We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location and nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ci'en Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ci'en Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ci'en Hotel
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Northwest of Dayanta North Square, Dayan Tower, Ci'en Town, No.8 Xiaozhai East Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China (Nanjiao)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 104 Xi'an B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A good location and nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

A good value hotel, very close to the big goose pagoda , which turned out to be a great location , right next to the daily waterfall show.
Lots of rooms at this hotel, it's
Much bigger than it looks from the outside.
We booked our Terracotta Warriors tour with them and was very pleased with the tour

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

First of all, this is a hotel (not B&B or inn) - but perhaps the lack of restaurant affects the classification? They serve breakfast for Y20 (limited but sufficient Western options) but nothing else.

Our double room was quite small but tastefully decorated and well-furnished. For approx US$50 per night it was fine. The large window between bedroom and bathroom (can be covered by a blind) was a bit surprising. There was no minibar fridge but we had kettle and tea/coffee.

There was some noise from the street and hotel corridor, but after 11pm it was quite peaceful, no problem to sleep.

Hotel location is ideal, approx 2km south of City Walls at Big Goose Pagoda. There is a huge square here with restaurants and shops - quite touristy but pleasant to stroll around. A new shopping mall was being built at the edge, so it may get busier next year... We enjoyed the food at First Noodle Under The Sun, just by the hotel.

Staff spoke some English, enough to manage the basics. Hotel business centre can arrange tours, but could be difficult to arrange and expensive to book if you don't speak Mandarin.

Room Tip: Room 309 was quite small double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I booked Ci'en after reading the reviews. We are a family of four and they were able to confirm all of us in the same room (two doubles) which can be difficult outside the USA.

Firstly, this is no B&B or inn. This is a pretty big hotel, with at least a hundred rooms.

Check-in was a little rough. no one spoke english and they had to wake someone up to communicate with me that they were going to put a few hundred dollars on hold of my credit card. It was fine, it just took a while.

Our room was a little weird. It had a poker table in it, lots of ashtrays and condoms in the bathroom. But everything was clean, and we laughed at the goofiness.

Water is hot. Ac is cold. internet is lousy.

Breakfast isn't great for americans looking for morning comfort food, and the chinese guests eat heartily before 8am, so get here early. We ate hard boiled eggs mostly. The coffee was instant.

It has a great location though, right near the drum tower, the night fountains, the Xi'an museum and a big food court. And on the second floor is a pretty good massage place.

If you are willing to sacrifice charm and ease for location and price, this is a good choice.

We wrote more about the hotel and our days in Xi'an here on our travel blog.

http://creekmoreworld.com/2011/06/heavenly-layers-of-harmonious-paradise-like-oreo-cookie-mcflurry-day-8/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel has been chosen by our friend. He thought that nights in this hotel will give us a taste of China and he has not been mistaken. This is as very very chinese style hotel. Rooms are very warm with big bed, wooden wardrobe and elegant decorations. Bed is big and soft so sleeping there was a pleasure. From the room you can see what's happens in bathroom throught big window (and as far as I'm concern it is a standard in chinese style hotels). View through the window permits explore some small streets around the hotel with chinese ornaments. The only one disadvantage I have seen is a bit noisy in the room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfiax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Great location, right next to the Big Goose Pagoda and the restaurant area, very convenient! Great service. Room is standard and small, but clean and has all you need. Loved the Tang-style decoration, very unique! The only problem I had was you could hear people talking outside or next door, but since I could fall asleep really easily and fast, and usually we were very tired after sight seeing for the whole day, so that wasn't too bad. Breakfast is Chinese style and good, but make sure you get there EARLY!!! Too many hungry wolves!! Make sure you go out and walk around the area at night. There is a night market and you could see people dancing, very exciting!! I'm Chinese and I love Xi'an!!! It should be the first place people visit in China!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel was in a good location for the tourist, located close to the Big Goose Pagoda etc, unfortunately when we stayed they were replacing the carpet in the hallways which they failed to advise, this was an inconvenience as they worked late and started early, we moved to the Oriental hotel which was old but satisfactory, quiet and comfortable

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ci'en Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ci'en Hotel

Address: Northwest of Dayanta North Square, Dayan Tower, Ci'en Town, No.8 Xiaozhai East Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Nanjiao , Yanta District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ci'en Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Ci'en Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ci'En Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ci'en Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.