We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who doesn't like a little "cheese" now and then?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tang Dynasty, Xi'an

The Tang Dynasty, Xi'an
75 Changan Road, Xi'an 710061, China
029-87822222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,596 Restaurants in Xi'an
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Cantonese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Who doesn't like a little "cheese" now and then?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although the dumplings weren't the best I've ever had and the audience was full of tourists, the show seemed fairly authentic. This is a good way to get a glimpse of traditional Chinese music and dance. Doors open for dinner at 6 PM. Getting there by 6:30 or 6:45 is fine. Show starts at 8 PM and is done just after 9. Opt for the dinner & show (US $50) because US $32 seems a bit steep for just one hour of music and dance.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    32
    23
    17
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I'm not an Opera person, but this was pretty good!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have never been a big fan of Opera style performances, but I have to admit that being accompanied with my wife and two teenagers, we all agreed that this was well worth the visit. The food was nice, not outstanding, and we found that there was enough good quality food for the evening. Due to the layout to watch the performance after the meal, the tables are in a set position which makes it hard for the waiters. Yet the service was good also. The performance itself was fast and entertaining. A bit of everything to please everyone. Would I do it again? Yeah, I reckon I would. So yes, worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Touristy but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went here with our China tour. It is in a large tiered theatre which was filled with other western tour groups. Dinner consisted of 15 different dumplings, which were tastey. The show is definitely done for tourists but was enjoyable and well done.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tacky, fake 'Chinese culture' is insulting.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would have found this show boring and sub-par in Las Vegas. It's completely inexcusable here, presented as 'Chinese' when the choreography, costumes, and much of the music are so obviously Western in origin. The dance performances are incredibly dumb and really boring, with the most athletic dance move being the occasional high kick. Weak.

The only positive thing is the traditional Chinese orchestra, and even then I have my doubts as to how authentic the music is when the rest of the show is so clearly Westernized and fake. It's insulting to the audience's intelligence to suggest that any of this resembles anything from the Tang Dynasty, or is even Chinese in origin.

It's true that the theater is nice and some of the food is pretty good. The show is too gross to make up for it. Not recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“The Tang Dynasty, Xi'an”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went to this show as part of an optional Viking River Cruise Imperial Jewels of China Tour. It was rated as being a 5 star trip and cost the equivalent of approximately £50 per person. It was set in a rather nice theatre in the city with a smart entrance but the food provided definitely wasn't five star though it was obvious that this is what they were aiming to achieve. I found the show however to be really good as it provided the cultural experience I had been seeking. Very colourful costumes and interesting sounds. At the start a group of instrumentalists played from the front of the stage whilst we ate our food courses in the company of others around a table set for six. I was definitely being rushed because it was obvious the waiters were eager to get all of the food served before the lights went down. For me the food was pretty average compared to some of the nice restaurant meals we had eaten elsewhere on the Viking Cruise tour. An amusing thing was that the toilets were definitely 5 star compared to many of the other conveniences I had used elsewhere in the city!! This included an attendant pouring liquid soap from a teapot over an extremely ornate sink, quite bizarre! Overall I enjoyed the experience and don't regret the expense, after all its the sort of thing you'll only get the opportunity to do the once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tang Dynasty, Xi'an also viewed

 

Been to The Tang Dynasty, Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tang Dynasty, Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.