We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Stop on Way to Warriors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Banpo Museum

Xi'an Banpo Museum
North of Banpo Village, Baqiao District, Xi'an 710038, China
029-83512807
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #39 of 247 attractions in Xi'an
Type: Museums, Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop on Way to Warriors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our guide and driver suggested a stop at Banpo Museum when I decided the imperial hot springs didn't look that interesting and we therefore had some extra time in our day. I'm so glad we stopped at Banpo to see the remains of a 6,000-year-old matriarchal society. Not only was it fascinating to see a peaceful civilization to contrast to the Qin emperor who killed his father 4,000 years later, but the museum itself was clean, well laid out, and full of interactive high-tech displays. My kids (13 and 10) had a great time seeing early tools and the beginnings of a written language. Highly recommend a stop here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A treasure of history and culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Banpo Village historical site is well worth the effort of seeing on a visit to Xi'an, especially if you thought that the Terra Cotta Warriors was the only game in town.

The Village depicts an agrarian, matriarchal society which flourished in the broad river basin some 6000 years ago.

There are plenty of panel displays, with English subtext (a little too small for my taste) and some very effective video animations about how the various dwellings were constructed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were not sure what our guide was taking us to. It's interesting to see how dwelling forms and communal living occurred so long long ago. If you want to know about Chinese society and history, this is interesting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“6000 years ago village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We will see some old houses of 6000 years ago and the oldest pottery jar and stone facilities.It's a neolithic matriarchal village.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
2,246 helpful votes 2,246 helpful votes
“One day this will be an excellent Museum site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This museum contains the remains of a 6,000+ year old village. Much of it is in the very beginning of the excavations. You can see the foundations of what was the village, as well as pits containing skulls, tools, and other artifacts. It does not have the grandeur of the Terra Cotta Warriors, true, but you can see how over time as more of the village is uncovered, this could be a grand exhibition. There are quite a few buildings on the site dedicated to showing artifacts and peoples of the area, as well as a building that traced the history of all Chinese names. Unfortunately for us, on the day of our visit, there was some major drainage pipe work being done, so many of the buildings were closed for that construction project. I did enjoy seeing the reconstructed houses, especially the one with the air conditioner stuck into the wall, apparently this particular reconstructed building is used as some kind of staff office now. If you are on your way to the terra cotta warriors it is worth a stop, but for now there is not enough here to make a trip all on its' own.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an Banpo Museum also viewed

 

Been to Xi'an Banpo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Banpo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.