We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Always book hotels based on TA reviews. Only a handful of times have we not agreed with the overall findings. This was one of those times. Can't understand how this is so high up the ratings.
Yes it was a great location. Yes the gardens are very pretty. But you don't sleep in the gardens. In fact you can't even sit and have a drink in the gardens. No bar, not even a drink machine! They are really missing a trick here.
Rooms small, dark and crowded. Bathroom dank and tiny. Breakfast very poor. Staff not unfriendly but certainly not friendly or particularly helpful. And when we had a problem had to wait 15 minutes at reception whilst they found the person who could speak English. In fact the problem itself shows level of service; we had been given 2 key cards to our room. Took one when we went for a walk around the gardens, came back it wouldn't work in door. Went up to reception and when English speaker was finally found she told us "oh but that is the key for the electricity not for the door." They looked identical and we'd not been told that when taken to our rooms. Minor problem but illustrative of how things were.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I chose this hotel to stay in during our honeymoon. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms were very nice. It is located near a lot of restaurants and is right next to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda.

Unfortunately, even though the hotel itself was very nice its location was a bit inconvenient when traveling beyond its surroundings. It is not near the city center which means you need transportation to get there. Taxis are pretty much the only way to get around the city (unless you can figure out the bus system which we did take once or twice) and I can say we ran into a lot of taxis trying to overcharge us and not use their meter which is very obnoxious and leaves a bad opinion of the entire city. None of the taxis knew where this hotel was and many got lost on the way. Some even straight up refused to take us back to the hotel and kicked us out of the taxi upon giving them the card. The taxi card that they provide isn't very useful and the taxis had a difficult time deciphering it.

The staff was nice enough, but spoke very little english which made it a little difficult to be in Xi'an because we felt very alone. My husband got sick and I needed a pharmacy. When I asked the front desk, I was given very vague directions on how to get there and had to pull up my phone to ask random stores where it was.

All in all it's a nice hotel and if you speak Chinese or don't care about traversing the city 100% alone without possibility of help then it really is a nice place to stay. I enjoyed the courtyards and we had a little deck outside our room to eat on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic location within easy walking distance to restaurants, the fountain show, a myriad of parks. (Wander around early in the morning to find groups doing Tai Chi and line dancing!) The rooms are clean and well equipped, with good wifi (a rarity). Breakfast is excellent, including gourmet coffees. The only drawback is that this is the centerpiece hotel for a new (within 10 years) tourist center so it's a little short on authenticity and the area is jammed with domestic tourists.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back courtyard, a little less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

5/5 the exterior and interior common areas of the hotel are simply beautiful, elegant and enjoyable, location is super central, best espresso coffee in China we had.
4/5 bed part of the room, internet connection, toiletry.
3/5 bathroom (narrow, smelly and not very well mantained), breakfast (99rmb is overpriced for this quality), noises from the neighbouring park including early morning.
Overall it is a good choice if you have to stay very shortly in the room and you can profit from the relax in the garden or from the park.
I do not agree with some comments below, personnel spoke enough english to have it all clear and sorted out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked this place for a two night stay in Xian. We came o visit the terracotta army and decided to extend the stay for another night as we liked Xian.
The surroundings of the hotel are great with parks, shopping malls and a market style alley with attractions.
The hotel itself is nicely built with places to sit in the patio. Very relaxed and tranquil.

Our room was big wit a living room area and a small elevated area with mats and a computer.
Ideal for a family with two children as our.

The hotel was difficult to find for the taxi driver and there was no sign mentioned the name of the hotel in English language.
Also the front desk personnel hardly spoke or understood any English.
The breakfast was mediocre to say the least and staff seemed to be unable to cope with the regular service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

A nice traditional Chinese style hotel, located next to the Wild Goose Pagoda. We took a family room for four of us, including two children - the rooms are spacious and comfortable with two queen beds, separate area for TV and sitting space, plus two large mats. Interiors are traditional and well maintained. The hotel organises music shows in the courtyard every evening. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was just about ok, with large Chinese spread and few continental options. Didn't have a live egg counter.
Excellent location, next to the musical water fountains - show time 8.30 pm, except on Tuesday nights. The place is very lively till late evenings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed in a family room. It is spacious but the lay out is a bit strange, as there is a elevated part in the room with mats on it. Chinese style, but it kind of feels like a wasted space. The grounds are beautiful. Location is good but it is far away from the city walls (about a 20 minute taxi ride). The hotel was hesitant to help us find a taxi to get to the centre, as they said a taxi would be hard to come by.
Our room, number 8818, was adjacent to room 8817. On Sunday mornings room 8817 turns into a room where a Christian church gathers to celebrate Sunday mass. So, at 7:15 we were woken by some one trying to play the piano. This went on for more than an hour and then turned into a loud service. Of course we were not there to stay in our room, but being woken on Sunday at 7:15 because of this not acceptable in a hotel that claims to offer a certain standard.
Breakfast was good but quite basic.
There is no option to get refreshments/coffee during the day.

Room Tip: Avoid Family room 8818 on weekends if you do not want to be woken by a Christian mass early in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Address: No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#75 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.