We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice ride along the ancient wall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an

Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an
South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710000, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 317 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice ride along the ancient wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we rented a bicycle for 90mins. Not able to finish the entire wall. Only finished half of it. was good that we can have a good view of the city. Also there are different performances within. We watched the ancient soldier march. but their costumes are somehow too undetailed (wear shorts). I dunno if that is really the costume of the Sui dynasty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    86
    22
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Try a bike ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Ancient City Wall is wonderful - you can appreciate ancient Xian by either hiring a bike and riding round, or take the modern method of cart. If you are a foreigner, you will be as much of a tourist attraction to the locals, but the locals are friendly and very helpful. A great way to see the history of Xian!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Gates are all very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I enjoyed seeing all of the city gates and taking tons of pictures. We walked beside most of the city wall and it is remarkable the great condition it is in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,113 reviews
519 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,112 helpful votes
“Impressive city wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Although we started at the west gate of the city wall, the south gate was our next stop, whilst cycling round the wall. Personally the gates were fairly similar to me and I could distinguish much between north south East or west. They were all impressive . To ensure you see all the gates I can highly recommend cycling round as it's so vast. Circa 14km in total. The bike rentals are at each main gate, so it doesn't matter where you start. It's 40 yuan for 100 mins, plus a deposit of 400yuan. We only had 300 left on us, but they were fine and took this instead.
The bikes aren't great and the city wall is extremely bumpy, however we had a great time cycling around. We stopped plenty of times for pictures and for drinks and we easily made it round it 100 mins.
Without doubt it was our favourite thing to do in the centre of Xian.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best place to start viewing the city wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The south gate has an informative introduction to the wall and several opportunities to take pictures with drums and statues. The best sites start on the south side of town and continue clockwise to the west.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an also viewed

 

Been to Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.