We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No.16 Xiangzimiao Street, Xi'an, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stumbled upon this hostel by mistake, and are glad that we did. We had a hard time finding availability in double rooms around Xi'an on that particular night, and were walking around when we happened to spot this place.

The hostel is in a beautiful building, with warm lighting and gorgeous Chinese style decoration. The bar, lobby and restaurant all look very clean, with comfortable and private seating. We didn't ever eat at the hostel, as we had heard that if is quite expensive.

Most of the staff members speak English quite well, and were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Our room was a tad on the cramped side, but none-the-less it was attractive and warm. The colours in the room were a nice change from the blank hostels we've stayed in before. The beds and pillows were soooooo comfortable, which was a first since we'd arrived in China. The bathroom was a bit old and run down, but in spite of this, it was as clean as it could be, and the hot water was reliable. The windows let in quite a bit of noise though, so be prepared to listen to a bit of horn honking, vendor squawking, and dog barking.

The hostel is in a good location - within easy walking distance to the city wall south gate, shopping centres, street food markets, etc.

Overall, I'd stay here again, and we were sad to say goodbye to our little room.

Room Tip: Try and nab a room that faces the back of the hostel. While in a quieter area, the street in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    125
    36
    12
    12
See reviews for
17
44
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel for 3 nights, if you coming by train then send a mail or phone to the hostel they will pick you up in the railway station. There is a warm welcome when you get there, there is restaurant and bar in the hostel, never try the food it is fun to look around and choose where you wanted to go. The room are clean, the shower is so good so hot like a sauna, there is tea for free and there is a wash machine available on the floor. Four computers available for free and WiFi as well.it is a great place to go , situated in the old city near the city wall.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This sizeable hostel somehow manages to conjure the charm usually reserved for much smaller places.

It's well located, less than a ten minute walk to the airport shuttle bus stop. It's about 5 minutes from the excellent market in the Muslim quarter. They run Terracotta Army and Three Gorges tours, though I didn't do anything through the hostel.

As you go in, there is a bar with a good atmosphere and a decent pool table, which is a hang out for young local people wanting to improve their English. It serves excellent (if pricey) white beer, as well as cheaper local beers.Then you go through to the restaurant, which served good mains, though breakfast wasn't quite as good.

A lot of money and effort must have gone into setting it all up. The communal areas have a fair few full size Terracotta warriors standing around, and the place has quite a grand feel to it. The room was less spectacular, but functional. The bed was firm but comfy and the shower was excellent. The heating seemed to be on all day so we slept with the windows open even though it was nearly freezing outside.

The staff were friendly and spoke good English. There is a small dvd and board game area, though it's lacking in dvds, and the restaurant and the bar are the main place for socialising,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here for four nights in late November. Good facilities for what you pay (45Rmb for a dorm room) and good helpful staff. Room cleaned daily. Good wifi in the bar and first floor area only. Good book exchange and cool events on for guests (like dumplings cooking class on Friday nights). Crap bathroom, but I haven't had a nice one in china yet!

Easy loctation by the south gate, and free secure luggage storage. The tours are typically expensive so I'd recommend doing them yourself, but i'd have no hesitation in recommending the hostel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

First of all, i just want to say I am 26 and i am one of those who wants to believe that a hostel isn't necessarily a dirty place for dirty teens, but it can be a clean low cost accomodation solution.
We stayed here for 4 days during our stay in Xi'an. The hotel is based around 2 inner courtyards, being the first one a small bar. The location is ok, it's located near the south gate, inside the city walls. you'll find all you need nearby, but because the transportation network in Xi'an is poor or too crowded, you'll find yourself walking for quite a lot most of the times. The good aspects about it: helpful and nice staff, heating and price per night. The downsides: you only have wifi access in the "lobby" (which is a bar with a reception desk at the end), there were 4 computers with internet to use for free, but 1 wasn't working, and the other the keyboard wasn't functioning. The room itself (we had a double room) was the most disappointing. Even though the bed, side table, tv, tv support furniture and lamps were quite new-looking, the room wasnt very confortable. Only one small window, hard bed and the floor very damaged in some parts of the room. The bathroom had once again overflow troubles (typical situation in China they say). While showering, the water doesn't drain fast enough, and at a point you have your flip flops floating around. But the biggest problem of the room was untidiness. the room wasnt properly cleaned, lots of dirt laying around on the floor, couple small dead cockroaches (there were 2 big wholes in the bath wall for pipe accessibility which i guess should have been covered back, but weren't, and that's where i guess the cockroaches came from), and the bath floor, with the overflow and dirtiness put together, was pretty disgusting. We thought the room hadnt been used for a while as it was low season, and the next day everything would be properly cleaned, but that didnt happen. The bedroom walls were also very dirty with squashed mosquitoes and shoe prints all over them.
I didnt expect from a hostel the most amazing bed maitress, lots of complementary kits and toothbrushes, or designer appliances, but i expected everything to be clean. Though it was cheap, i would advice anyone to pay a couple extra euros and stay somewhere else with a better value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very Nice hostel, the staff is excellent! They speak english and are so incredible helpful and friendly, really amazing. We stayed in a private double ensuite. Rooms are very nice, good beds, nice bathroom, central heating for winter and airco for summer. Free wifi on the ground floor. Help with travel information without charging. Offered even to go with us to the train station to buy tickets. Best Hostel we stayed in since we have been on the road.

One thing that is not so good, although the restaurant is a nice place to hang out, it is very expensive (for example 20 yuan for a beer while the beer is 3-5 yuan in the nearest shop). Also the western food is not good at all. We had some trouble with our stomach and wanted to play it safe. Not a good idea. Bruchetta that was cold on the inside and very spicy. Cheeseburger that tasted like mold and had no cheese (but the staff insisted that it did have cheese), burger buns that where soaked in oil that was used to fry other things and when we asked for non toasted buns they forgot, when we asked again nobody showed up after that, they served milk but it was not possible to get tea with milk. And soo on. The spring rolls where delicious! And probably the chinese food also but you can get that a lot cheaper down the road.

Also the dumpling party was a disappointment. The kitchen staff had no patient and the dumplings where not cooked properly. Some where done some where raw on the inside, considering they had meat inside not so good to feed this to your guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I highly recommend this youth hostel!! I had a private room. Very spacious, clean and well appointed. Location is close to bell tower, and south gate. I was able to walk to muslim quarter.The staff spoke english and were very friendly and helpful with my travel itinerary. 4 computers with wifi, and washing machine for laundry, no dryer. Full restaurant and bar, food was expensive but very good. I stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I highly recommend private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel

Address: No.16 Xiangzimiao Street, Xi'an, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xiangzimen International Youth HostelWe are in downtown,close to the city wall,bell tower,drum tower and the muslim street. We are within walking distance to 'food Street' and many places of interest making us a perfect base for all backpackers!our address in pinyin: nan men li,xiang zi miao,shi liu hao。 Xiangzimen youth hostel truly is a home-away-from-home with unique features such as red lanterns, carved stone benches and giant vessels filled with vibrant fish adding to the character of the place。Happy time: Pool table game at every night!Dumpling party-every friday night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xiangzimen International Youth Hotel Xi`An
Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xiangzimen International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.