We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hotel experience with all mod cons in Xian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 2,042 hotels in Xi'an
Revelstoke BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Traditional hotel experience with all mod cons in Xian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is possibly the prettiest hotel in all of China. Located centrally and beside a colourful night market, it is a one-story, courtyard-style hotel offering comfortable and classy rooms, dining and amenities. We stayed only on night and wished we had more time to linger in Xian. Room not large, but our friends were upgraded to a suite which was enormous with a large kang that could have slept five children, and a living area of sofa, tv and coffee table plus two queen beds. Dining is expensive, but the breakfast included is great, with both Chinese and Western fare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The overall experience of the hotel was very good. We stood here twice times. First from the 2nd to the 4th and from 6th to 9th of october. First we had a suite without stairs, but two rooms. One living room with sofa and computer desk with speakers and flatscreen. One bedroom with a bathroom with toilet and shower and hand wash basin.

The first impression of the room was excellent. Everything was good cleaned. The ground consists of stone panels and they give a unique and antique atmosphere to the room. There are two water bottles and tea for free in the room.

The bathroom could recquire a maintenance, becaut during having a shower, water is coming out of the sealing on the ground, creating a small pond where it is not needed at all.

Also the toilet seat could be fixed properly. From the lower sealing of the washing basin is also water coming out, dropping to the ground.

Even from the toilet or maybe the siphon trap of the washing basin came a very small strange smell.

Beside of that little critics, the rooms suites are very nice. You have very nice wooden door, opening to the terrace where you can take a seat at a nice table. A little tree separates the terrace tot the neighbor suite.

The inner yards of the Tang-Dynasty-Art-Garden hotel are very nice designed. There are nice bridges, small ponds with fishes and sculpture cranes as water spout, sweet little pagodas, and nice walkways.

The area around is also very interesting. You find a very nice park with a tea house and sculptures, pagodas, rock hills, very big widow trees and a lot of space to relax and to feel happy to escape from the big city trouble.

At the end of the park stars a restaurant and bar city, where you may find a lot of nice restaurants from korean food to dumplings, vegetarian food and noodles as well as japanese sushi and finally music bars in the evening.

You find also the Tang-Paradise where you can experience a lot of culture shows and nice gardens again.

Also you find there the Ocean-World, a place where you can experience the underwater world, with a lot of aquariums with nice fishes and other animals of the sea. Additional you can pay for sea lions show, dolphin show, aligator show.

You can have a walk from this hotel to the city center by feet in about two hours and learn a lot about the city. If you have a compass and a map you can go by feet and check everything with the map. That is a lot of fun!

In the city center you can enjoy the big city wall as well as the muslim street with the nice street kitchen and a lot of interesting street life.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel, which fashion after a traditional Chinese noble complex, the room itself is just average, but it more than make up itself with it's lovely atmosphere and ambiance, its delightful just walk pass courtyards and garden to your room after a full day of sightseeing. Location is also superior, with many interesting sites nearby, You can also take a nearby bus to old town. Breakfast and Service are excellent, there's also periodic Chinese music performance in the garden during dinner time. Overall it's unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lovely hotel in a great location. The property is beautifully maintained with ponds of goldfish, plantings, gazebos, walkways, etc. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bed was hard but we slept well. Our room had a wooden soaking tub, but we would have rather had a plain shower, because we had to stand in the tub to shower. Breakfast was a good combo of Chinese and Western, but leaning to the Chinese. Good coffee! My only complaint was that the front desk could not exchange dollars for yuan. Not a big deal but would have been helpful. WiFi in room.

Room Tip: Don't get one with a soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a lovely peaceful hotel right in the heart of the tourist district, Da Yanta. The architecture, rooms and amenities are lovely and give you a touch of the way life used to be in China. Would have stayed for the traditional Chinese music, and the dinner, but was taken out to visit the city centre. I would try this the next time I stay. Right outside is the tourist district of Da Yanta where there is a lot happening...large water fountain that is choreographed to 'dance' to differing music, Big Wild Goose Pagoda, you can even get dressed up in traditional Chinese clothes and get your photo taken. It would have been helpful if some of the reception staff had a little more English. Only other note was that they had no coffee in rooms, only tea. Not a problem...either bring some sachets or walk up the road to SPR or Starbucks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is a traditional chinese hotel. Lots of lovely chinese details, paintings and beautiful courtyard gardens.The bedrooms are small but well equipped complete with wooden bath and your own computer. In the late afternoon there is a tea ceremony display held in the first courtyard followed by some chinese musicians. Dinner was a complete disaster. We were brought an Ipad for the menu and obviously expected to choose while the waiter waited. Unfortunately there was little we recognised other than crocodile and turtle. What we eventually selected looked great but we found it inedible. To add to our frustration we tried to order a beer but they didn't understand or want to understand. They wouldn't bring us anything to drink at all with our meal and despite being guests demanded we pay the bill when we weren't finished. We wondered later if it may have been a liscensing issue. Still no reason to be so offensive. There is not a bar in the hotel and we saw the Chinese bringing in their own takeaways. If you fancy a drink with the local trendy youth head to Bar Street in Happy Mall across the square at the back of the hotel.
On the positive side the hotel has a wonderful location beside the Big Goose Pagoda and surrounded by lovely squares and gardens with fantastic fountains and scultures.
The breakfast and coffee were also excellent.
Probably not a good choice if you don't speak any Chinese as they don't speak any English.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Address: No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#75 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.