.30PM asking for their two glasses back from the beers we had ordered earlier which we found odd.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Ramada and found that it is in an excellent location. Walking distance to the Bell Tower, Muslim Street, shopping centers and restaurants etc.

Our room was a good size and shower worked really well. However, it was not very bright even with all the lights on, there is hardly any natural light during the day and the air-conditioning didn't work very well for us. We mentioned to the receptionist about the room being too warm despite setting the air-cond to a low temperature but I don't think they did anything about it.

We had a very good dinner at the hotel restaurant called Live's Cafe. We ate some excellent Chinese food there and the price was reasonable.

On the whole, it is not a bad hotel at all!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel room is lovely. The lighting, while attractive, was not made for applying makeup. The bedding was very comfortable. The maids, however, talked a lot in the hallway in the morning and the construction noise started up at 8 am. The weather turned warm while we were there but the a/c was not turned on. The window opened but unfortunately music from outside was very loud. The hotel manager moved us to a different room which was much appreciated. The next day we heard bells play every hour. We easily walked from the hotel to the Bell and Drum Towers and Muslim Quarter. There was a bank next door for ATM access. There was a donut shop on the next block and a convenience store about 2 blocks away. There were also McDonalds and KFC within 3 blocks for those tired of Asian food. We ate one meal at the hotel. The food was good and the restaurant lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexshanshan, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking your precious time writing this review. We do appreciate your praise on our service and quality. Ramada Xi'an Bell Tower are persisting being committed to creating caring experience every person and every time. We are now waiting and welcoming your next stay in Ramada Xi'an Bell Tower. Thank you!
If you have any other questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact with me.
Alex Duan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice hotel with a perfect location, blocks from everything, it's all near and the metro if need to go somewhere far. The staff is very friendly, one of them helped me for over half hour to get a cab to train station at 3PM, very bad time to get a cab, he tried and tried until he stopped a van that gave us a lift for a good tip.
If you don't want to spend too much on a hotel then this is the place for you. Comfortable, clean rooms.

Room Tip: get a tour to Terracotta with them (private is well worth it). they have 3 factory tours before tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexshanshan, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking your precious time writing this review. We do appreciate your praise on our service and quality. Ramada Xi'an Bell Tower are persisting being committed to creating caring experience every person and every time. We are now waiting and welcoming your next stay in Ramada Xi'an Bell Tower. Thank you!
If you have any other questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact with me.
Alex Duan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well situated at the heart of the walled city. It is conveniently near the Muslim Quarters which has great food and cheap souvenirs. It is near the Bell and drum towers and shopping malls/stores. It near the airport bus stop.

The room is the right size for 2 and is clean and comfortable. Nice lighting. Would really like a room like that.

If you come here and don't have a clue of the tours, the hotel can arrange everything for you. The food is good although eating it the second time is not exciting anymore.

Xian is a city with great tourist potential and they are slowly improving the city. And Ramada hotel is definitely the place to stay at!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexshanshan, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
January 31, 2013
Thanks a lot for taking your precious time writing this review. We do appreciate your praise on our service and quality. Ramada Xi'an Bell Tower are persisting being committed to creating caring experience every person and every time. We are now waiting and welcoming your next stay in Ramada Xi'an Bell Tower. Thank you!
If you have any other questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact with me.
Alex Duan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel

Address: No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#59 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bell Tower Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.