We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Fa Chang Restaurant

De Fa Chang Restaurant
28 Pingan Market, Bell Tower Square, Xi'an, China
029-87676615
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 1,607 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“We loved it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I disagree with all the negative reviews-maybe because we did NOT order the dumplings. We had a beautiful set menu. I was with a large group of 14 tourists and everything was delicious. Spicy eggplant was our favorite but they also gave us a delicious sweet potato mash that was almost like soup and was so yummy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    33
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Taste only a little bit above average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The ground floor was more like a fast food, hence we went up 1 floor to the 1st floor. The 1st floor was clean and much better decorate.

The menu got a great variety of Chinese dumpling (jiao zi) for which the restaurant was famous for. We were a group of 4 and ordered 4 types of dumpling, a whole chicken and a dish of vegetable. If you are not new to Chinese food or dumpling, you will find that the taste of the dumpling or dishes was only average or slightly above average, however the price is much higher than other restaurants in Xi'an, probably pay for better decoration, location and neatly dressed waitress. Also the variety of Chinese dumplings and their presentation may be good experience for people not frequent with Chinese dumplings.

Overall it is good restaurant if you want to experience large variety of Chinese dumplings in a good environment in Xi'an. There are also a series of 4-person tables next to the window where you can enjoy the views of the Bell and Drum Towers, however these tables are often pre-occupied.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO BETWEEN NOV-JAN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was recommended by tour guides and the hotel and everything but the food was tasteless, expensive and the dumplings were dry. My family friends went during late March, and they said it was the best dumplings they ever had, I could not fathom why that was the case. This place is a must go when in the off-season were it is quiet but the quality, service and cost is very good. It's not worth it when going between November and January. Definitely worth it otherwise.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This restaurant comes highly recommended on the media and is certainly extremely popular judging by its size and how crowded the place was. Perhaps, the location adds to its popularity. The dumplings are OK but nothing to rave about. Each dumpling has a shape depending on the contents, so that you don't get confused. You can expect more than 10 different types of dumplings to be served. It is possible that the sheer volume of business brings down the quality.

It is like an institution and therefore, is worth a visit, but there are other restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“some of the best dumplings we have had in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have lived in China for 3 years and all of us agree that these were among the best dumplings we have had. We had the banquet and it was really good. The waitress informed us what was in each one and the staff were very helpful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Fa Chang Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to De Fa Chang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Fa Chang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.