We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bicycle ride along the wall is a must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an

Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an
South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710000, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 240 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Ancient Ruins, Architectural Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Bicycle ride along the wall is a must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our guide with China Odyssey Tours arranged for the bicycle rental near the west gate. What a neat way for the family to ride along the wall. We were able to stop and look at the displays. We also stopped to look at a fruit and veg market next to the wall and got some great video footage.

This wall is very well preserved and even for a large person such as myself, was a nice casual ride along the wall. We found that 45 minutes was enough to do about half of the city wall and take in attractions.

Great spots to take photos of the city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    62
    18
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice ride along the ancient wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we rented a bicycle for 90mins. Not able to finish the entire wall. Only finished half of it. was good that we can have a good view of the city. Also there are different performances within. We watched the ancient soldier march. but their costumes are somehow too undetailed (wear shorts). I dunno if that is really the costume of the Sui dynasty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Try a bike ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Ancient City Wall is wonderful - you can appreciate ancient Xian by either hiring a bike and riding round, or take the modern method of cart. If you are a foreigner, you will be as much of a tourist attraction to the locals, but the locals are friendly and very helpful. A great way to see the history of Xian!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Gates are all very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I enjoyed seeing all of the city gates and taking tons of pictures. We walked beside most of the city wall and it is remarkable the great condition it is in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
1,031 reviews 1,031 reviews
499 attraction reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
1,036 helpful votes 1,036 helpful votes
“Impressive city wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although we started at the west gate of the city wall, the south gate was our next stop, whilst cycling round the wall. Personally the gates were fairly similar to me and I could distinguish much between north south East or west. They were all impressive . To ensure you see all the gates I can highly recommend cycling round as it's so vast. Circa 14km in total. The bike rentals are at each main gate, so it doesn't matter where you start. It's 40 yuan for 100 mins, plus a deposit of 400yuan. We only had 300 left on us, but they were fine and took this instead.
The bikes aren't great and the city wall is extremely bumpy, however we had a great time cycling around. We stopped plenty of times for pictures and for drinks and we easily made it round it 100 mins.
Without doubt it was our favourite thing to do in the centre of Xian.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an also viewed

 

Been to Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.