We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 1,977 hotels in Xi'an
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

So many positive aspects. For a low room rate (we paid 45 €) you get an o.k. room with a wonderful bathroom (rainforest walk in shower) in a perfect location. Just walk to the Bell Tower and Main shopping area as well as the south Gate (a few meters West of south Gate on the city wall you can rent bicycles - a must even for unexperienced bike riders like me). Best of all the hotel is located just a few minutes by foot to the Muslim quarter which is so lively at night with hundreds of small restaurants and shops. Free WiFi only in the lobby and restaurant. Breakfast o.k. Fitness Center barely adaequate and only open when Massage place is open, not in the morning!!! Back Massage was o.k., price a little high for China. In this hotel you are also very close to two stations of the now open Metro (Line 2). Just take the Metro to the North Train Station and buy tickets to go to LuoyangLongmen - 100 minute ride for 380 km to the amazing 1500 year-old Grottoes/Buddhas, far superior to the BingMaYong (Terracotta Warriors) in our opinion .

Room Tip: away from the street because windows do not shut closely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your wonderful remarks on the tripadvisor after your recent visit.
We have shared with our staff.
Welcome to join WYNDHAM REWARDS, you can earn points or airline miles when staying any wyndham hotel brand.
If I can be assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 0086-13720439489
We hope to welcome you back Ramada Xi’an Bell Tower in the not so distant future.

Best Regards
Administrative Assistant Manager
Melody Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
13
22
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The cost of hotel pick up from airport to the hotel is high. At the start, our Pingyao hotel lady was having problem to book the pick up service for us since Ramada keep asking for cellphone number but we don't have one. I was sitting next to her while she talked to Ramada-she has to assure Ramada that we are good guest and will turn up and pay etc etc.. So not a good start since I have actually booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children via their website about 5 months ahead but they still have doubt that we will not turn up when we try to book the airport pick up service.. not so impressed.. Upon check in, it took ages since they had issue with the booking and we end up have to stay in 2 different rooms instead of a 2 rooms unit as the web reservation confirmed…The hotel pick up service keep standing next to me while we were checked in and ask us to go to another office to pay for the pick up fees by cash before we had chance to go to our room..Give us the feeling they think we will run away without pay... I understand it was late night but this is suppose to be a chain international hotel.. it is disappointing that the pick up service and hotel cannot be paid at same time under same bill and I have to deal with 2 groups of people.. and I asked about train ticket purchasing for our onward travel from Xian to Luoyang, the answer I got was that we will not be able to get the train tickets since it is near Chinese New Year and they can only book flights for us .. The next day, I found the train ticket booth near this hotel (turn left while you come out the hotel and cross the first traffic light - the ticket booth is right next to the national theater) I did queue about 20 minutes but had no problem getting 4 train tickets and the train had heaps of seats left even on the day we travelled. Kind of feel they try to trick us to get more $$. The positive thing is that the guy at the front desk rostered at midnight on 2 Jan was really helpful and did gave me a lot of advice on how to get a bus to Terra-cotta Army and the room itself is clean but that was about it…Service to him is 5 stars but the rest of the team made it dropped to 2 stars...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your comments on this website. I wanted to personally reply to you and take your
feedback to improve the services and products we offer.

I have passed on your comments to the departments involved. Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.
If I can be assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 0086-87283999EXT:80001,We hope to welcome you back Ramada Xi’an Bell Tower in the not so distant future.

Best Regards
General Manager

Lily Zhang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel is pretty new is pretty and is very clean it has all the amenities . Is very close to the Bell Tower and close by to a mall. A lot of choices where you can walk and grab a bite.The buffet at breakfast is ok and the one that they serve at night is ok too. The personnel is very kind and nice The City Wall is walkable distance as well. The Terracotta Warriors Museum is close

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melodyly, Public Relations Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a response after your recent visit.

I was also delighted to read that you found all our team members to be very friendly and helpful.

We welcome all constructive criticism as it help us to get better.

If I can be assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 0086-029-87283999-Ext:89009.

We hope to welcome you back Ramada Xi’an Bell Tower in the not so distant future.

Best Regards

Administrative Assistant Manager
Melody Liu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Rooms are noisy because you can't shut the windows. Tried 3 rooms and all had a same problem: couple of cm open all the time. Hotel is located in very busy street and bare in mind that chinese use hornes very much. Only in 15th floor we could find different kind of windows and the noise level ok. Bring earblugs anyway - the "belltower" rings loudely every hour!

You can´t get taxi in front of the hotel! If you in a hurry, remember to order it in time (at least 15 min) and check and re-check that it is really coming. After waiting for a while they might just say that it isn´t coming - if you happen to ask. Otherwise you have to walk with your luggages to the nearest street corner to get taxi. Staff in the hotel wont´t do that for you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melodyly, Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your talking time to write a response on tripadvisor after your recent visit.
We are sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your recent stay at our hotel because of the location and services. your opinion is appreciated and will be forwarded to related department for their attention.
We welcome all constructive criticism as it help us to get better.
If I can be assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 0086-029-87283999-Ext:89009.
We hope to welcome you back Ramada Xi’an Bell Tower in the not so distant future.

