We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional Chinese hotel for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great traditional Chinese hotel for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lovely traditional Chinese style hotel, with modern comforts, suitable for all types of groups. The hotel is arranged in a number of attractive courtyards, and has traditional Chinese furnishings - so a great option of you want a taste of China rather than a faceless Western hotel.

We recently stayed in a family suite with our 2 young children. The suite was a large room with 2 standard double beds, plus a raised platform with thin mattress and extra bedding, so could probably accommodate larger family groups as well. There was also a large sofa and armchair, with TV (Chinese channels), computer, WIFI, minibar etc, so the room was a comfortable place to relax after sightseeing as well. Our ensuite had a good shower (but no bath).

We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was largely Chinese but with cereal, toast, fruit and basic fry-up available so you could eat Western style too. A full range of free fresh coffee (inc cappuccino) was available over breakfast, which was very impressive for a Chinese hotel.

Service levels at the hotel were good, with nice additional touches such as a traditional Chinese instrumental group in the foyer in the evening (who were happy for our children to try out their instruments), and souvenir quality key rings gifted on departure.

The location worked really well for our group - the hotel is right next to the Big Goose Pagoda and evening fountain show, and within 30 mins walk of the Shaanxi Museum, so you can easily fill a day sightseeing on foot. The whole Pagoda area has been sympathetically developed as a tourist area, with many restaurants and a large pedestrianized area (very useful if you have toddlers who need to run around). Also, because it is not in the centre of town it is very easy to get out to visit the Terracotta Warriors without being stuck in traffic jams. We did not investigate the public transport into town as we had hired a driver, but there appeared to be a number of bus routes and they are in the process of building a subway line.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were at this hotel last August. This hotel is a traditional one and has a reasonable price. We really enjoyed the patio and the room that was comfortable. The night we were staying there was a concert of traditional music in the patio while we were having dinner at the restaurant. The food is really delicious but could be quite spicy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholson, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is lovely. The courtyards are fabulous and it is located right in the middle of all the city action. The water displays at night are beautiful. The desk attendants were very helpful. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was large and western. The city has a lot of smog but one morning the sky of blue and a wonderful breeze was blowing through the gardens. The breakfast was a tasty combination of East meets West. We all enjoyed staying here and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Art Garden Hotel is arranged around a pair (or was it 3?!) courtyards. It's modern, but has been tastefully constructed in traditional style. My room was in the furthest courtyard from reception, which was a wonderfully serene place to sit and read in the daytime. Indeed, the gardens are well kept, and the Goose Pagoda towers benignly over the courtyard wall.

This brings me nicely to location. Many feel they should be within the walls of the old city, and this is where most of the larger hotels are. Honestly, I think the sights of the old town are highly bereft of the character that overly romanticised tourist guides attribute them with. The main mosque is worth seeing, but the street markets surrounding it have no really interesting wares or foods on offer anymore that can't be found elsewhere. It might just be because I'm used to the bazaars of India, but there really is little "authentic" character left in Xi'an old city. With this in mind, the surrounds of the Art Garden Hotel make a welcome change. It's situated on the edge of a huge public square, at the centre of which lies the Goose Pagoda and it's surrounding temples. The square itself features a huge (and I do mean HUGE) musical/lightshow fountain and some modern mall-type buildings. This might not sound that interesting, but it's an absolute mecca for locals and families in the evenings, and offers a great insight into modern, middle class life in Xi'an. There's all sorts going on - inpromptu line dancing, men cracking massive whips, rollerblade slaloms etc. There's also a street that runs north off the square that has a host of more upmarket restaurants - but be warned, in many the staff speak no english at all, and in some they don't even have those picture menus that make speaking redundant. The hotel is also on the right side of the city, and near enough to main roads, to make the trip to the Terracotta Army extremely easy. We arranged this at the hotel and had an extremely comfortable door-to-door ride.

The rooms are extremely well appointed, and very comfortable indeed. It had everything I could ask for, including a desk area complete with PC. The bathroom was very nice, though in some ways a triumph of style over substance. This is largely in reference to their decision to put 'traditional' bamboo style bathtubs in, which are not bolted down and make for a slightly awkward thing to shower in. It's not a real issue, but it does mean the entire bathroom gets flooded unless you remember to tuck the curtain into the bathtub - you'll find out for yourself if you go ;)

I only ate breakfast in the restaurant, but it was most agreeable. It's mostly Chinese (as indeed I think are the hotels customers) with little western fare on offer. However I suggest you use this as an opportunity to and try the interesting combination of barrista coffee with fish-fragrant chicken or some such similar delicacies.

All in all, I would highly recommend this place. It's extremely comfortable, well decorated/maintained, and offers a much more interesting alternative to the rather bland massive international chains that dominate the old town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

During our vacation me and my wife spent 9 nights in this hotel in October. It was good to come "home" to this hotel after a busy day in Xi'an. The hotel garden was so beautiful that even the Xi'an smog seemed to stay somewhere outside the hotel property. The room was not big but we did not need more space. The only negative things you could say about the hotel were the very hard beds and the bad smell in the bathroom.

Breakfast was good even though very Chinese. We did use the restaurant only once for dinner as there were so many good restaurants close by. The whole area around the hotel was very nice. The Big Wild goose pagoda was a good land mark and so beautiful specially during evenings when it was lit. Within walking distance we could find many nice areas with parks, fountains, restaurants and shops. It was very easy to take the bus to downtown Xi'an (bus 609), actually much easier than taking a taxi, which were sometimes very difficult to find.

A bit surprising was that so few in the staff knew any English. But we managed to communicate with them and loved the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

They told me I would be staying at a traditional Chinese hotel and I was so ready for it. The architecture, the colors, the gardens, the pools, the goldfish, the wooden bathtub. It was all there! I felt as if I was living and walking with history.

And, best of all, there was Wi-Fi in my room.

So, the past meets the present.

An experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: How could there be a bad room?! You are living a little piece of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife, I and daughter stayed for a few nights at the end of August. The hotel has real character and is built around several courtyards. As soon as you emerge into the courtyards you begin to absorb and enjoy the gentle and peaceful atmosphere of this place.
There is plenty going on in the evenings within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Breakfast was good-ish and the service very good. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay in this hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Address: No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#71 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.