We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for low budget travellers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canaan Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ctrip.com Asiatravel.com
Canaan Hotel
No.4 Red Cross Alley, Shangde Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710001, China (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 1,849 hotels in Xi'an
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for low budget travellers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came here for the weekend and had a bit of a difficult time finding it, however the rooms were huge and we paid $15/night! Once we found our way it was easy enough to get around by foot, bus or subway.

The only major downfall was the lack of water pressure in the bathroom. It's not the most amazing hotel but incredible for the value.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    29
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in April for 6 nights. It is about 30 mins from the airport and there was a bit of confusion as there are 2 Canaan hotels in Xian so make sure the driver knows which one you are going to! Once we arrived check in was easy and we were shown to our room. Although the air conditioning was broken and the room was slightly hot, after a shower it was OK to sleep. The staff helped us a lot with buying train tickets for different places - we went to Huashan mountain by ourselves and then onto Chengdu once we left Xian. Although the staff spoke no English we were able to use the computer to communicate and they wrote what we needed in Chinese. We decided to not go with the hotel to visit the mountain as we thought the price looked high at 490 CNY per person (the board in reception is out of date with prices so check with staff). But after visiting the mountain ourselves by train, the tour does not seem so expensive . If you decide to do tours with the hotel check what is included - with the mountain, you have to pay cable car, bus tickets, entrance tickets all separately and the reception board just states entrance. There is a small shop opposite the hotel where I would recommend you buy all of your drinks and snacks from - The owner was very friendly and always charged us Chinese prices for the things we needed. Hotel has good location for the Drum and Bell Tower, and also the Muslim quarter is about a 20 - 30 minute walk. The only downside is that the beds are slightly hard!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Staff are great, don't speak much English but were helpful with the use of google translate. Wrote down what we needed for train tickets in Chinese and always made a effort to talk and communicate. Little shop directly outside hotel has a great owner called Wangjing. Does not speak much English but try's hard. Never ripped us off and always got Chinese price for drinks and anything else we needed. The location is great can walk to drum tower easily. Would recommend to anyone on a budget. Beds are hard but this is the Chinese standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The staff are the best specially a girl called "Joy". we couldn't enjoy more our stay in Xi'an without her help. She provided us a guide scripted in English and easy to understand the bus lines to get around the city and the city's attractions. Even when she is away from the hotel, she gave us her cell-phone number in case we need help.
The room service is awesome. Some staff do not know English but they were really trying to help.
If you need local traditional restaurant, just walk behind the hotels alley
I highly recommend this hotel, make sure if you need help ask for Joy, she is the best.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

A few days ago while in Xi'an I stayed at the Canaan Hotel as I stayed there last year and knew it to be a nice hotel.The room was sparkling clean,and to my surprise had a beautiful balcony
The staff were very polite and friendly and made me feel welcome.Apart from a minor problem with bed bugs,I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Xi'an and will definitely stay there again.

Andrew

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaan Hotel

Also Known As:
Canaan Hotel China/Shaanxi
Address: No.4 Red Cross Alley, Shangde Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710001, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Downtown , Xincheng District
Hotel Style:
#140 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip DaoDao and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Canaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Canaan Hotel to your Saves list