We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ci'en Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ci'en Hotel to your Saves list
Ci'en Hotel
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Northwest of Dayanta North Square, Dayan Tower, Ci'en Town, No.8 Xiaozhai East Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China (Nanjiao)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 613 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Ba, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is immaculately maintained and the service is impeccable. The room was wonderful, beautiful, elegant, classic and comfortable, for those who want peace and quiet. This is by far the most perfect vacation I have ever taken. Go... and you'll be so glad you did. I promise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sishabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
93 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This place has a great location, being next to the Big Goose Pagoda Square. The square has an excellent fountain show in the evening. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is Chinese so takes a bit of getting used to. No fruit juice for e.g.
There is an office on the 3rd floor where you can make travel arrangements to the Terracotta Warriors and other attractions surrounding Xi'an.
The good location means that you can hear the music form the fountain show in the morning and evening. This being China, the volume level is somewhat higher than what a Westerner might be used to.
Only major drawback is that it is very difficult getting a taxi there, but this is a general problem in Xi'an.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGlen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

A good value hotel, very close to the big goose pagoda , which turned out to be a great location , right next to the daily waterfall show.
Lots of rooms at this hotel, it's
Much bigger than it looks from the outside.
We booked our Terracotta Warriors tour with them and was very pleased with the tour

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

First of all, this is a hotel (not B&B or inn) - but perhaps the lack of restaurant affects the classification? They serve breakfast for Y20 (limited but sufficient Western options) but nothing else.

Our double room was quite small but tastefully decorated and well-furnished. For approx US$50 per night it was fine. The large window between bedroom and bathroom (can be covered by a blind) was a bit surprising. There was no minibar fridge but we had kettle and tea/coffee.

There was some noise from the street and hotel corridor, but after 11pm it was quite peaceful, no problem to sleep.

Hotel location is ideal, approx 2km south of City Walls at Big Goose Pagoda. There is a huge square here with restaurants and shops - quite touristy but pleasant to stroll around. A new shopping mall was being built at the edge, so it may get busier next year... We enjoyed the food at First Noodle Under The Sun, just by the hotel.

Staff spoke some English, enough to manage the basics. Hotel business centre can arrange tours, but could be difficult to arrange and expensive to book if you don't speak Mandarin.

Room Tip: Room 309 was quite small double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy_gft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I booked Ci'en after reading the reviews. We are a family of four and they were able to confirm all of us in the same room (two doubles) which can be difficult outside the USA.

Firstly, this is no B&B or inn. This is a pretty big hotel, with at least a hundred rooms.

Check-in was a little rough. no one spoke english and they had to wake someone up to communicate with me that they were going to put a few hundred dollars on hold of my credit card. It was fine, it just took a while.

Our room was a little weird. It had a poker table in it, lots of ashtrays and condoms in the bathroom. But everything was clean, and we laughed at the goofiness.

Water is hot. Ac is cold. internet is lousy.

Breakfast isn't great for americans looking for morning comfort food, and the chinese guests eat heartily before 8am, so get here early. We ate hard boiled eggs mostly. The coffee was instant.

It has a great location though, right near the drum tower, the night fountains, the Xi'an museum and a big food court. And on the second floor is a pretty good massage place.

If you are willing to sacrifice charm and ease for location and price, this is a good choice.

We wrote more about the hotel and our days in Xi'an here on our travel blog.

http://creekmoreworld.com/2011/06/heavenly-layers-of-harmonious-paradise-like-oreo-cookie-mcflurry-day-8/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CreekmoreWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel has been chosen by our friend. He thought that nights in this hotel will give us a taste of China and he has not been mistaken. This is as very very chinese style hotel. Rooms are very warm with big bed, wooden wardrobe and elegant decorations. Bed is big and soft so sleeping there was a pleasure. From the room you can see what's happens in bathroom throught big window (and as far as I'm concern it is a standard in chinese style hotels). View through the window permits explore some small streets around the hotel with chinese ornaments. The only one disadvantage I have seen is a bit noisy in the room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pati6b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfiax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Great location, right next to the Big Goose Pagoda and the restaurant area, very convenient! Great service. Room is standard and small, but clean and has all you need. Loved the Tang-style decoration, very unique! The only problem I had was you could hear people talking outside or next door, but since I could fall asleep really easily and fast, and usually we were very tired after sight seeing for the whole day, so that wasn't too bad. Breakfast is Chinese style and good, but make sure you get there EARLY!!! Too many hungry wolves!! Make sure you go out and walk around the area at night. There is a night market and you could see people dancing, very exciting!! I'm Chinese and I love Xi'an!!! It should be the first place people visit in China!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heavenxixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,187 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#52 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#71 of 2,187 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,187 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ci'en Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ci'en Hotel

Address: Northwest of Dayanta North Square, Dayan Tower, Ci'en Town, No.8 Xiaozhai East Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Nanjiao , Yanta District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 613 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ci'en Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ci'en Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ci'En Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing