We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but an exceptional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Xi'an
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 West Section of Ouya Avenue, Chanba Ecological Development Zone, Xi'an 710021, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 1,989 hotels in Xi'an
Canberra
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Out of the way but an exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights with family and friends on a guided tour.
The hotel is stunning and the rooms were excellent; large rooms, comfortable beds.

The hotel is remote from any local services so be prepared to pay resort prices for all supplies.

Our tour guide was good enough to call into a local Convenience store to allow us to pick up some local Tsingtao beer at 4 RMB per can to supplement the expensive (35 RMB) hotel min-bar supplies. Otherwise you'll be taking a cab to get replenishments.

Oh.... and if you're expecting a working fridge in the room... forget it. Fridges in China, with some minor exceptions appear to be storage containers. The Chinese drink their liquids, including water, beer and soda warm. In some bars you can get cold glasses and even cold bottled beer. I didn't find this to be the case in the room fridges.

Room Tip: The rooms are very HOT for me. Our first room was 27 degrees Celsius and this was with an outside te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    90
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
7
9
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I found the service at this hotel excellent and above and beyond what was required. We had an executive room which was very roomy and clean and comfortable. The bathroom the same. There was a fair choice of restaurants and the food of a good standard. The location is accessible to the airport and the terracotta warriors, but a distance from the city centre, although it is fun using the underground to the nearest station and then a taxi. All taxis are reluctant to come this far out and so you need to pay more than the meter price. We paid 50 RMB which is about 3 times the meter rate but only £5 UK , so not that bad. When negotiating the underground everyone was very tolerant and more than helpful. The concierge was very helpful and willing. To make this work you just need to be a bit more flexible.

Room Tip: This is a very nice hotel and the rooms with river view are good especially the executive rooms whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is too far from the centre to be a viable location to visit the city. If you are "fortunate" to be ugraded to a river view room, you will also be seranaded late into the evening by the live band at the riverside barbecue, which is mediocre at best. The concierge arranged a guided trip to the terracotta warriors but (not the hotel's fault) there was a cycle race on the booked morning and I had a two mile walk to meet the car.
When I booked a taxi to the airport, the concierge set me up with one of his mates at three times the proper fare. I was suffering from food poisoning at rhe time (again not the hotel's fault -I think) and didn't catch on until it was too late. Be careful, you have been warned!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is on the newer side and is stunning to drive up to. The staff was incredibly hospitable and helpful. Most of us on the trip loved that we had Wi-Fi in the lobby and could answer e-mails while we were waiting for everyone, rather than be subject to paying international calling plan fees.

The grounds were beautiful and we all went for walks while we stayed here. The breakfast was a-mazing. It was hard to pick what to eat because there were so many choices. You couldn't go wrong with anything you picked and I wished all of our breakfasts had been like this one.

The room smelled of stale cigarettes and had a musty quality, which I thought was strange for such a new hotel. I couldn't stand the cigarette smell - we were in a non-smoking room. Everyone else we traveled with had a similar experience in their room. The shower glass door didn't close all the way, so, no matter how we tried, water leaked all over the bathroom floor. Plus, there were so many light swtiches in this room. It was like a light show in the room trying to figure out which light to turn on (and I'm faily tech saavy and in my early 30s). These lights were a pain to figure out, especially if you got up in the middle of the night or were trying to figure them out after a tiring day. The descriptions on the lights weren't explanatory, but that seemed to be everywhere we stayed in China.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous time. Hated to leave the beautiful river view room. Great indoor pool, sauna and health club as well as great restaraunts. Like most Kempinski properties it is in a scenic spot and the hotel and conference center are modern marvels of architectural design.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Kempinski is a newish business/convention hotel with fantastic service, but a little remote from the old city for tourist guests. If all you are doing in Xi'an is visiting the Terra Cotta Warrors, this is a great hotel because the remoteness of the location is not a detraction. If you plan to take in the old city and temples and great Muslim Market streets, this hotel is a good hour taxi ride away, sometimes longer in traffic. The concierge desk was very helpful, ask for Lincoln if you want the best English translation. The staff here goes out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel as it was close to the Terracotta warriors museum. We took a metered cab from the airport which was 171 RMB. Most of the cab driver wanted a flat fee of 200 RMB. The hotel is located where either the development had stopped or is lagging far behind what was originally planned as it seems to be in the middle of nowhere. We wanted to go see the Muslim quarter. It took us an hour to wait for a taxi that the concierge had called for us. Returning from the Muslim quarter caused some grief as we were refused by a few taxi drivers. We ended up taking a taxi for 100 RMB, twice the price to get there. There seems to be a dearth of taxis as even locals were getting turned down. The hotel is 5 star. My friend ended up changing rooms because his room was too hot. I set my temp to 23C but it never got below 25C. The meals we had there were very good.
The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us to the Terracotta Warriors and the taxi driver arranged for a tour guide. Her English was perfect. She had 10 years experience in leading tours and knew her stuff. Her cost was 150 RMB from 9AM until 2PM. She arranged for us to have a traditional lunch which was very good. The taxi driver cost 350 RMB to take us there, wait and return us to the hotel. I thought this was very reasonable to have a guaranteed ride to the hotel.
If you're only in Xi'an for a short stay, this hotel is very good place to stay. The staff speaks very good English and were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kempinski Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.6 West Section of Ouya Avenue, Chanba Ecological Development Zone, Xi'an 710021, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#74 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Xi'an 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.