We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ci'en Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ci'en Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ci'en Hotel
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Northwest of Dayanta North Square, Dayan Tower, Ci'en Town, No.8 Xiaozhai East Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China (Nanjiao)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 106 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Adequate, nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is some way from the centre of Xi'an, but the local area is itself interesting: the Big Goose Pagoda is nearby and behind the hotel is a "food night market" where you can eat outside from all sorts of small stalls. Personally, I found the nearby daily water fountain show thoroughly boring, but other reviewers seem to be impressed. I was going to say that everything looks tame compared with the water fountains of Lima, Peru, but actually I soon got bored with them too. Maybe it's just not my thing.

The hotel itself is fine. A bit tatty, not too clean, but most things work. The children had a room some distance from ours and their phone didn't work (not handy for waking them up in time for our excursion to the terra cotta army). I had to draw pictures and then explain in French to a Chinese-speaking fellow guest what the problem was before it was possible to communicate this to the front desk, but then maintenance came quickly and fixed it. Having laundry done was similarly a mission. With a laundry list on which everything appears in English and Chinese, this really shouldn't be complicated, but it was. In the end though it was all done in time for us to leave to the airport with clean clothes and nothing lost or damaged.

So communication was a problem, but we all seemed happy to laugh about how useless we were at each other's languages, good will prevailed and everything got done.

Breakfast is an effort, beginning with the hot orange juice (that was a first, nowhere have I ever come across heated orange juice before). There is someone who knows how to make (instant) coffee. It takes a while to get four cups, but it is coffee. Apart from that, it would be a good place to get used to Chinese food for breakfast. To my shame (?), this is still a step too far for me, so I was left smearing Swiss-made jam across toast with my chopsticks (or tea spoon). I guess I could have asked for a knife, but you really feel that western breakfast is a strange thing to ask for here.

It's actually quite funny seeing fellow westerners (among the many Chinese guests) conferring quietly among themselves about what to do, how to react, what to ask for or insist on. We are peculiarly vulnerable so early in the day. Really we want cheese (if we're Dutch) or fried egg (if we're English) or croissant etc etc, but we almost daren't ask for any of it because we are there to experience China after all. And it's the new world super power. Our children's children are going to eat steamed dumplings and noodles for breakfast without any sense that this was ever "foreign".

Evenings are already another matter. We are all thoroughly accustomed to eating Chinese later in the day, and right outside the hotel door is First Noodle Under the Sun. A huge noisy noodle house. We ate there twice, and it was delicious. Check the Tripadvisor reviews and try it out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Viborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This place has a great location, being next to the Big Goose Pagoda Square. The square has an excellent fountain show in the evening. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is Chinese so takes a bit of getting used to. No fruit juice for e.g.
There is an office on the 3rd floor where you can make travel arrangements to the Terracotta Warriors and other attractions surrounding Xi'an.
The good location means that you can hear the music form the fountain show in the morning and evening. This being China, the volume level is somewhat higher than what a Westerner might be used to.
Only major drawback is that it is very difficult getting a taxi there, but this is a general problem in Xi'an.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

A good value hotel, very close to the big goose pagoda , which turned out to be a great location , right next to the daily waterfall show.
Lots of rooms at this hotel, it's
Much bigger than it looks from the outside.
We booked our Terracotta Warriors tour with them and was very pleased with the tour

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

First of all, this is a hotel (not B&B or inn) - but perhaps the lack of restaurant affects the classification? They serve breakfast for Y20 (limited but sufficient Western options) but nothing else.

Our double room was quite small but tastefully decorated and well-furnished. For approx US$50 per night it was fine. The large window between bedroom and bathroom (can be covered by a blind) was a bit surprising. There was no minibar fridge but we had kettle and tea/coffee.

There was some noise from the street and hotel corridor, but after 11pm it was quite peaceful, no problem to sleep.

Hotel location is ideal, approx 2km south of City Walls at Big Goose Pagoda. There is a huge square here with restaurants and shops - quite touristy but pleasant to stroll around. A new shopping mall was being built at the edge, so it may get busier next year... We enjoyed the food at First Noodle Under The Sun, just by the hotel.

Staff spoke some English, enough to manage the basics. Hotel business centre can arrange tours, but could be difficult to arrange and expensive to book if you don't speak Mandarin.

Room Tip: Room 309 was quite small double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I booked Ci'en after reading the reviews. We are a family of four and they were able to confirm all of us in the same room (two doubles) which can be difficult outside the USA.

Firstly, this is no B&B or inn. This is a pretty big hotel, with at least a hundred rooms.

Check-in was a little rough. no one spoke english and they had to wake someone up to communicate with me that they were going to put a few hundred dollars on hold of my credit card. It was fine, it just took a while.

Our room was a little weird. It had a poker table in it, lots of ashtrays and condoms in the bathroom. But everything was clean, and we laughed at the goofiness.

Water is hot. Ac is cold. internet is lousy.

Breakfast isn't great for americans looking for morning comfort food, and the chinese guests eat heartily before 8am, so get here early. We ate hard boiled eggs mostly. The coffee was instant.

It has a great location though, right near the drum tower, the night fountains, the Xi'an museum and a big food court. And on the second floor is a pretty good massage place.

If you are willing to sacrifice charm and ease for location and price, this is a good choice.

We wrote more about the hotel and our days in Xi'an here on our travel blog.

http://creekmoreworld.com/2011/06/heavenly-layers-of-harmonious-paradise-like-oreo-cookie-mcflurry-day-8/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel has been chosen by our friend. He thought that nights in this hotel will give us a taste of China and he has not been mistaken. This is as very very chinese style hotel. Rooms are very warm with big bed, wooden wardrobe and elegant decorations. Bed is big and soft so sleeping there was a pleasure. From the room you can see what's happens in bathroom throught big window (and as far as I'm concern it is a standard in chinese style hotels). View through the window permits explore some small streets around the hotel with chinese ornaments. The only one disadvantage I have seen is a bit noisy in the room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfiax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Great location, right next to the Big Goose Pagoda and the restaurant area, very convenient! Great service. Room is standard and small, but clean and has all you need. Loved the Tang-style decoration, very unique! The only problem I had was you could hear people talking outside or next door, but since I could fall asleep really easily and fast, and usually we were very tired after sight seeing for the whole day, so that wasn't too bad. Breakfast is Chinese style and good, but make sure you get there EARLY!!! Too many hungry wolves!! Make sure you go out and walk around the area at night. There is a night market and you could see people dancing, very exciting!! I'm Chinese and I love Xi'an!!! It should be the first place people visit in China!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ci'en Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ci'en Hotel

Address: Northwest of Dayanta North Square, Dayan Tower, Ci'en Town, No.8 Xiaozhai East Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Nanjiao , Yanta District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ci'en Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Ci'en Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ci'En Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ci'en Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.