We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds, older rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Xi'an Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Xi'an Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 2,154 Hotels in Xi'an
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
233 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds, older rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

best thing about the hotel is its beautiful inner garden area- ask for a room with a good view of it. many trees, flowers, ponds but also noisy peacocks!!
location is good for walking- the large wild goose pagoda, a beautiful park, many restaurants nearby.
buffet breakfast was excellent.
the rooms have an older feel to them. there was some mold in my bathroom and the water temperature in the shower varied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your attention and recognition of Xi’an Garden Hotel. The architecture of our hotel is combined with artistic features of Tang and Chinese gardening arts, which has attracted numerous Chinese and foreign guests. The tranquil garden, lively animals, as well as the beautiful inner court lake let you feel close to the nature. Our hotel facilities are gradually updated. With your support, we would continue to offers better service for you. Looking forward to your visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    157
    60
    13
    2
See reviews for
19
49
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel looks impressive on first look, and the grounds and lobby are lovely. Our standard room was quite large but it was also shabby. The furniture was worn, the carpet stained, and the bathroom had black grout. The air conditioning seemed to go off at night so the room became warm. There is free wifi in the rooms; just call the operator for a password.

The breakfast buffet was good, but not great. Western dishes weren't quite right.

This hotel is very close to the Wild Goose Pagoda. There's a fountain-light show in the park every night at 9:00 (we had read it was 8:00 and had to wait an hour). Across the street there is a food court with many kinds of restaurants, including Pizza Hut, Dairy Queen, and a good vegetarian restaurant called Bo Zhou. There's a big shopping mall down the street near the entrance to the Pagoda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your valuable comments. Our facilities are being updated. We wish to offer you a more professional and attentive service in the future. We would also improve the variety as well as the quality of the breakfast. Welcome to stay again and hope you have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

An hour away from the airport, an hour away from the warriors. It took us a full hour to catch a cab for the Muslim quarter as the staff were content to chat and smoke while vaguely looking in the direction of the road.

We turned in our key the next morning to check out before we went to grab breakfast, and we were barred from our prepaid breakfast. They refused to acknowledge that we had already paid for it and refused to rectify the situation.

The rooms were the smallest on our entire trip. The carpet in the room was unnaturally stiff, and the carpet in the hallways were wet. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your valuable comments. We are very sorry for your experience in our hotel. In the future, we would strengthen the training to improve staff’s professionalism and service awareness. Our facilities are also being updated. Xi’an Garden Hotel looks forward to your visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

On a group tour of several cities in China, this was definitely the best hotel. The internal gardens and pools provide a serene environment. Rooms are larger than usually encountered in China, and quite comfortable. Large, weloming lobby. Friendly, accomodating staff. Extensive, varied breakfast buffet. A short walk to the nightly 'dancing fountains' water show. Oveall, a winner

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your attention and recognition of Xi’an Garden Hotel. Our Hotel is the first Tang cultural experience hotel in China. It is also the best place to experience the Chinese garden-style living. With your support, we would continue to provide the most considerate and attentive service to our guests. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in 10/2012 and was very pleased. Nice breakfast buffet, beautiful landscaping, lagoon and walkway thru interior garden.
Our room was quite comfortable and yes some rooms can be a bit of a walk from the lobby, but I personally enjoyed the stroll.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is well located as others have indicated and the lobby and gardens are very attractive. Staff spoke English fairly well and were friendly. The standard rooms are pretty 'basic' by North American standards but this is China and not Vancouver. Would I stay again? perhaps -- the city itself and the walking area around the hotel with a lovely park make up for any inconvenience although it woudl be very nice to have a softer bed. Even the standard rooms open out to the large enclosed garden courtyard and that is a plus. I agree with one of the reviewers that it is a bit smoky even if 'non smoking' but remember there is a lot of smoking in China so the odour may be inevitable. If I booked again, i would try to get a 'superior' room or a 'deluxe' room. Prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: book room overlooking central garden; ask for 'superior grade' rather than standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Xian Garden Hotel is OK but not great.- more of a business or function based place. Reasonably priced, and convenient for the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and surroundings, the hotel is a little impersonal and staff have limited English. It is a considerable distance from the lobby to some of the rooms, which are themselves nothing memorable. There are very few rooms overlooking the interior garden despite other reviews recommending this.

There is a new shopping area nearby, with some good bars and restaurants. In particular there is an ethnic minority restaurant with Awa or Wa food which is absolutely marvellous. It's just past the couple of Tea Houses. The Big Wild Goose Pagoda area is terrific at night, with hundreds of locals dancing and enjoying themselves.

Taxi drivers all know the location of the hotel which is a bonus, but do take a location card in Chinese. Xian itself is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xi'an Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Garden Hotel

Address: No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#27 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#57 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xian Garden Hotel in Xian, China is located in Yan Yin Road, just 5 minutes off the city center and about 45km from the Xianyang International Airport (SIA). It houses 292 oriental-style guestrooms that are all furnished with modern amenities such as air-conditioning, Internet access, and cable TV. The hotel also offers a number of facilities including three (3) restaurants, a fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool. Hotel services include airline and tour assistance, laundry, and express check-in and checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xi'an Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.