We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind, memorable, interesting and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warriors Apartment

Save Saved
You added Warriors Apartment to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warriors Apartment
Building B, Hongcity International Apartment, Bajiaxiang, Xihuamen, Xi'an, China   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of a kind, memorable, interesting and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here when the weather in Xian was not too good but the apartments, which are everything recent reviewers say and moreover the personality of Clarence the owner lit up our stay in Xian. Do not stay here if you only want standard rooms and standard tours. This is the mirror image.
The flats are comfortable but whimsical and warriors loom out of every nook and cranny. Facilities are fine but each item is an individual and it is like being in someone's home rather than a hotel. That said the service provided by Clarence and his wife is top class and do not miss his full day guided tour of the Taoist temple, the cave house and the warriors museum and do them (as he advises) in that order so that you can enjoy discussing Clarence's views on the warriors.
We would not have missed this experience and will be advising all our friends to visit Xian (spend a few days) and stay here but I can imagine that there are tourists who would not like it

Room Tip: We were in pit 1 which has the weakest internet link. If you must be wired all the time pit 2 is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
HK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 day nights at these fantastic warrior apartments. Our kids aged 6 & 4 loved all the warriors and dressing up in the warrior clothing provided. We stayed in Pit 1, which was a little cramped, dusty and had dodgy wiring but the beds were comfortable and the shower worked really well. Eggs, UHT milk and beer were provided. We brought our own cereal with us for breakfast and for evening meals we ate out in the local Muslim Quarter..you will find great food here and lots of stalls to buy replica warriors.

Clarence had the kids digging for warriors in a sand pit and Mrs Gou gave the kids soft Pandas which was very kind of them. Mrs Gou also did laundry for us. Only bad thing my daughter left her favourite headband on top of a warriors head and cried all the way to the airport! :-)

I too recommend doing the tour with Clarence as its unlikely you would get to see the cave village otherwise. We did it with two other lovely families. The lunch we had in the local village was fantastic and the tour of the Warriors themselves was impressive. The sheer scale of the Pits was amazing to see. Unfortunately we visited the day after Ching Ming festival so it was incredibly busy and therefore not easy to hear to Clarence.

Be sure to visit the Xi'an City wall where you can hire bikes and view the city. The Bell and Drum towers are a must also. A very memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Be sure to do a tour with Clarence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wonderfully quirky, as everyone here attests to. It is centrally located, and if you are lucky, there will be yummy crepes for sale at the street entrance in the morning. One thing I did not realize when I booked this room was that Clarence also will work as a guide. He is very friendly, and his english is good. I would look into hiring him next time, for convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are visiting Xi'an specifically to see the Terracotta Warriors site, complete the visit by staying at Clarence Gou's Warrior apartments. This is not a 5 star hotel. Take it for what it is: customized apartments near the Muslim Street, set up as a themed B&B residence.
The location is great for visiting the excellent food and shopping market. The apartments are clean, a little musty when the windows aren't opened but jam packed with Terracotta Warriors and artifacts in every room (modestly, they face backwards in the bathroom).
Clarence picked us up at the airport, provided breakfast foods and snacks at a reasonable cost and was our day's tour guide out to a Taoist temple, a visit to the hill folk and of course the Terracotta Warrior site. Excellent day trip, rustic accommodations and terrific service and attention to detail. You can do laundry too if you have been traveling for a while.
There is wifi although it was a bit hit or miss. Hit one day, miss the next.
Buy his book, it is excellent. Ask questions, he is very knowledgeable. Enjoy a different experience. Don't miss the Muslim market.
Thank you again, Clarence!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

These fully-furnished apartments in the center of Xi'an city are a true find. Stay here if you want a one of a kind experience, with space, comfort and privacy. If you want to stay in a stale, colorless hotel room like all the hotels you have ever stayed in, you may not appreciate these wonderfully quirky units. Ours was a two-bedroom apartment, complete with many full-sized terracotta warrior replicas. The one on the balcony did give me a fright late at night, but that simply added to the overall experience. This place reminded me (in a good way) of something out of a Dicken's novel, full of character and hidden delights. Moreover, it is clean, private, extremely well-priced and centrally located. Mr. Clarence Guo was a fantastic host. He arranged our airport pickup and drop-off and led us on a personal tour of the terracotta warriors, as well as a very unique cave dwelling. Mr. Guo's English is excellent, he is very prompt in his response to emails and was an extremely knowledgeable guide (he has even written a book on the terracotta warriors). I strongly recommend this lodging, and Mr. Guo's tour services, for families and groups of friends, or even for couples who want a personalized Xi'an experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

"Quirky" is the word! This is actually an apartment in a high rise building with a great location. Even though I had read the reviews and had seen the pictures I was surprised and delighted to walk in and see all the life sized warriors -- just went from room to room taking pictures. We had "Pit 2", the one bedroom on the second floor. Bed was too hard for us (like everywhere in China) but there were extra comforters in the closet that we able to put under the bottom sheet for a little more cushioning.

Separate kitchen (warriors are walking through the wall with their backs to you!) with stacks of bottled water, beer, eggs and some really wonderful bread -- something new every morning we stayed. No charge for any of that.

We had taken the overnight train from Beijing and Clarence met us at the train station and let us check in at 8:30 in the morning since the room was vacant. And, yes, we left out dirty clothes and Mrs. Guo washed them!

My only problem was that there were some used personal items that made me feel uncomfortable. Someone in an earlier review said that she felt like she was in someone else's house and I see what the writer meant. I'm talking about a hairbrush with hairs in it, a shower cap, several bars of used soap...I had an "ugh" reaction even after I put some things out of sight.

Overall, seeing the Terra Cotta Warriors is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and staying here definitely added to it.

Room Tip: Go to Clarence's website and pick the one you want. Make sure it has warriors in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This 2 bed apartment was done up in a very unique fashion with sculptures of the Terracotta Warriors adorning the walls. It was clean, spacious for our family of 4 and also extremely conveniently located to the Muslim Quarter and Bell Tower. The couple who owned the place were extremely attentive to our needs and this made our stay in the city of Xian all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warriors Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warriors Apartment

Address: Building B, Hongcity International Apartment, Bajiaxiang, Xihuamen, Xi'an, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip DaoDao so you can book your Warriors Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warriors Apartment Hotel Xi`An
Warriors Apartment China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warriors Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.