We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xian Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xi'an Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xi'an Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Xian Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

After a long overland trip from Kathmandu to Xian, via Everest Base Camp and Lhassa in Tibet, the hotel was a welcome site. In a very pretty part of Xian near to the Wild Goose Pagoda, this hotel is fantastic. Clean comfortable bedrooms, great menu, with an excellent breakfast.
There are many parks within a short walk from the hotel including a great water fountain show.
The gardens in the hotel are a great place place to unwind, would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    153
    54
    11
    1
See reviews for
19
44
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is nicely located in a quiet part of Xian but having said this, there is a vibrant square just down the road and a good selection of restaurants nearby. We arrived mid evening and were welcomed by the staff. Our room was located at the rear but had a balcony and views over a small garden frequented by many birds. The themed garden area of they hotel contains a few peacocks and a couple of Whooper Swans. The water level was low and all the piping could be seen, detracting from the ambience. The pool was out of use. Breakfast was good, the only meals we ate there but the English type food was scattered around and had to be searched for.
Would I use this hotel again. Yes.

Room Tip: I believe that the Peacocks could be a problem if you have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spend several days in the Xi'an Garden Hotel and enjoyed it very much. They have a very clean, very nice, very modern, hotel with great authentic Chinese breakfasts. There are several short walks that you can take to catch the evening water fountain shows, the shops, the parks, and the pagodas.
Great location, good authentic food (not american), great service. Five Stars!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the center gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is built around a charming traditional Chinese garden and is in a great location very close to the Wild Goose Pagoda and a very lively square and an area with plenty of restaurants, bars etc within (very) easy walking distance.

Our room was nice, and it overlooked the garden - the only possible downside of this was the peacocks who live in the garden (yes, really) can be a bit noisy on occasion, but who can't live with being woken by a peacock, doesn't happen every day :-)

Breakfast was good, however we didn't eat dinner in the restaurant so I won't comment on that, or indeed on the pool/spa which we didn't use.

The only thing that annoyed me about this hotel was the little bar off to one side of the lobby (not the lobby bar itself), which charged us an exorbitant amount for two very tiny glasses of red wine...probably explains why it was so empty!

Overall we really liked this hotel for it's ambience and it's location with easy access to a lively part of Xi'an for an evening stroll.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel x, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your stay at xi'an garden hotel and your comment about hotel service. regarding your complain, we will look into it seriously, try to find the problem and re-examine our produtcs, price and service procedure. then we will come up with corrective measures to improve our products and service.
We are all looking forward to serving you and your friends in the future.

yours sincerely
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel, overall, contains the traditional look of china within itself. quiet and peaceful. Location wise the hotel gets full marks. Beautiful places including goose pagoda, parks and water show are within walking distance. But room interior renovation is a serious recommendation. Also the reception should be equipped with more English speaking staffs for ease of communication for the foreigners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a traditional Chinese themed hotel with an impressive entrance and very cute Chinese gardens complete with peacocks and swans. Some of the rooms have been recently renovated but majority are quite tired and old fashioned. Bathrooms need serious attention and updating but are clean and serviceable.
Breakfast is plentiful if a strange fusion of East and West.
The Hotel is very central and within walking distance of shopping malls and food courts. Supermarkets are nearby. There are very few 'extras' in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

+ location, near the Wild Goose Pagoda, with lots of restaurants, bars and sights to see.
+ Nice ancient Chinese-style garden with peacocks and swans. You wake up and think you are back in the ancient time.
+Quietness

Breakfast is decent for the price that the hotel charges.

- Old rooms, the hair dryer is built in and weak, if you have long hair, you probably need 2hrs to dry.

Wouldn't mind staying there again, but i will bring my own hair dryer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
3.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Free Parking, R...
Show More
4.0 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Le Garden Hotel
Le Garden Hotel
#147 of 1,989 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#43 of 1,989 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Garden Hotel

Address: No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#17 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#55 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Garden Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xian Garden Hotel in Xian, China is located in Yan Yin Road, just 5 minutes off the city center and about 45km from the Xianyang International Airport (SIA). It houses 292 oriental-style guestrooms that are all furnished with modern amenities such as air-conditioning, Internet access, and cable TV. The hotel also offers a number of facilities including three (3) restaurants, a fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool. Hotel services include airline and tour assistance, laundry, and express check-in and checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Xi'an Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.