We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Xi'an Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Xi'an Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of an organised group tour in Beijing, Xian and Shanghai. The hotel is well situated, just across the road from an amazing Mall (Tang Dynasty) which was quite eye opening.
The building is set in beautiful grounds with a small lake (pond) complete with swans, peacocks, ducks etc. Rooms were some distance from main entrance and reception but corridors were clean and reasonably bright. We had wonderedwhy our guide had made mention of the hardness of the beds but soon realised why when we sat on one of them! Rock solid would probably be the best description and we had to ask for additional topper to be added to the mattresses. To say the room was "tired" might be generous- it could do with redecoration and modernisation but it was clean and well enough equipped.
The breakfast buffet was disappointing and despite efforts didn't really cater for western guests. We found it a bit disconcerting to be joined at our breakfast table by a young chinese girl and her mother, perhaps it was because we had been seated as close to the tv as you could get and she wanted to watch something.
Overall this hotel is fine, just be aware of the beds!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    152
    54
    11
    1
See reviews for
19
44
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xi;an, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

this hotel is not ancient ,but in ancient style and it's good location
i like the building style ,like the ancient palace and though the room is a little bit old while the enviroment is reallr good and this hotel close to big wild goose pagoda and tang paradise and neaby the QU JIANG shopping area and easy to find different resturant for meals
and there is one bar street in CI EN XI LU
the hotel offer Chinese breakfast and western breakfast ,Chinese one RMB28/person, western RMB58/person
Japanese Emperor and OLYMPIC TORCH stayed at this hotel before ,what's more ,this hotel rate is cheaper than other common 4 star hotel in Xian
this is what i know for this hotel and my favrioted hotel in Xian
i recommend the friends, who like Chinese Traditional culture and history, this hotel is really a good choice

Room Tip: maybe you cam book one room, from the window can see the big wild goose pagoda and garden ( there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Booked this hotel because my colleagues stayed here last time they were in Xi'an on business. Was a little worried when I read somewhere that although the hotel lobby and grounds were nice, the furnishings in the rooms were rather worn. I was pleasantly surprised, maybe because I got upgraded to a deluxe room. The room on the 3rd floor is quite bit, with a couch and two chairs, a big flat screen tv, and a very comfortable king size bed. I am truly enjoying my room. The only downside is that the light in the bathroom is censored, and while that is quite convenient, the light is just outside of the bathtub, so when you're in the shower for more than 1-2 minutes, the light doesn't sense anything and turns off, so you have to stick your arm outside of the shower curtain to reactivate the light. Not a big deal but something to note.

I haven't checked out any of the services offered at the hotel or the courtyard, but I plan to visit the gym tomorrow for a much needed workout. So far so good. Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPlace, Louisiana
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The grounds here are beautiful with ponds and birds. Tai chi instructor available every morning. Breakfast buffet more asian than western. Our room was very comfortable wth a good view of the central garden. Typical hard bed and flat pillows. Walk to park and Large Wild Goose Pagoda, three shopping malls and the wonderful statue-filled median on the main street and other sites. We spent only two nights here, would like to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Lovely hotel and grounds, with a water garden, reception and bar area beautiful

Rooms a little dated in the bathroom but very clean.

Tai CHI MASTER comes to hotel in the morning and you can join in. Peacocks in the water garden area

Breakfast and meals good selection bot western and chinese . Great place to visit and stay for the Terracotta Army. One night there we went to the water laser show and market and mingled with the locals re dancing..festival there at the time. Tour guide told us about it, a great night out and free

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I really like this hotel. It was in a great location and the common areas (the outside and lobby) were very nice. I didn't have a problem with the room. It perhaps could benefit from a little sprucing up, the carpet is a little shabby, but the bed was comfy and the room and bathroom were clean. They offer free wifi in the room as well, which is a huge plus for me. I hate having to go all the way to the lobby to have to use wifi (I was using the wifi to skype with my baby back home). The staff was all very nice, however, their English was a lot more limited here than in Beijing or in Shanghai. So we both did our best to try and communicate. The staff is all dressed in periodical attire, it was cool. Their brekfast was a little bit more limited, but was fine considering it was free. Location was good and very close to the Wild Goose Pagoda. Also, hotel was very close to a lot of night life and some fast food chains in case you're all Chinese food out. Subway, Dairy Queen, Papa John's and Starbucks were all a stone's throw away. I would stay here again. Drinkks in the bar here were affordable and cheaper then Beijing. Can't complain here. As everyone else has metioned, the garden was very nice and the peacocks were pretty. She had a little flock of baby peacocks with her as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was in the nicer part of Xian, a few minutes walk to the Wild Goose Pagoda and a couple of minutes from a wide selection off restaurants. Stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The Reception, breakfast area and garden lake are lovely, the staff pleasant but the rooms are basic and need a good overhaul. The provision of fire hoods and a torch in the room was certainly novel. Taxis are really cheap as are the buses but in the absence of subway systems like Shanghai and Beijing, taxis are extremely difficult to get. Even the hotel staff have to go onto the street and holler the taxis so leave yourself plenty of time if you're going for a sleeper or to the airport. The hotel has peacocks and were particularly noisy on one of the nights. Have your mandarin phrase book at hand as people who speak English are in even fewer supply than in Beijing or Shanghai. Overall, this hotel is in a good location. Turning left as you come out of the hotel takes you into the nicer parts of Xian and there are some lovely gardens. Turning right, there is some evening entertainment in the square, bullwhipping (no animals involved, Chinese dancing by the women and night market stalls.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Xi'an Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Garden Hotel

Address: No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#18 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#56 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Garden Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xian Garden Hotel in Xian, China is located in Yan Yin Road, just 5 minutes off the city center and about 45km from the Xianyang International Airport (SIA). It houses 292 oriental-style guestrooms that are all furnished with modern amenities such as air-conditioning, Internet access, and cable TV. The hotel also offers a number of facilities including three (3) restaurants, a fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool. Hotel services include airline and tour assistance, laundry, and express check-in and checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Xi'an Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.