We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texans in Xi'an” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Xi'an

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Xi'an
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 West Section of Ouya Avenue, Chanba Ecological Development Zone, Xi'an 710021, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 2,024 hotels in Xi'an
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Texans in Xi'an”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Kempinski is a newish business/convention hotel with fantastic service, but a little remote from the old city for tourist guests. If all you are doing in Xi'an is visiting the Terra Cotta Warrors, this is a great hotel because the remoteness of the location is not a detraction. If you plan to take in the old city and temples and great Muslim Market streets, this hotel is a good hour taxi ride away, sometimes longer in traffic. The concierge desk was very helpful, ask for Lincoln if you want the best English translation. The staff here goes out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    90
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
7
9
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel as it was close to the Terracotta warriors museum. We took a metered cab from the airport which was 171 RMB. Most of the cab driver wanted a flat fee of 200 RMB. The hotel is located where either the development had stopped or is lagging far behind what was originally planned as it seems to be in the middle of nowhere. We wanted to go see the Muslim quarter. It took us an hour to wait for a taxi that the concierge had called for us. Returning from the Muslim quarter caused some grief as we were refused by a few taxi drivers. We ended up taking a taxi for 100 RMB, twice the price to get there. There seems to be a dearth of taxis as even locals were getting turned down. The hotel is 5 star. My friend ended up changing rooms because his room was too hot. I set my temp to 23C but it never got below 25C. The meals we had there were very good.
The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us to the Terracotta Warriors and the taxi driver arranged for a tour guide. Her English was perfect. She had 10 years experience in leading tours and knew her stuff. Her cost was 150 RMB from 9AM until 2PM. She arranged for us to have a traditional lunch which was very good. The taxi driver cost 350 RMB to take us there, wait and return us to the hotel. I thought this was very reasonable to have a guaranteed ride to the hotel.
If you're only in Xi'an for a short stay, this hotel is very good place to stay. The staff speaks very good English and were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a tour group and just for two nights. The only meal I had there was breakfast which was standard fare and just fine.
The hotel is stunning.....very large and quite unique with a beautiful lobby. It does seem to be off the beaten track so do not stay here if you want to go walking to shops or to restaurants.
The rooms are arranged in wings and the walk along the corridor can be long and the corridor was not well lit. The rooms themselves....again perfectly adequate in terms of amenities and quite nicely decorated.
There are two great gift shops on the lower level.
As well, the pool area is inviting but hard to find so be sure to ask directions. The lower level is a bit of a maze with conference rooms etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Hotel is 40 mins outside the city and it cost 50-60 RMB with taxi, therefore this not a good choice if you want see a lot of attractions downtown. It is difficult to get a taxi, because no taxis want to drive that far and empty back to the city. The italian restaurant is acceptable, I had a cibatta with was ok, but the pasta carbonara was tasteless. I liked the architecture of the building and the atmosphere inside. The room is big and had everthing you need, except T-shirts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel located in an isolated area, about 30 mins away from Xian city.
Useful for visit to the Terracotta museum as city traffic can be a nightmare.
Rooms are spacious, clean and modern.
Most hotels in China do not switch on the aircond from Oct onwards due to cold weather but luckily the 5 star hotels like Kempinski continue to allow guests this option.
Breakfast was great with plenty of varieties from international buffet to local dishes.
There were evidences of mosquitoes but not serious.
Use this hotel if visiting the Terracotta museum.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Kempinski-Xi'an has one massive problem that it can't fix. It's sitting right next to a huge man-made lake that is stagnant. This said lake is a gigantic mosquito factory in summer. When I first went to Kempinski-Xi'an about three years ago, I was swarmed by mosquitos in the bar, lobby and elevators. Their answer to the threat? They now pump in large volumes of mosquito repelent into the entire hotel that smells of some sickly, over-sweet perfume. I was planning on holding a large business event there but was sickened by the perfume smell. When I questioned employees about the odor, they shrugged their shoulders and said that I'd get used to it. No one should have to get get used to anything when they are paying top dollar. Too bad. It's a pretty nice place and only a couple of years old. If you want nice, stay in the NEW Shangrila.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I made a quick trip to Xi'an to see the Terra Cotta Warriors and thought the Kempinski would be a perfect stay. Having stayed in China for most of the summer I know that my expectations need to be lower than staying at other high tier hotels in Europe and the States.

PRO's
Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, good A/C, great Paulaner Brew restaurant downstairs.

CON's
No hot water in the shower this morning. When I complained I got an "oh well" type of excuse. Give me a break, if 2 star hotels can regularly have hot water out in China, Kempinski has no excuse.
Today I asked to make an arrangement for a taxi to go to the airport and the staff here told me that getting a taxi would be difficult and that I should take either the buick(3 times the price of a cab) or a BMW (6 times the price of a cab)!!!! Plllleeeeeaasssseee. You can't find me a taxi in all of Xi'an to take me to the airport? I finally bothered enough people that a taxi was arranged for me.

I just wanted to come for a couple days get my rest, see the sights, and move to the next phase of my trip. What a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kempinski Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.6 West Section of Ouya Avenue, Chanba Ecological Development Zone, Xi'an 710021, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#75 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Xi'an 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;