We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an interesting locale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,977 hotels in Xi'an
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an interesting locale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Art Garden Hotel is arranged around a pair (or was it 3?!) courtyards. It's modern, but has been tastefully constructed in traditional style. My room was in the furthest courtyard from reception, which was a wonderfully serene place to sit and read in the daytime. Indeed, the gardens are well kept, and the Goose Pagoda towers benignly over the courtyard wall.

This brings me nicely to location. Many feel they should be within the walls of the old city, and this is where most of the larger hotels are. Honestly, I think the sights of the old town are highly bereft of the character that overly romanticised tourist guides attribute them with. The main mosque is worth seeing, but the street markets surrounding it have no really interesting wares or foods on offer anymore that can't be found elsewhere. It might just be because I'm used to the bazaars of India, but there really is little "authentic" character left in Xi'an old city. With this in mind, the surrounds of the Art Garden Hotel make a welcome change. It's situated on the edge of a huge public square, at the centre of which lies the Goose Pagoda and it's surrounding temples. The square itself features a huge (and I do mean HUGE) musical/lightshow fountain and some modern mall-type buildings. This might not sound that interesting, but it's an absolute mecca for locals and families in the evenings, and offers a great insight into modern, middle class life in Xi'an. There's all sorts going on - inpromptu line dancing, men cracking massive whips, rollerblade slaloms etc. There's also a street that runs north off the square that has a host of more upmarket restaurants - but be warned, in many the staff speak no english at all, and in some they don't even have those picture menus that make speaking redundant. The hotel is also on the right side of the city, and near enough to main roads, to make the trip to the Terracotta Army extremely easy. We arranged this at the hotel and had an extremely comfortable door-to-door ride.

The rooms are extremely well appointed, and very comfortable indeed. It had everything I could ask for, including a desk area complete with PC. The bathroom was very nice, though in some ways a triumph of style over substance. This is largely in reference to their decision to put 'traditional' bamboo style bathtubs in, which are not bolted down and make for a slightly awkward thing to shower in. It's not a real issue, but it does mean the entire bathroom gets flooded unless you remember to tuck the curtain into the bathtub - you'll find out for yourself if you go ;)

I only ate breakfast in the restaurant, but it was most agreeable. It's mostly Chinese (as indeed I think are the hotels customers) with little western fare on offer. However I suggest you use this as an opportunity to and try the interesting combination of barrista coffee with fish-fragrant chicken or some such similar delicacies.

All in all, I would highly recommend this place. It's extremely comfortable, well decorated/maintained, and offers a much more interesting alternative to the rather bland massive international chains that dominate the old town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

During our vacation me and my wife spent 9 nights in this hotel in October. It was good to come "home" to this hotel after a busy day in Xi'an. The hotel garden was so beautiful that even the Xi'an smog seemed to stay somewhere outside the hotel property. The room was not big but we did not need more space. The only negative things you could say about the hotel were the very hard beds and the bad smell in the bathroom.

Breakfast was good even though very Chinese. We did use the restaurant only once for dinner as there were so many good restaurants close by. The whole area around the hotel was very nice. The Big Wild goose pagoda was a good land mark and so beautiful specially during evenings when it was lit. Within walking distance we could find many nice areas with parks, fountains, restaurants and shops. It was very easy to take the bus to downtown Xi'an (bus 609), actually much easier than taking a taxi, which were sometimes very difficult to find.

A bit surprising was that so few in the staff knew any English. But we managed to communicate with them and loved the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

They told me I would be staying at a traditional Chinese hotel and I was so ready for it. The architecture, the colors, the gardens, the pools, the goldfish, the wooden bathtub. It was all there! I felt as if I was living and walking with history.

And, best of all, there was Wi-Fi in my room.

So, the past meets the present.

An experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: How could there be a bad room?! You are living a little piece of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife, I and daughter stayed for a few nights at the end of August. The hotel has real character and is built around several courtyards. As soon as you emerge into the courtyards you begin to absorb and enjoy the gentle and peaceful atmosphere of this place.
There is plenty going on in the evenings within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Breakfast was good-ish and the service very good. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay in this hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My father & myself love this hotel! This is 1 of the best hotels which I ever have stayed in! Stepping into the hotel, I almost thought that I have travelled back >1500 years back in time to the Tang dynasty!
The architecture is a replica of Tang dynasty architecture. The hotel staff are all attired in Tang dynasty costumes. The hotel staff greet all the guests & are polite & helpful. The hotel has an inhouse Chinese orchestra troupe. 4 female musicians , dressed elegantly in Tang dynasty costumes, perform evergreen Chinese melodies on traditional Chinese musical instruments including 笛子,二胡,古筝! I was so delighted when the troupe played a song composed by Singaporean musician---城里的月光!The interior of the hotel is tastefully furnished in Chinoiserie style. Walking through the garden in the hotel is a relaxing experience as one can gaze at the many koi fish swimming in the pond. I was impressed that a computer was installed in every single guestroom in the hotel & Wifi was free! Definitely much better than some chains of 5 star hotel who charge extra fees for WIFI service.There was a lot of variety at the breakfast buffet table. From my observation, Caucasian tourists love the complimentary coffeebrewing service & settle for the usual bread . On the other hand, Asian tourists will eat the porridge, noodles & the many cooked vegetables & meat dishes offered at the buffet table. During my 4 night stay at the hotel, we sampled their dinner twice. The dishes on the menu were inspired by the imperial banquets which had graced dining halls in palaces in previous dynasties. After all, Xian was the capital of 13 Chinese dynasties!My father & myself love the steamed fish with fruits & the nutritious soup! I was so glad that I stayed in the hotel---5 star service, 5 star rooms in a palatial setting!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a very good experience at this hotel. It is in a beautiful place, right under the Pagoda, in a nice Park. The hotel inner gardens are beautiful. Rooms are good, with a local touch. Do not expect a Sheraton or Hilton, but yes a lovely hotel.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

we stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights and WOW what a great hotel and a great value for money. the rooms were very artistic and authentic as very clean, staff was very helpful spoke average english and their breakfast spread was great.they have yummy custard dumplings.
behind the hotel was another pleasant surprise as there was a souvenir night market you could stroll at night and excercise your bargain skills , as try not to miss the great music fountain show daily just outside the hotel to your left. we really enjoyed everything about this hotel and enjoyed exploring it and the area around it. the wild goose pagoda view was an added value to this spectacular hotel as it is a few meters away and you can see it from hotel grounds.
do not stay anywhere else while in Xian you won't regret it.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Address: No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#75 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.