We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife, I and daughter stayed for a few nights at the end of August. The hotel has real character and is built around several courtyards. As soon as you emerge into the courtyards you begin to absorb and enjoy the gentle and peaceful atmosphere of this place.
There is plenty going on in the evenings within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Breakfast was good-ish and the service very good. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay in this hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My father & myself love this hotel! This is 1 of the best hotels which I ever have stayed in! Stepping into the hotel, I almost thought that I have travelled back >1500 years back in time to the Tang dynasty!
The architecture is a replica of Tang dynasty architecture. The hotel staff are all attired in Tang dynasty costumes. The hotel staff greet all the guests & are polite & helpful. The hotel has an inhouse Chinese orchestra troupe. 4 female musicians , dressed elegantly in Tang dynasty costumes, perform evergreen Chinese melodies on traditional Chinese musical instruments including 笛子,二胡,古筝! I was so delighted when the troupe played a song composed by Singaporean musician---城里的月光!The interior of the hotel is tastefully furnished in Chinoiserie style. Walking through the garden in the hotel is a relaxing experience as one can gaze at the many koi fish swimming in the pond. I was impressed that a computer was installed in every single guestroom in the hotel & Wifi was free! Definitely much better than some chains of 5 star hotel who charge extra fees for WIFI service.There was a lot of variety at the breakfast buffet table. From my observation, Caucasian tourists love the complimentary coffeebrewing service & settle for the usual bread . On the other hand, Asian tourists will eat the porridge, noodles & the many cooked vegetables & meat dishes offered at the buffet table. During my 4 night stay at the hotel, we sampled their dinner twice. The dishes on the menu were inspired by the imperial banquets which had graced dining halls in palaces in previous dynasties. After all, Xian was the capital of 13 Chinese dynasties!My father & myself love the steamed fish with fruits & the nutritious soup! I was so glad that I stayed in the hotel---5 star service, 5 star rooms in a palatial setting!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a very good experience at this hotel. It is in a beautiful place, right under the Pagoda, in a nice Park. The hotel inner gardens are beautiful. Rooms are good, with a local touch. Do not expect a Sheraton or Hilton, but yes a lovely hotel.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

we stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights and WOW what a great hotel and a great value for money. the rooms were very artistic and authentic as very clean, staff was very helpful spoke average english and their breakfast spread was great.they have yummy custard dumplings.
behind the hotel was another pleasant surprise as there was a souvenir night market you could stroll at night and excercise your bargain skills , as try not to miss the great music fountain show daily just outside the hotel to your left. we really enjoyed everything about this hotel and enjoyed exploring it and the area around it. the wild goose pagoda view was an added value to this spectacular hotel as it is a few meters away and you can see it from hotel grounds.
do not stay anywhere else while in Xian you won't regret it.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Built like an Imperial palace around 3 courtyards and single story. The courtyard gardens and water features are incredible. Good sized rooms with AC and WiFi. Interesting bathroom with wooden tub! Located outside the City Wall, but there is frequent bus service just around the corner - just do not plan on taxi out of the city to the hotel, they will try to rip you off..
The staff in general speak no English, this s a Chinese hotel, but they still manage to help - they will run off to find an English speaker. The hotel organized a car to take us to the Terracotta Warriors, where we found an authorized guide who spoke good English - free!!
Just outside the hotel is the Great Wild Goose Pagoda - worth a look as is the playing fountains in the 500 meter long water feature in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Previously an art gallery, this expansive property is designed around the traditional Chinese courtyard homes of yesteryear. Most rooms overlook large, open garden areas with water feature design. Very therapeutic after a long day out sightseeing in this fascinating city. Walking distance to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda, one of the major attractions here. There is also Asia's largest musical water fountain adjacent to the pagoda, on the other side of the hotel. Worth seeing (nightly at 9pm).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has a lovely courtyard area with many fountains, statues and plentiful seating areas. It is quite beautiful in that sense. It is also situated right next to the Big Goose Pagoda and it's surrounding park. You will be within walking distance to the water fountain show, the pagoda, a few small parks and lots of tourist-style shopping places. We enjoyed this about the hotel. We easily spent the day roaming around the ground, eating popsicles, popping into shops, and food places. The history museum is also near. Also, if you are interested in seeing the Terracotta Warriors, you can take city bus #5 which picks up across the street from the hotel. Ride it all the way to the last stop and you will be at the bus station where many buses go to the excavation site. Although the location is great, I gave this hotel 3 stars because I thought the room was dusty and dirty. Not terribly dirty, but dirty enough to notice (if that makes sense). There were also tiny fruit flies and mosquitoes in our room. And although the staff were extremely attentive, it was not always easy to communicate with them clearly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Address: No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#75 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.