We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Happy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Xi'an

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Xi'an
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 West Section of Ouya Avenue, Chanba Ecological Development Zone, Xi'an 710021, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
¥1,672 off room rate
Ranked #24 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not Happy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I made a quick trip to Xi'an to see the Terra Cotta Warriors and thought the Kempinski would be a perfect stay. Having stayed in China for most of the summer I know that my expectations need to be lower than staying at other high tier hotels in Europe and the States.

PRO's
Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, good A/C, great Paulaner Brew restaurant downstairs.

CON's
No hot water in the shower this morning. When I complained I got an "oh well" type of excuse. Give me a break, if 2 star hotels can regularly have hot water out in China, Kempinski has no excuse.
Today I asked to make an arrangement for a taxi to go to the airport and the staff here told me that getting a taxi would be difficult and that I should take either the buick(3 times the price of a cab) or a BMW (6 times the price of a cab)!!!! Plllleeeeeaasssseee. You can't find me a taxi in all of Xi'an to take me to the airport? I finally bothered enough people that a taxi was arranged for me.

I just wanted to come for a couple days get my rest, see the sights, and move to the next phase of my trip. What a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    93
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
8
13
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I an doing business in the Chanba region of Xi'an so the Kempinski is perfectly situated for me. I have stayed at the Kempinski at least 8 times over the past two years. The hotel is rather remote from Downtown (a minimum 30 minute drive and usually longer with Xi'an's horrible traffic) so if you are there to visit the city, the Kempinski is not the right choice.

The Kempinski is the closet high end hotel to the Terracotta Warriors easily cutting the drive by half when compared to hotels in downtown.

The hotel has a huge conference center and is excellent for conferences.

The staff is very friendly and professional.

The hotel can feel a bit sterile (still can't believe they have not added more plants which would quickly and easily add warmth the hotel interiors. The Rooms are large with half the rooms having a good view of the Ba River. However the furnishings can be rather sparse in the larger king rooms. Please bring in more comfortable sitting chairs Kempinski! The bathrooms are large with nice showers. One complaint about the bathrooms is that the lighting above the sinks is quite dim.

Nice grounds outside during the spring and summer. They have an indoor pool that is also nice.

There are three restaurants, a Chinese Restaurant, a Western Restaurant and a Pauliner Brew Haus. The food and service is excellent in all venues. I especially enjoy the Brew Haus. The Pauliner Beer is excellent. The hotel also has a lobby lounge with great views.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We visited this hotel for one night as part of a Viking River cruise, prior to visiting the Terracotta Warriors the following day. To say it has no kerb appeal would be to flatter the establishment. It is a dreary building in a distinctly drab area. The dreadful pall of smog over the surrounding area also did the place no favours. We and a number of fellow guests had to change rooms as the air conditioning had failed on our original floor. The heating, on the other hand, was on full blast and it was impossible to turn it down. We didn't fancy opening the windows as the air pollution was visible. The new room was OK - if soulless. Breakfast was fine. We would not return to this hotel, which was way below the standard of the others on the tour.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

wonderful hotel and fantastic breakfast. lovely place to stay in xi'an.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Visited hotel during a Viking River Cruise/Tour. Primary purpose was to visit Terracotta Soldiers and hotel is closer to site than downtown hotels. Hotel and rooms are huge and lack adequate furniture and decorations, but has most of the menities you need -- hotel is not warm or inviting. Room was clean and warm, but cavernous. The buffet breakfast was excellent.
Nota hotel that we want to go back to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Recently stayed one night.

Hotel very sterile feeling. No character. Part of Viking River Cruise tour. Don't stay on a rainy day/night. Several people including us had severe water seepage around windows. Carpet wet three feet into the room. A lot of people changed rooms and we could have also. We did not. Rooms very large and we could live three feet away from the windows for one night.

Nothing to see anyway. Hotel pretty remote location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois and Naples, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent one night here as part of a Viking cruise/land tour. The horel is new and somewhat out of the center of town, but it is set in a beautiful park-like stting. The rooms are enormous including the bathrooms. The amenities are all very upscale and the service is exactly what you would expect. The dining room buffet is excellent in quality as well as quantity. One caution - if you are in the city and taking a cab, be sure the driver knows where he is going - some apparently don't.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.6 West Section of Ouya Avenue, Chanba Ecological Development Zone, Xi'an 710021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#70 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Xi'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Xi’an reflects the modernity and tradition of contemporary China, set in the ancient capital, home to dynasties and their treasures. Within easy reach of the airport and it is 40 mins to the Terracotta Warriors in 38 km by car, our luxurious rooms and first-class meeting facilities are elegantly designed and topped with a peaceful view of the majestic Ba River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.