We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really smart hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yulong International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Yulong International Hotel to your Saves list
Yulong International Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yulong International Hotel
No.5 West Section of Erhuan North Road, Weiyang District, Xi'an 710016, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
newcastle
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Really smart hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights in August. Its a fairly new hotel (about two years old I think) and a top quality one at that. Large comfortable rooms, good service and food, large bar area (unusually quiet). Not too far from shops if you need to venture out. Asked staff to post our postcards for us and they have arrived at their destinations OK. Was told by our tour guide that this was one of the best hotels in the area and I don't doubt that. If you are here on business or leisure its worth staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    40
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during our Wendy Wu tour of China. It came just as our spirits and energies were dipping very slightly (and after a 1 night stay in a hotel in Chengdu that hopefully I will not be returning to!) so it's high standards were much appreciated. The hotel indeed has a huge and very impressive foyer, (make the most of the luxurious ground floor toilets ladies!), a decent bar area, and a very large but very overcrowded restaurant. The breakfast was good, with excellent choice, if only you can find a seat...and then a cup...and then cutlery! If your are on a tour don't leave breakfast until the last minute or you'll be left behind! Our room was spacious but quite dark, and yes the bathroom did have a glass wall! It had a blind to pull down so no worries there but I found the bathroom a touch on the claustrophobic side! There didn't appear to be much around it of interest (lots of noisy building work going on!) and I'm not sure you could have walked to anywhere so as others have said it's probably best as part of a tour where you are literally dropped off at night to sleep and picked up the next morning. Probably of all the hotels we stayed in this one had the highest standards of cleanliness and customer service...it could do with more staff in the restaurant though!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This is a fairly new hotel and rooms were comfortable with free internet in our room. There was a good breakfast including omeletts while you wait. Impressive foyer. It's only drawback seemed to be that it wasn't near any other shops where you could purchase a few necessities.

Room Tip: ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Very nice rooms in this new hotel. Spectacular lobby! About a 4 star although rated 5. Great breakfast!
I found a small shop next door in the bus interchange and could buy water, soft drink, snacks... but it closes quite early. There is not much else around that I could see.
The hotel is good for a tour where you are collected and dropped off, and have very full days, but seems pretty out of things if you were travelling independently. No shoppping nearby except that described.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

A beautifully decorated hotel with a very interesting and attractive lobby. There are money-changing facilities and an ATM, but UK visitors beware. If pound notes are not absolutely pristine, with no creases, folds or cashiers' marks, they will not be accepted. We had about half of ours rejected, even though they were pretty new. There didn't seem to be a problem with euros or dollars.

There was a good choice at breakfast, and bathrobes, slippers and a kettle in the room, as with most Chinese hotels of this class. The bathroom contained a seperate bath and shower, which was nice. The loos on the ground floor are a tourist attraction in themselves!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

The wife and I stayed here while on a Wendy Wu 10 day China Experience Tour of Shanghai, Xian and Beijing.

As I am the first to review this hotel, let me just confirm that this is the hotel that we stayed in, since the location addresses seem to differ slightly: http://www.yulong-hotel.com/en/index.html

This hotel is very new, and very posh.
From the time that you enter the lobby, and you are confronted with the vaulted ceilings and huge chandeliers, then you know that this is better than a 4 star.

Everything about this hotel is brand spanking new.
As per usual with Chinese hotels it seems, there were 2 beds, but both were large enough for us. The beds were surprisingly soft, so I guess that they catered to Western tourists.

There was a coffee table, a sofa, a couple armchairs, a kind of sofa bed, a large flatscreen TV, shower and bathtub, a room safe, as well as a host of toiletries, including toothbrush and toothpaste, razor and shaving gel, bathtub salts, coms, bedroom slippers, tea and coffee facilities, free mineral water etc.

You could see straight into the bathroom from the bedroom due to the transparent glass, but once you pull down the blinds you get your privacy. I will never understand why some hotels insist on this design feature. Nonetheless, the room gets a 5 out of 5 from me.

The breakfast buffet was a grand spread with a mixture of Chinese and Wester dishes. My only fault with it is that there were at least 5 tour groups staying at the same time, so it was extremely crowded. You had to fight for a seat, and jostle to get an omlette, and toast bread will probably run out. Be prepared to eat brekkie early.

As we were on tour, I cannot comment on the location of the hotel with respect to public transport, tourist sites, shops etc. But, the hotel never seemed a long coach drive away from the terracotta warriors, wild goose pagoda, city wall etc, so no complaints from me.

There are a couple of computers in the business centre, but be prepared to pay an extortionate rate (I think!) of 1 yuan per minute.

Overall, probably the best hotel that we stayed in in China, and possible one of the best 4 stars that I have ever stayed in. I highly recommend this hotel to any tourist, especially as it is brand new. If your tour itinerary says that you will be staying here, then be prepared to be impressed.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yulong International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yulong International Hotel

Address: No.5 West Section of Erhuan North Road, Weiyang District, Xi'an 710016, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Yulong International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yulong International Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yulong International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.