We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great guide, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warriors Apartment

Save Saved
You added Warriors Apartment to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warriors Apartment
Building B, Hongcity International Apartment, Bajiaxiang, Xihuamen, Xi'an, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good location, great guide, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

For most of our trip around China we stayed in hotels, mostly in the £80-£100 bracket, some much more but having read the descriptions of the Warrior Apartments in Trip Advisor we decided to take a chance.

To book we tried the web site, there is an English version, an email address and a mobile phone number. After many attempts at getting a reply I gave up and booked via Ctrip.

I then needed to contact Clarence (the owner) to arrange pick up from the station and a tour to see the Warriors, still no reply. Eventually I asked Ctrip and they kindly gave me a different mobile number. I texted Clarence my request and got the reply "OK", that was it, no more so I was a little apprehensive but as we were arriving at 9am in Xian we took the view that if it all went wrong we had time to find a "proper" hotel.

Our worries were further increased when there was no one to meet us, but about 10 minutes later an apologetic Clarence arrived to take us to the apartment.

We were a bit perplexed with the location shown on the interactive trip advisor map, it is wrong, the apartments are in a very convenient position near the Bell Tower, ignore the Trip Advisor map.

You need to be met at the airport or station as finding anywhere in Xian is very difficult, the local maps are awful, we looked out for a decent map and were unsuccessful. The apartments are in a not very nice block of offices and flats, they remind me of student accommodation, everything you need, but fairly cheap and cheerful with a bit of maintenance required.

As everyone else has mentioned, every where you look there are warriors, warriors in the bedroom, warriors in the kitchen, warriors in the living room even in the shower.

Would we recommend staying here? Yes, it would not be ideal for a one night stay but as a base for 2-7 days we would highly recommend it. It is very close to the Muslim area so it was great to be able to get good street food within walking distance, the metro is about a 10min walk away as is the airport bus. Most of the hotels seemed to be outside the city walls so not very convenient at all and at less than £50 a night the apartments are really good value.

Of course the reason most visitors come to Xian is for the Terracotta Warriors and you would be hard pressed to find a better guide than Clarence so make sure you book a days tour when you book the room. He charges £50 a person but that is a full days tour (not just the warrior site) and includes all the tickets, road tolls etc as well as a very nice lunch.
Both he and his wife (sorry, I don't remember her name) were very helpful indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had two families stay in the Warriors Apartment. The owner was very accommodating and met us when we arrived and allowed us to leave our luggage in one of the apartments for a late checkout. The kids loved all of the statues and artefacts and dressed up in the warrior costumes and took pictures. The two apartments we had were adjacent to each other which was very convenient. Everything worked well and we had a great time. The apartments had a washing machine and places to hang clothes to dry and that was much needed in the middle of a 10 day trip. All the laundry soap etc was provided. There were kitchens in both but we never used them. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you are travelling as a family, this is a must. Kids will LOVE it. We were not, but still loved it. Take the apartment for what it is, a tribute to the terracotta warriors. It is not 5 star luxury so if that is what you are after, don't come here, but if you want a unique experience, this is it. Clarence and his wife make sure you are well looked after, in fact Mrs Clarence has to be the most energetic and busy ladies ever. Great to be able to do own laundry. We did the tour with Clarence which was well worth it, but bear in mind, Clarence has done this 6,000+ times. He is therefore in a little more of a hurry than we were! The restaurant he took us to gave us the best food we had in China in 3 weeks. The Muslim quarter was a 5 minute walk away. Try the pottles of spicy potatoes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

First off, the decorations here are the reason to stay. And they are impressive. I am glad I stayed here and will remember it for a long time. Clarence and his wife were both very nice and accommodating. I took the Terra Cotta tour with Clarence and you will not find a more knowledgeable guide. You will walk away knowing more about the Terra Cotta tomb than everyone else. Having said that, the 7th floor apartment I stayed in was a little rough. Exposed electrical outlets with nothing in them, conduit, lighted decorations that do not light up. The top of the toilet tank was gone and you had to pull up on a wire to flush the toilet. And there was no wifi, although I'm told the other 2 apartments have wifi. If I owned the apartments, I would keep them in better shape.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duaringa, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the apartments for three nights and it was spacious and a good place to have a much needed break. It is very well located and has all the amenities you could ask for including a washing machine and soap which was very welcome. As other reviewers have mentioned I would probably look for another tour to the warriors other than the one offered by the owner of the apartment. Overall it is a great place to stay and would recommend it for families as there is plenty of space. A quick tip if you are looking for a food change there is a great Italian restaurant nearby it is called Colabro, very nice and does take away or dine in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is not a five star hotel. However, we enjoyed our stay very much. The owners are very nice and were very willing to please. They have remodeled two apartments into fun, and entertaining rentals. We stayed two nights. It was fun to view all the different warriors that have been added everywhere in the apartment. We were not to sure about the location at first. But after staying there and enjoying the short walk to Moslem market street, we ended up liking the location very much. Do not stay at this place for luxury, although it was spacious and fairly comfortable. But stay here for the fun (we were in China for three weeks, we didn't need 5 stars the whole time). We took lots of picture of the place. It was very intertaining, even for our 4 year old that got to dig for warriors and artifacts in the little sand box. This was the place we talked about the most when we got home!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sichuan, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Warrior Apartments for three nights in April 2011, we were two families with children and the accommodation suited us very well. It is comfortable and well-maintained and the warrior theme is a lot of fun. We enjoyed the decor and the kids loved dressing up and excavating warriors from the sandbox. It was also nice to have breakfast and drinks provided and you can cook other meals if you want to, very useful if your kids want a change from Chinese food. The location is also excellent, a few minutes walk from the Muslim quarter and within easy walking distance of other attractions.

However those booking should be aware that it is a B&B not a hotel, so don't expect 5 star hotel standards in terms of the plumbing and amenities. We were not bothered by noise outside as some other reviews stated, but we live in China and are used to life in this type of apartment complex.

We did the tour with Clarence and it was interesting to hear his perspective - he has a very different interpretation of the history of the warriors than the standard one - but I agree with some other reviewers that he was not very enthusiastic about the tour in general. I also thought the temple and cave dwellings included in the tour were not that worthwhile, we would have preferred to spend more time at the warriors site or to go elsewhere. You might want to make other arrangements for site-seeing.

To sum up, an ideal place to stay, particularly for families, if you want flexible, quirky accommodation and are not expecting top class hotel standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warriors Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warriors Apartment

Address: Building B, Hongcity International Apartment, Bajiaxiang, Xihuamen, Xi'an, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Warriors Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warriors Apartment Hotel Xi`An
Warriors Apartment China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warriors Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.