We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Ugly hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn City Centre Xian

Save Saved
You added Days Inn City Centre Xian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn City Centre Xian
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 North Main Street, Lianhu District, Xi'an, China (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 1,990 hotels in Xi'an
Bothell, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location - Ugly hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Checking was just the beginning of a nightmare. The hotel staff didn't speak English and they couldn't figure out our reservation number in our Expedia itinerary. I had to call to my hotel in Beijing to find a person for translating for us and finally, after 45 minutes waiting in a not very inviting lobby, we got our room. The smell of cigarettes was quite strong and the furniture had seen better days... long ago. I didn't take a close look to the bathroom but my husband did and he wasn't happy. You could notice wall moisture through the wall paper. It didn't look clean. We had to book another room in a different hotel the very same night. After 30 minutes. We checked out and headed to the Sheraton right away. The hotels fees were almost the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    92
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
16
20
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My father and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Days Inn. Our room was updated, clean and fairly quiet, especially given the crazy traffic below! Breakfast was included in our hotel, which is helpful because finding breakfast food can prove to be challenging in the area. Breakfast included both Chinese and Western food.
The location is a short walk to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Muslim District, both well worth a visit.
I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is in a good location (about 5 - 10 minute walk from the Bell Tower and a few night life clubs).

The rooms were nice and better than expected. Clean and spacious. All the necessities required for a stay here.

The breakfast had a good variety but was not regularly topped up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Negatives:
Shower: full with stains and molds
Matresses: Hard as a rock
Carpet: Can that even be called a carpet? whatever that was was stained everywhere
No safety deposit box, I had to ask the front desk to bring one
No English Channels on TV

Positives
Breakfast (included) was ok
Fruit Basket
Front Desk staff with some english
Location

Room Tip: My advice is to look for another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel is in a pretty convenient location in Xi'an. It's about a 5min walk from the Bell Tower and other major attractions. It's also about a 5-10min walk from Moslem Street (Huimin Jie) which was a great place to visit, especially at night. Lots of great food and markets etc

In terms of the hotel, the lobby is nothing to write home about. Check-in was pretty quick and we got shown up to our rooms. The rooms themselves were quite big and spacious if a little too dark. All the usual amenities etc were provided in the bathroom and the shower is quite big.

I stayed with my parents and grandma so we booked 2 rooms and buffet breakfast was included. The breakfast itself was pretty bland overall, there was a variety of hot/cold and Western/Chinese food. For the price we paid, it was pretty good value overall.

There is supposed to be free wifi internet in the lobby and in the area on level 4? where the rooms are but when it wasn't working when I tried to logon. Also the TVs are of the old style CRT type and a few channels weren't working which was a bummer (mainly CCTV5 where all the sport, eg EURO 2012 was streamed on).

Apart from the above, this hotel was a comfortable place to stay at. We stayed there 2 nights and overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Pros:
-excellent location. Within walking distance to the airport bus station and all the major touristy sites within the city centre. Also within walking distance to the Muslin quarter and I could spend all my money shopping there :) ;
-nice rooms. The rooms we originally booked were full so we got a complimentary upgrade to their business rooms. The rooms came with computers, which was perfect for us. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. No complaints about noise;
-nice service. Check-in was within a reasonable amount of time. Breakfast buffet was included

Cons:
-traffic. I know there is not about the hotel...but traffic in the city centre was insane, especially during rush hours. We had originally planned to take a cab to the city wall and the pagoda after visiting the Terra Cotta Warriors. When we got back to the hotel after visiting the warrior, we were literally stuck in the city centre. Nothing was moving for hours so we ended up canceling our plan.

Room Tip: Get their business rooms if you need to use a computer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here on a holiday in China. Hotel suggested by agent who arranged the itinerary. Was really surprised by how comfortable it all was. Very good in that respect. The room was adequate size and bathroom good, and firm bed. Free wifi too. Excellent price. Only downside was that it is about 2 -3 km from the city wall, but a 20 minute walk or short taxi ride. Even found tht swome of the staff spoke a bit of English which is not always so. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn City Centre Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn City Centre Xian

Address: No.99 North Main Street, Lianhu District, Xi'an, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Downtown , Lianhu District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#131 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn City Centre Xian 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Days Inn City Centre Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn City Centre Xian Hotel Xi`An
Days Inn City Centre Xian China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn City Centre Xian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.