We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Xi'an

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Xi'an to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Xi'an
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.6 West Section of Ouya Avenue, Chanba Ecological Development Zone, Xi'an 710021, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
¥1,672 off room rate
Ranked #25 of 2,158 Hotels in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 196 Reviews
Chicago, Illinois and Naples, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Elegant luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent one night here as part of a Viking cruise/land tour. The horel is new and somewhat out of the center of town, but it is set in a beautiful park-like stting. The rooms are enormous including the bathrooms. The amenities are all very upscale and the service is exactly what you would expect. The dining room buffet is excellent in quality as well as quantity. One caution - if you are in the city and taking a cab, be sure the driver knows where he is going - some apparently don't.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    93
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
8
13
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago and Naples FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Altho' this hotel is out a ways from the city, it is magnificent. The guest facilities are huge and very well furnished. The staff is gracious and the food in the restaurant is excellent. We did have some friends who left the hotel and the their cab had trouble finding the hotel on the way back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Lovely rooms and good first class facilities but the Hotel is really best described as a business use Hotel with large conference area - located well out of city but not a bad location to avoid the terrible city traffic if you want to see are the Terracotta Soldiers site.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I will not elaborate on the fact that it is poorly located. The rooms and furnishing sare worn. The room I was originally assigned to stunk chemical cleaning and precipitated an asthma attack. In fairness, my complaint was dealt with and I was moved to a bigger and non smelling room.
We noted that the rooms come equipped with gas masks(??). We have pictures to prove it.
The breakfast was very. good

Room Tip: . make sure you check the room first before settling in. Rooms facing the river are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We went with a view to visiting the Terracotta warriors. On arrival two things stand out. 1. It's absolutely miles from anywhere 2. Why is it there in the first place? Granted, like so much of China, there are great plans afoot to build from the city out to the Hotel/Conference Centre and its existence will certainly make sense then, but at the moment you have to ask how it can survive until then. No evidence of conferencing of any sort while we were there and the hotel was clearly nowhere near full occupancy - so if this is typical it begs the question as to what funds it. Our party felt it had the atmosphere of a mafia-like build - lots of money thrown at something when the real purpose was rather different, but this is only supposition.

The reception staff were efficient and could speak fair English. No problem exchanging Euros to Yuan or getting smaller bills in local currency. The entrance is grand, the downstairs bar very nice and the view over the river will be wonderful once some vegetation grows.

The rooms were spacious but poorly constructed. In our room the shower head had not been attached to the wall, in another room the fire alarm did not appear to be connected to the main system although the wires were in place to do so. In a thrid room further shower plumbing issues were present.

We did not eat in the hotel other thasn breakfast which appeared to be being supervised by a European staff member. I would have thought that breakfast time was not the best time to be giving your staff their morning briefing. particularly when the guests are trying to get their food! It felt like the soft opening for a new hotel, although has been around for a year or two now.

All this sounds a but bleak, but actually, above criticisms aaside, it was a perfectly serviceable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed at this hotel as I have had good experiences at other Kempinski hotels but I was sorely vexed by this one. Problems began almost at once:

1. Many taxi drivers at the airport would not go there as it was too far away from the city center and they would not get a return fare
2. You are a prisoner to their services - there are no shops or restaurants in the area (or anywhere nearby) and no taxis
3. Overpriced amenities - I printed 30 pages of A4 for a meeting and was charged a staggering £40 for the privilege - they would not even let me print double sided. - when I complained to the general manager by written message, with my business card he did not lower himself to respond to me (as at the time of writing)
4. No facilities to change travellers cheques
5. Nearly 40 minutes drive to the city centre

Now the good points:

1. Friendly staff were helpful when they could be
2. Late check out was no problem (although I was called twice by the desk at check out time to see if I was checking out)
3. Food in both the general buffet restaurant and the Paulaner Brauhaus was good.

erm.... the rooms were pretty standard for any good hotel but I and colleagues found the décor to be a bit masculine with lots of straight lines ...very Teutonic, which is of course what one would expect.

Overall however I found the experience to be disappointing and this is bad news for the Kempinski as there are a number of good hotel much closer to the city center - such as the Shangri-La..which will get my custom if future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

I joined a tour to Xi'an and had stayed in this hotel twice in this trip in April. This hotel was quite new and the room was clean and spacious, but needed a lot of maintenance work. The first room I stayed in had a broken security chain lock, a broken shower head with very weak water pressure. The second room I stayed in had a broken shower door hinge so the glass door couldn’t be locked properly and water leaked everywhere.

For a 5-star hotel the breakfast buffet was just average with very few choices and tasteless fruit juices, nothing to talk about. One good think about this hotel was that the windows can be opened so you can get some fresh air into the room, since the air-con was not working when the temperature is below 25C.

The location was also a big concern. It was far away from the city, about 45 minutes drive (or RMB$100 by taxi) and there was nothing in the neighborhood, just farm land (and you could smell the cow in the morning) that will be converted to a golf course in a few years time. For this kind of quality, there are lot of choices in the city of Xi’an that can be closer to shops and restaurants. Heard that the Xi’an civic center and the government buildings will be moved to this neighborhood in 2 years time, hope this hotel can still be a 5-star hotel by then !!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Xi'an

Address: No.6 West Section of Ouya Avenue, Chanba Ecological Development Zone, Xi'an 710021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#17 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#73 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Xi'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Xi’an reflects the modernity and tradition of contemporary China, set in the ancient capital, home to dynasties and their treasures. Within easy reach of the airport and it is 40 mins to the Terracotta Warriors in 38 km by car, our luxurious rooms and first-class meeting facilities are elegantly designed and topped with a peaceful view of the majestic Ba River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Xi'an, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.