We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting minibar...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street

Save Saved
You added Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street
No.10 Jixian Alley, Nanxin Steet, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 104 Xi'an B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Interesting minibar...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is well located for tour groups (many of them here), very central and walking distance to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Muslim market area. Apart from that, the hotel has very little to appeal. Rooms and bathrooms are small and tired, carpets are stained (particularly bad in our room) and the front desk staff mainly disinterested. The hotel does appear to be reasonably clean but there is a seedy feel to the whole place. We were amused to find condoms, sex oil and disposable underware on sale as part of the minibar offerings.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    34
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel was part of a tour group. We had just arrived at the Xi'an airport and had no idea that the airport was pretty far from the city. So by the time we arrived, we were pretty tired. The hotel is located on a small dark street. The lobby seemed nice but the workers were not interested in any of us. Luckily we had a guide to do all the talking for us.

The room was fairly small. The carpet had quite a number of stains. This was the first time we've had one of those bathrooms where the shower is just behind a curtain, but there's no tub so water gets all over the floor, so you do have to be careful. There is a price tag on almost everything. We only used the bottled water, but nothing else. There is a shampoo and conditioner dispenser in the shower which costs 2 yuan per squirt. Also, the door was frosted glass that did not lock. By the time we were settled it was past midnight. We had an early call so it was time to sleep on the very, very firm beds.

There was an AC unit in the room which worked fine, and there's not much of a view. The next morning, around 6, I ventured out to find some coffee, and there wasn't anything close by. In fact, there wasn't anything open. So though this hotel appears to be centrally located, I think the tour could of chosen a better situated hotel. It was only for one night, which we were happy about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We spent a night in this hotel as part of our tour of Xi'an. The hotel was conveniently located, within walking distance of the main thoroughfare, but a distance from the train station. It is not a very large hotel, dark and tired, but at least they have tried to modernize the rooms as much as possible. The bathrooms have been renovated, to make it more "spa-like" and are cleaner than what one might find in a typical 3-star hotel in China. They have showers only, but they are better than average for China. What makes this hotel a bit dodgy is that there seems to be a escort service (masquarading as a spa service) on the second floor which we were advised by our tour guide to avoid and may offend some.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Nothing really wrong with this hotel, but nothing great either. Located in a rather narrow and smelly alley, but well located nevertheless, walking distance to shops, food, ATMs, etc, and a short walk to the Bell Tower. Some of the towels and bedsheets were ripped, but reasonably clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Plus: Good location

Minuses: Cramped rooms, shower is not separated from bathroom so bathroom floor is always wet. Mgt. lacks English skills and tries to charge for things you didn't use. Mysterious phone calls to the room late at night and early in the morning. Judging by the demimondaines in the halls and the stuff in the minibar, an adult-themed hotel.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

stayed 1 night as part of a tour. rooms were cold & the hotel couldn't turn on the heating as it stops in march. extra blankets were given out but as there had been snow & rain for days the whole place was cold. the staff did try but it was hopeless for a good nights sleep. clean & good location. safe area & shopping nearby for cakes , water etc good. plenty of choice.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street

Address: No.10 Jixian Alley, Nanxin Steet, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao and Agoda so you can book your Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'An Nanxin Street China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guan Zhong Hotel Xi'an Nanxin Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.