We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Risky” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Titan Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Xian Titan Times Hotel to your Saves list
Xian Titan Times Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.360 Huancheng West Road North, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710082, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 2,166 Hotels in Xi'an
Toronto, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Risky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay at this Titan Times Hotel in Xi'an, China.

We were part of a tour group that stayed at this hotel for two nights ( November 21 and 22, 2013).

On the morning of Nov. 23, 2013 at check out, housekeeping and other hotel staff assessed rooms (customers and tour guide were not present as witnesses; plus no list supplied for check-in and check-out identifying all hotel room items). 

 As a result, a number of us in our tour group fell victim to a scam and were set up by hotel staff. It turns out that housekeeping/other hotel staff staged rooms by placing broken items or switching/removing good condition items from our rooms. (i.e They placed broken mirrors, cups etc...-- we know this because we were asked by reception staff and tour guide to accompany them to the rooms after to check it--- only to find things very different, items that we never used were now broken).  Hotel staff therefore  made  many accusations of group members which were obviously false claims.  Trying to defend ourselves we were then threatened by reception that they will get police involvement if we did not quickly pay up front.  It was their word against ours and they knew we did not have the evidence to back us up ( unless we already took pictures of proof for every single little detail in our rooms).  In the end, we decided it was not worth the hassle of getting involved in their country's legal system. Not being fluent in their language, we would not understand them anyway, and would only lead to more trouble.  Trying to further defend ourselves would be a waste of our time, money, and we would miss our flight and the rest of our vacation in China.  

Reluctantly,  group members ended up paying large amounts of RMB money for items we never used, touched, and some items we didn't  even know were suppose to be in the rooms.

This is definitely  a dangerous and scary scam. If hotel staff are capable of pulling this off and getting away with highway robbery, what more can they frame you for?!

This horrible experience is being shared in hopes of bringing this scam to the attention of all tourists. If Titan Times Hotel wants to attract more tourists, they should re-think what they are doing and not treat their guests this way. We hope other tourists will learn from this and/or come forward with similar experiences and tips.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    158
    55
    12
    6
See reviews for
48
118
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Tour East group party of 41 people encountered on check out a shakedown. One person was required for bottled water that they did not use from the mini bar, another charged for a chipped cup and a third charged for a cracked mirror. Be aware if you use this hotel keep evidence of your room condition on arrival. Otherwise avoid this fraudulent activity.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Best things: enourmous rooms, with a living room well furnished and comfortable. Tv in the living room and in the bedroom. Bathroom with both shower and bathtub. Worst things:location (outside the city centre), an horrible smell of fuel on our floor for the entire stay, the bathroom wasn' t cleaned up very well.the wifi didn't work well. I wasn't very impressed with this hotel..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel is next to city's ancient wall. So it's just 5 minutes to the downtown.
The room was quite big. There is a kettle, free wired internet but no Wi-Fi in the room. Wi-Fi is only in the lobby. And it's as well free. Staff's English is very poor. My room was in building "B" and it was a little uncomfortable to get there from the reception as they are in separate buildings. Therefore the rooms in building "B" are cheaper. All my 3 days I spent there the city was under smog. Maybe that's why the towels were grey.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building must be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here with a group for two nights. The room and washroom were clean. We would recommend this hotel. The room as large and overlooked the city. They have a nice breakfast. The A/C did not work well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of a long holiday in China. Check in was quick, and we were surprised to find we had a whole suite, not just a room. It was huge, and very nicely decorated. The only drawback was that there didn't seem to be any rules about smoking, and there was a slight stale cigarette smell . A couple of times when we got in the elevator, there was someone smoking in it, which we found very unpleasant.

The breakfast buffet is one of the biggest I have ever seen, and the food is nicely presented. There seemed to be something for everyone, with both Chinese and Western foods.

The location was a little bit outside the central city, and was not so nice for walking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Titan Times which turned out to be a good hotel with excellent rooms and views of the city wall but the crazy traffic makes it difficult to get out from there. It is less suited to those who want to wander through the city therefore and you need to take a taxi for the otherwise walkable trip to the inside of the walls. We did try to find a restaurant locally to the hotel and outside the city walls but it was not possible. The good news though is that the hotel itself does have an excellent and reasonably priced speciality Chinese restaurant as well as the buffet restaurant. The bar does start to close up at 11-ish so don't expect a long evening there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Xian Titan Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Titan Times Hotel

Address: No.360 Huancheng West Road North, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#17 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#46 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Titan Times Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xian Titan Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xian Titan Times
Xian Titan Times Hotel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xian Titan Times Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.