We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Stay during the busy Golden Week in China” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Guilin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Guilin to your Saves list
Club Med Guilin
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   the Junction of Dayan Road and 026 Country Road, Dabu Country, Yanshan District, Guilin 541000, China (Formerly Club Med Guilin Holiday Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #5 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil Stay during the busy Golden Week in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We enjoyed very much the stay in HOMA during China's Golden Week (first week in October). Although this time is a very busy one in China we got the feeling to live far away from crowds of travelling people. One great hit of HOMA is the quiet place with the amazing sculpture park embedded in nice landscape with great views to the adjacent steep rocks south of Guilin. Another great hit is the excellent food served by very friendly staff in nice atmosphere. The top hit was in anyway Candy our hostess. She introduced us in best way to get familiarized with the location in shortest time and arranged in best way our individual trips (unforgetable the bamboo boat trip on the Ylong River, the visit in Shangri-La etc.). To be complete in our report we have to address one item which needs some improvement: The compacted shower and toilet section in the guest-rooms. Gertraud and Helmut Feist / Austria

Room Tip: Ask for guest-rooms with sufficient size regarding the sanitary section (shower and toilet). Some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    72
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
92
47
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Small property in the midst of theKarst Peaks. We received excellent service from everyone, particularly Candy our caretaker during our stay.
The food was some of thebestwe had during our extended trip
Throughout Asia, particularly dinner.
They have a stunning spa which seemed a bit pricey but the serenity was wonderful.
It is the outdoor sculptures, probably a 100 of them which provides the special uniqueness of this property. Artists from all over the world have created the works which have been set in a parklike setting with ponds, trees and streams adding to the beauty of the art.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for several nights, bicycled in the hills nearby, and tried a world-famous gourmet traditional restaurant nearby. Because modern sculptures are so carefully placed around the property, we naturally asked 'Who built all this?' We learned the Taiwanese wealthy owner is what in America we call a "self-made" entrepreneur, who deeply admires modern artists and sculptors, and invites them to be his hotel guest for months, and to use his fully equippped studios. The restaurant is excellent, as you migtht expect of a Relais et Chateau. The staff go far beyond, and are smart, kind, thoughtful, and delightful. Every guest is made to feel a star. But most of all I was touched by the realization that the greatest work of art is the hotel and its architecture. The most greatest artist of all, at the Hotel of Modern Art, is the owner who brought more creativity. commitment, originality that even the sculptors. It was really great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at HOMA. We were assigned a most helpful host Candy Wu who showed us the hotel, gave a lengthy tour of the extensive sculpture garden and their special spa. Food was excellent, we had their special hot pot which was presented in a very elaborate way. The room layout is not very well planned - especially the bathroom.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend it to our friends.

Lana and Jim

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Our family stayed at the HOMA hotel for 2 nights and we wish it could have been a lot more. The hotel has acres of land, including the sculpture gardens, spa, hotel, restaurant, arts center, bike trails, and a cave.
We could not believe how beautiful and peaceful this hotel was amidst a small village. The contrast between the farmers harvesting the rice with water buffalos, and the artistic and beauty of this hotel is astonishing.
Our rooms were well appointed, although I would have to agree that other 5 star hotels have a bit more luxurious touches. We did not miss anything in the room and the bed was the most comfortable bed we slept on during our 2 week journey.
The food was fantastic. We had a five course chinese dinner which was over the top. Breakfast included egg station, pancakes, meats, fruits, and any chinese food you heart desired. If they did not have it, all you had to do is ask for it.
The Spa is worth every penny. We all enjoyed a wonderful massage. The massage rooms were huge and so well done.
Gary, the hotel manager, was very friendly and always helpful.
Totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check websites like Splendia. We got our room including r/t transportation to the airport, breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the HOMA; ultimate relaxation; great food, gardens and staff service. We were assigned a personal assistant, Jessica, who made sure we were satisfied every minute of our stay. Service was impeccable. Pricey but well worth the experience. If you go to Guilin, this is the hotel.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Gary Deng, the hotel manager took us under his wing. He treated us like royalty. Mr. Deng took us on a personal tour of the hundred, or more acres of sculpture gardens. The hotel walls are covered with modern art of museum quality. The hotel had a driver pick us up and deliver us back to the airport. They also arraigned a cruise on the Li River and had a car pick us up at the end of the cruise. Thanks to Mr. Deng, t is the best hotel stay we ever had.

Room Tip: Every room is different, but perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Guilin

Address: the Junction of Dayan Road and 026 Country Road, Dabu Country, Yanshan District, Guilin 541000, China (Formerly Club Med Guilin Holiday Resort)
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Guilin
#2 Business Hotel in Guilin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#22 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Guilin 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Med Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Guilin Hotel Guilin
Of Modern Art Guilin
Of Modern Art Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Guilin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.