We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location BUT stale smell, carpet stains and all else leaves a lot to be desired.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street

Save Saved
You added Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street
No.10 Jixian Alley, Nanxin Steet, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 104 Xi'an B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location BUT stale smell, carpet stains and all else leaves a lot to be desired.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

You want a room to be somewhere you seek refuge after a day of business or discovery. Here we wanted to prolong our day activities and evening meal so we didn't have to return to the Guan Zhong Hotel until we really had to. Well located admittedly, near the city walls and Muslim quarter (and actually an excellent Chinese restaurant next door and a western style bakery just around the corner with decent coffee).
However, this really was the only selling point. Even our Chinese guide had told us that the people at the front desk were unhelpful and then when we got to our room the real fun started. We'd evidently been booked into a suite room, full of a gambling table and various bizarre items such as sex oil, ladies and gentleman's underwear available to purchase in the room. However the most overpowering memory was the stale smoke and extremely dirty carpet. There was cigarette ash that the maid had left by the bedside and the bathroom was highlighted by the sink leaking. We told the reception staff about this and then, when we returned 5 hours later, this hadn't been sorted and neither had the cigarette ash been cleaned. By this time though it was very late and thankfully we departed, after a night in a hard bed (though this is the case in most Chinese hotels), the next morning. Not a pleasant experience and I'm a seasoned traveller used to slumming it at times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    34
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
donegaltripper
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Came on overnight sleeper from Beijing,we were early but rooms were ready,clean. Great for a 2 night stay.

Location near coffee shops and short walk to Muslim quarter,bell and drum tower.

Functional place to stay with wifi in lobby,Safe area and good as a touring base,not suitable for longer stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortisei, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The place is amazing. The ambience was superb and the room was gorgeous. The staff there were so gracious and welcoming, knew our names from the first moment. Overall, this is a great place to go for relaxing. Amazing staff, great stuff to do during the day. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is well located for tour groups (many of them here), very central and walking distance to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Muslim market area. Apart from that, the hotel has very little to appeal. Rooms and bathrooms are small and tired, carpets are stained (particularly bad in our room) and the front desk staff mainly disinterested. The hotel does appear to be reasonably clean but there is a seedy feel to the whole place. We were amused to find condoms, sex oil and disposable underware on sale as part of the minibar offerings.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel was part of a tour group. We had just arrived at the Xi'an airport and had no idea that the airport was pretty far from the city. So by the time we arrived, we were pretty tired. The hotel is located on a small dark street. The lobby seemed nice but the workers were not interested in any of us. Luckily we had a guide to do all the talking for us.

The room was fairly small. The carpet had quite a number of stains. This was the first time we've had one of those bathrooms where the shower is just behind a curtain, but there's no tub so water gets all over the floor, so you do have to be careful. There is a price tag on almost everything. We only used the bottled water, but nothing else. There is a shampoo and conditioner dispenser in the shower which costs 2 yuan per squirt. Also, the door was frosted glass that did not lock. By the time we were settled it was past midnight. We had an early call so it was time to sleep on the very, very firm beds.

There was an AC unit in the room which worked fine, and there's not much of a view. The next morning, around 6, I ventured out to find some coffee, and there wasn't anything close by. In fact, there wasn't anything open. So though this hotel appears to be centrally located, I think the tour could of chosen a better situated hotel. It was only for one night, which we were happy about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We spent a night in this hotel as part of our tour of Xi'an. The hotel was conveniently located, within walking distance of the main thoroughfare, but a distance from the train station. It is not a very large hotel, dark and tired, but at least they have tried to modernize the rooms as much as possible. The bathrooms have been renovated, to make it more "spa-like" and are cleaner than what one might find in a typical 3-star hotel in China. They have showers only, but they are better than average for China. What makes this hotel a bit dodgy is that there seems to be a escort service (masquarading as a spa service) on the second floor which we were advised by our tour guide to avoid and may offend some.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Nothing really wrong with this hotel, but nothing great either. Located in a rather narrow and smelly alley, but well located nevertheless, walking distance to shops, food, ATMs, etc, and a short walk to the Bell Tower. Some of the towels and bedsheets were ripped, but reasonably clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street

Address: No.10 Jixian Alley, Nanxin Steet, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao and Agoda so you can book your Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'An Nanxin Street China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.