We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more for charm than quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Xi'an Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Xi'an Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 2,154 Hotels in Xi'an
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“more for charm than quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel provides a charming experience and serves as a reminder of an era gone by. It is not a modern hotel (see photos posted by guests), but the small pond in the courtyard lit by lanterns is beautiful as are the swans and numerous peacocks. The rooms are dated, from the carpet to the built-in stereo/nightstand to the hairdryer. These features were part of the charm, but the often strong smell of smoke in the hotel was not. Air flows freely between the rooms and as other guests have noted, non-smoking rooms come with ashtrays. The hotel is in a good location near the Wild Goose Pagoda, with numerous restaurants nearby to choose from. That alone would bring me back, though the charm of this more traditional Chinese hotel may also play a role that is hard to resist.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel x, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your patronage to Xi`an Garden Hotel. Xi`an Garden Hotel was built in 1988, and has twenty-five years history. The architecture is in rarely Tang Garden style. We have taken your kind suggestions. Thanks you! We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    157
    60
    13
    2
See reviews for
19
49
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Set around a lake this was a lovely hotel on the outskirts of Xian, near the goose pagoda. Our room was modern-ish, but comfortable and with all amenities. There were several on site restaurants, which served reasonable food. Being some way out from the main centre of Xian (definitely not walking distance) it seemed that some taxi drivers were reluctant to take us there so it was a bit of a chore to get to after a long day travelling to Xian by train, but once we there, staff were very helpful with booking further taxis to explore .etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel x, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your patronage to Xi`an Garden Hotel. Xi`an Garden Hotel, the first Tang Style hotel in China, has been opened for twenty-five years. The facilities are somehow old, but the archaized Tang Style architecture has deep impressed many travelers. We are trying best to maintain and renew the facilities. We hope to serve you again in Xi`an Garden Hotel next time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel is in beautiful setting with huge garden in the courtyard, including live peacocks, swans and ducks. Small let downs were the AC in our room that would not cool sufficiently as well as the breakfast buffet which was not really impressive. Since I stayed with a tour group I cannot say much about the value for money but I am sure it was enough.
Location is great, short walk from wild goose pagoda with its huge park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel x, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your patronage to Xi`an Garden Hotel. Xi`an Garden Hotel is the first Tang Style hotel in China. Beautiful internal lake, lovely animal, peaceful garden-like yard…those will really give you relax feelings. For the breakfast problem, we will make some adjust, such as add more types. We hope to serve you again in Xi`an Garden Hotel next time. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The way this hotel is designed is beautiful. They have a marvelous court yard in the center in which swans and peacocks inhabit. If you're lucky, you'll get surprised by a peacocks open tail! The rooms are good, but the beds are quite hard. This is something that arises everywhere in China that I have stayed, though. The curtains are blackout, which is wonderful! The hotel is located a good bit outside of the city center, however there is a new development filled with restaurants and bars a quick 3 minutes walk. It is also adjacent a Pagoda, which is a must see.

Room Tip: We were in the 2000 wing, on floor 4. If you exit the elevator to the left, rooms on the left side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenhotel x, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for choosing Xi’an Garden Hotel! Our Hotel is the first Tang cultural experience hotel in China. Here you could find the beautiful Chinese Garden with lively animals. There is also Tai Chi performance every morning. All these would definitely be attractive to you. We hope our friendly service would make your travel experience brilliant and plentiful, and welcome to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

grand entrance big lobby fantastic center garden with geese, ducks, koi, and 2 pair of peacock. free tai chi lessons in the morning pretty nice breakfast buffet (could have been better juice selections). close to many attractions and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for choosing Xi’an Garden Hotel! Our Hotel is the first Tang cultural experience hotel in China. Here you could find the beautiful Chinese Garden with lively animals. There is also Tai Chi performance every morning. All these would definitely be attractive to you. We hope our friendly service would make your travel experience brilliant and plentiful, and welcome to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
233 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

best thing about the hotel is its beautiful inner garden area- ask for a room with a good view of it. many trees, flowers, ponds but also noisy peacocks!!
location is good for walking- the large wild goose pagoda, a beautiful park, many restaurants nearby.
buffet breakfast was excellent.
the rooms have an older feel to them. there was some mold in my bathroom and the water temperature in the shower varied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your attention and recognition of Xi’an Garden Hotel. The architecture of our hotel is combined with artistic features of Tang and Chinese gardening arts, which has attracted numerous Chinese and foreign guests. The tranquil garden, lively animals, as well as the beautiful inner court lake let you feel close to the nature. Our hotel facilities are gradually updated. With your support, we would continue to offers better service for you. Looking forward to your visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel looks impressive on first look, and the grounds and lobby are lovely. Our standard room was quite large but it was also shabby. The furniture was worn, the carpet stained, and the bathroom had black grout. The air conditioning seemed to go off at night so the room became warm. There is free wifi in the rooms; just call the operator for a password.

The breakfast buffet was good, but not great. Western dishes weren't quite right.

This hotel is very close to the Wild Goose Pagoda. There's a fountain-light show in the park every night at 9:00 (we had read it was 8:00 and had to wait an hour). Across the street there is a food court with many kinds of restaurants, including Pizza Hut, Dairy Queen, and a good vegetarian restaurant called Bo Zhou. There's a big shopping mall down the street near the entrance to the Pagoda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your valuable comments. Our facilities are being updated. We wish to offer you a more professional and attentive service in the future. We would also improve the variety as well as the quality of the breakfast. Welcome to stay again and hope you have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xi'an Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Garden Hotel

Address: No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#27 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#57 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xian Garden Hotel in Xian, China is located in Yan Yin Road, just 5 minutes off the city center and about 45km from the Xianyang International Airport (SIA). It houses 292 oriental-style guestrooms that are all furnished with modern amenities such as air-conditioning, Internet access, and cable TV. The hotel also offers a number of facilities including three (3) restaurants, a fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool. Hotel services include airline and tour assistance, laundry, and express check-in and checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xi'an Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.