We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warriors Apartment

Save Saved
You added Warriors Apartment to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warriors Apartment
Building B, Hongcity International Apartment, Bajiaxiang, Xihuamen, Xi'an, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Sichuan, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Warrior Apartments for three nights in April 2011, we were two families with children and the accommodation suited us very well. It is comfortable and well-maintained and the warrior theme is a lot of fun. We enjoyed the decor and the kids loved dressing up and excavating warriors from the sandbox. It was also nice to have breakfast and drinks provided and you can cook other meals if you want to, very useful if your kids want a change from Chinese food. The location is also excellent, a few minutes walk from the Muslim quarter and within easy walking distance of other attractions.

However those booking should be aware that it is a B&B not a hotel, so don't expect 5 star hotel standards in terms of the plumbing and amenities. We were not bothered by noise outside as some other reviews stated, but we live in China and are used to life in this type of apartment complex.

We did the tour with Clarence and it was interesting to hear his perspective - he has a very different interpretation of the history of the warriors than the standard one - but I agree with some other reviewers that he was not very enthusiastic about the tour in general. I also thought the temple and cave dwellings included in the tour were not that worthwhile, we would have preferred to spend more time at the warriors site or to go elsewhere. You might want to make other arrangements for site-seeing.

To sum up, an ideal place to stay, particularly for families, if you want flexible, quirky accommodation and are not expecting top class hotel standards.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My only regret is that we only had one night to stay in this place! We were pleasantly surprised when walking in to see the many warriors that Clarence had made. This place is definitely unique! It is clean and well-equipped - toothbrushes, toothpaste, kitchen basics, etc. If your visiting Xi'an to see the warriors, then then I would say that this place is a must. Kids would love this place! Also located in a convenient location to the old part of Xi'an - close to many restaurants.

We had a 2-bedroom apartment - both rooms quite large. The kitchen was fully equipped with pantry basics although we did not use because we were only there for 1 night. Bathroom was also nicely decorated. This would be a great spot to stay for an extended period - 3+ nights, although it was great for one night as well.

Definitely recommended and the price was right too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Great apartment! Lots of life size figures around! Very friendly owner who left us some beer and did our laundry for us.
Comfy rooms and nice bathroom. Slightly odd location, down an alley (dark but still felt safe) and waking distance to most sights.
Great atmospheric apartment but sadly no cooking facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

When we booked the Xi'an Warriors Apartment I expected your average hotel room with a simple kitchen. This place turned out to be beyond charming. It is decorated with warriors everywhere! Don't waste your money on photos at the pit. You can stand amidst the full sized warriors in your very own room! 100 warriors held up the bed, full sized warriors in the walls and more surprises everywhere you turned. We had a large group so several rooms and one room even had a sand box the children could dig and find little buried warriors!!

Clarence was extremely helpful and met us at the building to let us in (its not a regular hotel with a reception desk). He was prompt and helpful with everything we needed and left his phone number in case we had any troubles. He was wonderful and I enjoyed reading the book he wrote on the warriors in the apartment.this place isn't your 5 star hotel with spas but was just my style if fun.

I highly recommend this delightful surprise!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey-Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The apartments are exactly as described. Absolutely not suitable for anyone who likes luxury and a sense or order!
The apartments are full of character and reflect Clarences phenomenal knowledge of warrior history.
The kitchen was not very clean (but we didn't need to use it) as the location was amazing. The apartments are really central and within 3 mins walk of the amazing muslim quarter with local food outlets galore and only 5 mins from Starbucks and other western food outlets.
The mosque and the bell and drum towers are all within very close walking distance.
Mrs Guo was a star and washed all our clothes. Our flight was delayed by several hours and we arrived at 5am! Mrs Guo met us on the road to direct the taxi with a huge smile and you would not have known that she had been woken at 4am and travelled to the apartment to greet us. So incredibly hospitable.
Clarence gave us a brilliant tour. We thoroughly recommend taking a Clarence tour to the warriors. His knowledge is second to none and his challenging theory on the Warriors brings the whole experience alive.
We stayed in apartment 703. It is the least attractive of the three and does not have wifi . They kindly gave us the key to 203 for use of wifi as it was unexpectedly vacant at the last minute. We wish we had relocated apartments as 203 and 201 are significantly nicer than 703 and I would recommend requesting them. Apartment 703 only has seating for two and we were a family of four adults.

In summary. As so many other reviewers have said. This is an experience and provided you know what to expect the experience is a good one, but it does not suit everyone and we had mixed opinions within our family group!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hi, this is Parry from Singapore. I have been staying in the same apartment with friends for the last two years each time I visited Xi'An. Both Clarence and his wife (Guo Jie) are very warm and helpful.

The location can't be any better. Whether you arrive by air / train / bus. It's easy to locate.
I took friends who visited Xi'An for the first time to stay there, it has been their hot topic whenever they talk to friends about their Xi'An experience.

Across the street is Muslim mosque, street food, shopping paradise, jade market etc.

An ideal place for stop over or "just arrive" from somewhere to rest before heading to other nearby provinces/place of interest/book your on-forwarding train/air ticket.

Each morning, Guo Jie loaded our fridge with fresh fruits, ice cream, refreshment, food. You can prepare your own simple home cook food here if you are not used to local food. And washing machine is available to do your own laundry.

Very much a home from home ! Definitely I will go back again ! (I don't have the photos with me now, but will put up some photos later :) )

Cheers !
Parry Tan
Singapore

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had trouble to find it but once you are there (call and meet in front of fire station) its a great place to stay in Xi´An. No better starting point to head to the wonderful streets of the maket area or drum tower / bell tower. The many terracotta warriors in the rooms, bath and bedroom are a great introduction to the trip to the originals. Fully recommended also because the owners run the 3 appartments in a very friendly and personal way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warriors Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warriors Apartment

Address: Building B, Hongcity International Apartment, Bajiaxiang, Xihuamen, Xi'an, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Warriors Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warriors Apartment Hotel Xi`An
Warriors Apartment China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warriors Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.