We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for the location rather than a 5 star experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Xi'an Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Xi'an Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 2,170 Hotels in Xi'an
Edmonton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stay for the location rather than a 5 star experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is well located as others have indicated and the lobby and gardens are very attractive. Staff spoke English fairly well and were friendly. The standard rooms are pretty 'basic' by North American standards but this is China and not Vancouver. Would I stay again? perhaps -- the city itself and the walking area around the hotel with a lovely park make up for any inconvenience although it woudl be very nice to have a softer bed. Even the standard rooms open out to the large enclosed garden courtyard and that is a plus. I agree with one of the reviewers that it is a bit smoky even if 'non smoking' but remember there is a lot of smoking in China so the odour may be inevitable. If I booked again, i would try to get a 'superior' room or a 'deluxe' room. Prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: book room overlooking central garden; ask for 'superior grade' rather than standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    162
    65
    14
    2
See reviews for
21
54
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Xian Garden Hotel is OK but not great.- more of a business or function based place. Reasonably priced, and convenient for the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and surroundings, the hotel is a little impersonal and staff have limited English. It is a considerable distance from the lobby to some of the rooms, which are themselves nothing memorable. There are very few rooms overlooking the interior garden despite other reviews recommending this.

There is a new shopping area nearby, with some good bars and restaurants. In particular there is an ethnic minority restaurant with Awa or Wa food which is absolutely marvellous. It's just past the couple of Tea Houses. The Big Wild Goose Pagoda area is terrific at night, with hundreds of locals dancing and enjoying themselves.

Taxi drivers all know the location of the hotel which is a bonus, but do take a location card in Chinese. Xian itself is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Location is great - right next to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and pedestrian streets, grounds are beautiful, authentic Chinese gardens with white swan and peacocks, the rooms however, are extremely outdated and very disappointing. I stayed here in mid-September for 2 nights. My room had a terrible odor so before I settled in, I went to the front desk to see if they can change my room. The manager told me the hotel was completely booked and there were no other rooms available at all. To appease me, the manager offered to go up to my room to check it out. When he returned, he told me he didn't smell the odor but let me that he opened the windows to air it out. I had no choice but to sleep there for the night. The hotel wreaked of stale smoke. Although my room was on a non-smoking floor, the hotel did not prohibit the other guests from smoking. The room had not been decorated since the 80's and I've never seen a hairdryer that looked like a vacuum cleaner. The rooms pictured on the hotel's website is a far cry from the room I stayed in - apparently the featured rooms are all suites which are all renovated. The next morning I complained again as there was a new manager on duty. He told me that he can change my room to a smaller room but it was a smoking room. I declined. The second manager was much nicer and much more hospitable, and truly seemed like he was making an effort to make my stay more pleasant. In the end, I had to stay in my original room. The manager gave me a bottle opener worth 10 RMB for my troubles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There is a giant garden in the center courtyard and gardens everywhere around it. The garden is very peaceful with resident swans, ducks, peacocks and the ever present koi. The kitchen will give you bread to feed them if you ask. My room was large and lovely. And very importantly, there is IN ROOM WIFI!!
Great location near the Small Wild Goose Pagoda and a park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Only stayed one night but the hotel was charming and all staff very courteous. Both breakfast and dinner menu was a choice of Chinese or Western so everyone happy.

I have nothing but praise and recommendation for this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I spent nearly four weeks travelling around China and the Xi'an Garden Hotel was by far the best of all the hotels (a total of 8) we stayed in. It was clean and comfortable and the staff, in their Tang dynasty costumes, were very helpful. The lobby was large and well furnished. The gardens, complete with pond, swans and peacocks, delightful. The room was sufficiently large, but, as we found everywhere in China, the bed was very firm. The bed and bathroom were clean, but the carpet had stains on it. We have a lovely view over the garden. Breakfasts were plentiful, both Chinese and Western. The hotel is located near the Large Wild Goose Pagoda, a lovely park, shops and a Walmart!! Would certainly recommend it to anybody visitng Xi'an.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of an organised group tour in Beijing, Xian and Shanghai. The hotel is well situated, just across the road from an amazing Mall (Tang Dynasty) which was quite eye opening.
The building is set in beautiful grounds with a small lake (pond) complete with swans, peacocks, ducks etc. Rooms were some distance from main entrance and reception but corridors were clean and reasonably bright. We had wonderedwhy our guide had made mention of the hardness of the beds but soon realised why when we sat on one of them! Rock solid would probably be the best description and we had to ask for additional topper to be added to the mattresses. To say the room was "tired" might be generous- it could do with redecoration and modernisation but it was clean and well enough equipped.
The breakfast buffet was disappointing and despite efforts didn't really cater for western guests. We found it a bit disconcerting to be joined at our breakfast table by a young chinese girl and her mother, perhaps it was because we had been seated as close to the tv as you could get and she wanted to watch something.
Overall this hotel is fine, just be aware of the beds!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
3.6 mi away
Tang Dynasty West Market Hotel
2.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#37 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
2.7 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#16 of 2,170 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassador International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Garden Hotel

Address: No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#35 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#70 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xian Garden Hotel in Xian, China is located in Yan Yin Road, just 5 minutes off the city center and about 45km from the Xianyang International Airport (SIA). It houses 292 oriental-style guestrooms that are all furnished with modern amenities such as air-conditioning, Internet access, and cable TV. The hotel also offers a number of facilities including three (3) restaurants, a fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool. Hotel services include airline and tour assistance, laundry, and express check-in and checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Xi'an Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.