We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xi'an Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xi'an Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 1,990 hotels in Xi'an
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

On a group tour of several cities in China, this was definitely the best hotel. The internal gardens and pools provide a serene environment. Rooms are larger than usually encountered in China, and quite comfortable. Large, weloming lobby. Friendly, accomodating staff. Extensive, varied breakfast buffet. A short walk to the nightly 'dancing fountains' water show. Oveall, a winner

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale r, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thanks for your attention and recognition of Xi’an Garden Hotel. Our Hotel is the first Tang cultural experience hotel in China. It is also the best place to experience the Chinese garden-style living. With your support, we would continue to provide the most considerate and attentive service to our guests. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    153
    54
    11
    1
See reviews for
19
44
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in 10/2012 and was very pleased. Nice breakfast buffet, beautiful landscaping, lagoon and walkway thru interior garden.
Our room was quite comfortable and yes some rooms can be a bit of a walk from the lobby, but I personally enjoyed the stroll.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is well located as others have indicated and the lobby and gardens are very attractive. Staff spoke English fairly well and were friendly. The standard rooms are pretty 'basic' by North American standards but this is China and not Vancouver. Would I stay again? perhaps -- the city itself and the walking area around the hotel with a lovely park make up for any inconvenience although it woudl be very nice to have a softer bed. Even the standard rooms open out to the large enclosed garden courtyard and that is a plus. I agree with one of the reviewers that it is a bit smoky even if 'non smoking' but remember there is a lot of smoking in China so the odour may be inevitable. If I booked again, i would try to get a 'superior' room or a 'deluxe' room. Prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: book room overlooking central garden; ask for 'superior grade' rather than standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Xian Garden Hotel is OK but not great.- more of a business or function based place. Reasonably priced, and convenient for the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and surroundings, the hotel is a little impersonal and staff have limited English. It is a considerable distance from the lobby to some of the rooms, which are themselves nothing memorable. There are very few rooms overlooking the interior garden despite other reviews recommending this.

There is a new shopping area nearby, with some good bars and restaurants. In particular there is an ethnic minority restaurant with Awa or Wa food which is absolutely marvellous. It's just past the couple of Tea Houses. The Big Wild Goose Pagoda area is terrific at night, with hundreds of locals dancing and enjoying themselves.

Taxi drivers all know the location of the hotel which is a bonus, but do take a location card in Chinese. Xian itself is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Location is great - right next to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and pedestrian streets, grounds are beautiful, authentic Chinese gardens with white swan and peacocks, the rooms however, are extremely outdated and very disappointing. I stayed here in mid-September for 2 nights. My room had a terrible odor so before I settled in, I went to the front desk to see if they can change my room. The manager told me the hotel was completely booked and there were no other rooms available at all. To appease me, the manager offered to go up to my room to check it out. When he returned, he told me he didn't smell the odor but let me that he opened the windows to air it out. I had no choice but to sleep there for the night. The hotel wreaked of stale smoke. Although my room was on a non-smoking floor, the hotel did not prohibit the other guests from smoking. The room had not been decorated since the 80's and I've never seen a hairdryer that looked like a vacuum cleaner. The rooms pictured on the hotel's website is a far cry from the room I stayed in - apparently the featured rooms are all suites which are all renovated. The next morning I complained again as there was a new manager on duty. He told me that he can change my room to a smaller room but it was a smoking room. I declined. The second manager was much nicer and much more hospitable, and truly seemed like he was making an effort to make my stay more pleasant. In the end, I had to stay in my original room. The manager gave me a bottle opener worth 10 RMB for my troubles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There is a giant garden in the center courtyard and gardens everywhere around it. The garden is very peaceful with resident swans, ducks, peacocks and the ever present koi. The kitchen will give you bread to feed them if you ask. My room was large and lovely. And very importantly, there is IN ROOM WIFI!!
Great location near the Small Wild Goose Pagoda and a park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Only stayed one night but the hotel was charming and all staff very courteous. Both breakfast and dinner menu was a choice of Chinese or Western so everyone happy.

I have nothing but praise and recommendation for this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Garden Hotel

Address: No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#17 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#53 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Garden Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xian Garden Hotel in Xian, China is located in Yan Yin Road, just 5 minutes off the city center and about 45km from the Xianyang International Airport (SIA). It houses 292 oriental-style guestrooms that are all furnished with modern amenities such as air-conditioning, Internet access, and cable TV. The hotel also offers a number of facilities including three (3) restaurants, a fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool. Hotel services include airline and tour assistance, laundry, and express check-in and checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Xi'an Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.