We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel back 6,000 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Banpo Museum

Xi'an Banpo Museum
North of Banpo Village, Baqiao District, Xi'an 710038, China
029-83512807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 318 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Travel back 6,000 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

While this site is interesting it is an active and ongoing excavation site.
The history of the society is interesting, with well designed huts or houses.
The Matriarchal hierarchy made being a male very lucky...LOL...your guide will give the full story when you go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop on Way to Warriors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our guide and driver suggested a stop at Banpo Museum when I decided the imperial hot springs didn't look that interesting and we therefore had some extra time in our day. I'm so glad we stopped at Banpo to see the remains of a 6,000-year-old matriarchal society. Not only was it fascinating to see a peaceful civilization to contrast to the Qin emperor who killed his father 4,000 years later, but the museum itself was clean, well laid out, and full of interactive high-tech displays. My kids (13 and 10) had a great time seeing early tools and the beginnings of a written language. Highly recommend a stop here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treasure of history and culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Banpo Village historical site is well worth the effort of seeing on a visit to Xi'an, especially if you thought that the Terra Cotta Warriors was the only game in town.

The Village depicts an agrarian, matriarchal society which flourished in the broad river basin some 6000 years ago.

There are plenty of panel displays, with English subtext (a little too small for my taste) and some very effective video animations about how the various dwellings were constructed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were not sure what our guide was taking us to. It's interesting to see how dwelling forms and communal living occurred so long long ago. If you want to know about Chinese society and history, this is interesting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“6000 years ago village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We will see some old houses of 6000 years ago and the oldest pottery jar and stone facilities.It's a neolithic matriarchal village.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an Banpo Museum also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an Banpo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Banpo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.