We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Garden

Siam Garden
38B Keji Road, Xi'an 710075, China
029-88758888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 1,605 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Ulverstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went for lunch and had all you can eat menu. Food authentic and great quality. Option to sit outside where there is a lovely garden. Felt as though we were in Thailand! This restaurant is inside the Shangri-La.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Massana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in Xi'an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant served me some of the best food i had doing my two weeks of travels in China. The atmosphere is relaxed and made me feel very welcome. The service is nice but lack some english skills.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Oozes class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My fiancee and I just had a fantastic high-end Valentine's meal at the Siam Garden (within the Shangri-La Hotel complex). I'd read the hitherto rather mixed, possibly outdated, reviews with a bit of trepidation but decided to bite the bullet and give it a go for our special night.

It paid off hugely. Yes the bill came to 666rmb but in Western terms this is average for a top meal. What we had tonight was classy, it was spicy, it was artistically presented, but most importantly of all for a 'posh' restaurant, it was well proportioned. Good big amounts of fish, bowlfuls of curry, what must have been 2 individual crabs in the soft shell crab. Gorgeous.

5 dishes in all: the deep fried sea bass - spicy to the point of sizzling the tongue, but divine; the soft shell crab - so difficult to get in Xi'an was one of the best things I've had in 18 months in China, gently spiced and so melt in the mouth; duck breast red curry - every bit as scrumptious as it sounds, so well cooked but potently spicy; beef massaman curry with potatoes, really tasty maybe a touch on the oily side, a quarter of a star off for that; finally a fried rice dish with chicken which was a work of art, full of flavour. However be aware of ordering this as they offer FREE plain thai rice with your main meals.
As for the wine, there are little cafes in Xi'an with more expensive white wine than this hotel (the best in Shaanxi no less!) 170rmb for Argentinian white, so drinkable you barely have to lift your glass. So I am very happy this Valentine's day, please do come and check it out, you WILL pay quite a bit, but you won't leave disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Had great Thai Chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Local people seem not quite customed to Thai food. But Siam Garden does have a decent Thai chef. Sweet & spicy.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Donegal, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Siam Thai at Shangri la”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Very very good restaurant at the Shangri La Hotel. Went twice during visit to Xian. Both crab cakes and lightly currie fish cakes are excellent as is the Salmon in Red curry, the spicy papaya and prawn curry, the prawn with Tamarind sauce, the assorted appetisers and the Green chicken curry. The Pineapple rice is beautiful presented but is a bit sticky and quite sweet. Pad Thai and Fried rice with chicken were better options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Garden also viewed

 

Been to Siam Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.