We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good cheap hotel, but poor English.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jinjiang Inn (Xi'an Jianguomen)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jinjiang Inn (Xi'an Jianguomen) to your Saves list
Jinjiang Inn (Xi'an Jianguomen)
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   No.5 Huancheng East Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710048, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 2,166 Hotels in Xi'an
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“A good cheap hotel, but poor English.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is well located near one corner of the old city wall. The room is a good size and the bathroom is fine as well. Bottled water is provided as well as tea, but not coffee. There is no fridge for keeping drinks cold. English is a real problem here. The reception staff just either stares and giggles or totally ignores you. The restaurant is worse still. While they have a menu in English, once you divert from that it all goes bad. I had to show them their coffee machine just to get a cold cup and when I tried asking for milk I became a real source of amusement. Firstly they brought me more sugar, then an empty cup, then a toothpick. I finally had to resort to cow noises to finally get the milk. But even then they don't just top up the coffee with milk, you have to take a full container of it. I really didn't appreciate their ridicule and lack of understanding. Little wonder I was always the only person in the restaurant.
The problems with English started even before I left home when I repeatedly rang the hotel to get sent the address in Chinese for the taxi driver from the railway station. Even though I kept selecting 1 for English I was continually hung up on. I eventually found it on another website, but when I gave it to the driver he couldn't find the place. He then rang the hotel 5 times and got no answer. A similar thing occurred when a tour guide rang to leave a message and also received no response. Reception also neglected my wake up call.
This hotel would be so much better with more English skills and more importantly better customer service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    125
    32
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mt barker, WA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We may not be the fussiest but found this place through the internet and it was good value. Room had a double bed and a single that were extremely clean. No smoke smell in the room but the bathroom was a tad small. Great hot water and heater in the winter.
As expected the staff spoke no English , but hey, its China. The 18Y pp buffet for breakfast was good value but again all chinese food. Again its China. It even had a lift.
We had Bicycles and found the place a good bet to assemble them. The staff were friendly and let us do as we pleased. Very quiet room as the hotel faced an inner parking area and well away from the main road.
Walk out the front door with a spectacular view the the city wall. Its situated at the SE corner of the wall and people use the area for morning Tai Chi and other exercises.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Don;t go there for the charm, go there for the guarantee of a clean bed, descent internet and an almost western breakfast. The hotel is functional, not charming, the location is good. All in all a good value for money unless you plan to spend most of your stay in your hotel room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Very nice hotel. Modern, look like a space thinked to received bussines mens. A lot of space, cable tv and cable for internet (old but effective, except for my Mac), excellent shower with all amenities as shampoo, soap, tooth brush. Very confortables beds. Good location, just few steps away to City Walls, a major turistic attraction. For US$ 3 you get a breakfast buffet, very good also. The staff almost dont speak english, as always in China.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jinjiang Inn (Xi'an Jianguomen)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Inn (Xi'an Jianguomen)

Address: No.5 Huancheng East Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710048, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jinjiang Inn (Xi'an Jianguomen) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jinjiang Inn (Xi'an Jianguomen) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinjiang Inn (Xi'An Jianguomen) China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinjiang Inn (Xi'an Jianguomen), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.