We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls of Xian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an

Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an
South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710000, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 248 Attractions in Xi'an
Type: Ancient Ruins, Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Goiania, GO
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Walls of Xian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It´s a nice defense Wall . Very large , wide enough to ride bikes or go for a walk , in top of it.Encloses whole downtown Xian

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    57
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

After a long day visiting the Terracotta Warriors I had an hour of free time before heading to a local Opera performance. I was keen to check out the Wall that surrounded the city and to my delight there were rental bikes fore hire to bike the entire wall. It gave you a unique perspective of the old Chinese architecture vs the new. I would advise giving yourself more than an hour as I was very rushed and exhausted by the end but very rewarding and well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“9 mile bumpy ride is worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family of 5 includes three young adult sons. We enjoyed the views and the ride, despite the bumpiness. The ride is flat and easy, but padded shorts would be most welcomed. Walking 9 miles isn't reasonable so the ride is a nice alternative. We went in the early evening, and the red paper lanterns were lit by the end of our ride. Easy listening music plays on speakers so you sort of ride to a soundtrack. I remember hearing Kenny G at one point. You decide if that's a plus or a minus. The bikes were all in good condition. They want a cash deposit (it was 800 RMB for our family) in addition to the rental fee so bring your wallet. Next to the terra cotta warriors, this was our favorite thing in Xi'an.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Walking around the wall gives an amazing view of the city. It was early evening when we went round and there were some really interesting Ti chi sessions and exercise groups going on as well as a performance of a play going on in the park below. There are some interesting models in the guard towers but difficult to see because they are not lit up.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Truly amazed at the scale and size of the city walls. Living in the UK and after visiting the walls of some of our old Roman towns and cities the one in Xian was a great surprise - wide enough to take whole battalions of soldiers plus heavy weapons and cavalry.
Visited in March when it was very cold so didn't linger long. Cycling around it would have been a good option for the more energetic.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an also viewed

 

Been to Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Wall of South Gate of Yan'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.