Best Regards
Administrative Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Booked for 4 nights in October. The staff are friendly. The hotel room is dark. The lighting is terrible. You could not even do the make up in the bathroom as there is only one spot light down from the ceiling. Morning Buffet costs 50 RMB for hotel guest. I have to ask, complain in order to get a cup of coffee. Service is so slow. The cocktail in Lounge is overprice and that's why empty.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melodyly, Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your talking time to write a response on tripadvisor after your recent visit.
We are sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your recent stay at our hotel because of the room facility and services. your opinion is appreciated and will be forwarded to related department for their attention.
We welcome all constructive criticism as it help us to get better.
If I can be assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 0086-029-87283999-Ext:89009.
We hope to welcome you back Ramada Xi’an Bell Tower in the not so distant future.

Best Regards
Administrative Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Travelling with a group tour we enjoyed 2 nights at the Bell Tower Hotel whilst we visited the Terra Cotta Warriors and other city attractions. The hotel is 4 star or better, our room was very comfortable and had all the facilities expected from a Ramada hotel. The bathroom was excellent and we enjoyed the buffet breakfast each morning.

Room Tip: We were with a tour group and enjoyed excellent rooms wherever we stayed during our 20 night tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melodyly, Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your wonderful remarks on the tripadvisor after your recent visit.
We have shared with our staff.
Welcome to join WYNDHAM REWARDS, you can earn points or airline miles when staying any wyndham hotel brand. If I can be assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 0086-029-87283999-Ext:89009.
We hope to welcome you back Ramada Xi’an Bell Tower in the not so distant future.

Best Regards
Administrative Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Ramada Bell Tower opened in Feb 2011. There has obviously been a great deal of effort and expense put into the hotel, it is just a shame that the finish is not better.
I booked the Ramada in the knowledge that it was newly opened and that I hoped the rooms would be freshly decorated and they were. The bathroom is partitioned from the bedroom by glass and there is a blind that you can lower if you want privacy. The bath itself has a hand-held shower and an over-head shower for which the run-off goes everywhere. There is a shower curtain but the design does not assist the draining of this water which ultimately ends-up in a puddle on the floor.
The room was a King sized we paid extra to get a non-smoking king-sized city room alas the view could only be seen if you stood at an angle to the window. We booked through the Ramada website and were disappointed to find that they had problems with our booking when we arrived although the free fruit that they brought to our room for booking through the site and free breakfast due to the mix-up was good compensation.
The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable and the bed linens of a nice quality. The colour scheme of the hotel interior is of soft browns and beige and is easy on the eye. The carpet outside the lift on our floor looked like it needed a good vacuum, I think this is due to the carpet being new.
Breakfast was ok and not as splendid or with as much variety as we had experienced in other hotels on our trip but admittedly we did not pay as much.
The staff were wonderful and very helpful. They really were the stars of the stay.
The location of the hotel is great and very close to the Bell Tower. The no. 201 and 610 bus get you from the main station.
You can make your way to the terracotta army easily yourself by taking the 306 bus from the main station it is an hours ride. No need to take the more expensive mini-bus' the main bus is great and air-conditioned (6RMB p/p).
There is a airport bus that leaves you at the main station or Melody Hotel (near the bell tower) we took this on our return to the airport (26RMB p/p). Watch out there are three terminals. Terminal 1 & 2 are mainly domestic - best to know which one you want to go to first as there are no signs to say which airlines go from which on the drive in. There is a shuttle from terminal 1 to terminal 2.
Our plane was delayed on our arrival in Xi'an so we took a taxi. Please be aware that even if you go to the official taxi rank they will still try to bargain a price off meter. Expect to pay 170RMB to the city centre (we checked this with an official) on-meter but if you can negotiate about 100RMB off-meter. Also be aware that they will ask you to pay the toll and parking fee which is about 15RMB. If you are on the meter then note that you will get some extra sight-seeing on your journey - our taxi driver took us round the city first.
There are main placed to eat near the Bell tower. Take a walk round the Muslim area for great street food and try King Town for dinner one night.
If your time is short for your trip to Xi'an rest assured you can do it and the terracotta army in a day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melodyly, Manager at Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.we are so pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and found the staff made the hotel and your stay memorable and enjoyable, it is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback .
Welcome to join WYNDHAM REWARDS, you can earn points or airline miles when staying any wyndham hotel brand. If I can be assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 0086-029-87283999-Ext:89009.
We hope to welcome you back Ramada Xi’an Bell Tower in the not so distant future.

Best Regards
Administrative Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel

Address: No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#53 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bell Tower Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.