We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lijiang Waterfall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lijiang Waterfall Hotel to your Saves list
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 North Shanhu Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 662 Reviews
Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in early April. We really liked the hotel. It was close to shopping and restaurants. We had the hotel set us up with a driver for one of the days we visited and were quite happy with the gentleman they hired for us. The hotel gives you two bottles of water daily and a plate of fresh whole fruit upon arrival. The room was clean and the hotel was very quiet. The hotel was well priced as well. The hotel is quite well known because they have a waterfall show every evening at the back of their hotel. Really this is just water cascading down the glass of the hotel and the fountain is going at the same time but it is pretty to watch for a few minutes. I would happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    349
    80
    18
    11
See reviews for
54
128
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilin, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you book this hotel from travel agency or some website, you will find the hotel is different from that you know from the introduction. Yes, it is a 5-star hotel in Guilin, but the staffs, facilities and the living condition do not like the ones that 5-star hotel have. I am disappointed by the poor facilities and the restaurants are also average. If you do not have much money, but want to enjoy 5-star hotel in Guilin, you can consider this hotel, In my opinion, this hotel is just a 3-4-star hotel standard, not 5-star!

Room Tip: Better choose the rooms and suites with riverview!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilin, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A bit pricy, but great location and altogether great experience. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comparable to a average-to-high-end American hotel. The views and the location are worth the price.
Be sure to walk around Center Square and see the Waterfall show at night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the south overlook a lake and the Sun & Moon Pagodas. These offer great views; but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is located in a good spot in downtown Guilin with great views of the lake. A lot of good local food near by and you can just step out the front doors and walk around Shanhu (Fir Lake). Rooms are well sized, clean and tidy. Nothing too flashy but everything was in pretty good order.

The waterfall was interesting but ultimately completely pointless. Reception was serviceable without being particularly warm or friendly.

The hotel organised tours are quite old school Chinese. We're quite sure the tour guide got a cut of the price of admission at many of the places we visited as well as from the restaurant we were taken to for lunch. And of course, he took us to the obligatory 'silk making factory/workshop' and left us languishing in souvenir shops. Having showed enough courtesy on that front, we politely declined the visit to the 'tea house'.

The restaurant downstairs was used for a wedding the first day we were there and then some kind of strange conference (complete with bored looking girls holding placards out the front and the scariest looking clown our kids had ever seen), resulting in the main entrance way being pretty crowded with people all the time.

On our last night, the smell of cigarette smoke filled the corridors of our non-smoking floor and entered into out room as well. We called the reception to ask them to get someone to check out if someone was smoking on the floor, which resulted in a lady being sent up to our room with a non-discript bottle of chemical spray which she promptly started to spray in very liberal amounts into our room before disappearing as suddenly as she appeared. She was like a carcinogen bearing shadow in the night.

Sounds all quite negative but really, it's just a very typically Chinese hotel. The spot was great and the rooms were fine. If I ended up in Guilin again, I'd consider staying there once more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights just before the new year at the Executive Room with direct view on Pagoda. Upon checking in we were told that Afternoon Tea is provided at no charge (Awesome!).
The view from the room was breathtaking. See picture below. Room was clean although in general the hotel is tired smelled a bit musty. Beds were comfortable too. Buffet breakfast was the champion. Their Guilin rice noodle was yum! Location wise, it is very convenient for shopping, practically 3 minutes walk and you will be surprise to find the market and shopping walks (which you could not see from the hotel). Market open in the afternoon until about 11 pm. Heaps of food stalls and restaurants around.

However major drawback was the fact the aircon did not work. Turned out that the entire floor must have got the aircon off (at least we found out that the next door neighbour had the same). We were advised to open the force open window however it was still very warm despite the cool weather. As we had our window openeed, we were woken up in the middle of the night due to loud noise from the road (not sure exactly what were they doing outside). But you have to be prepared and I hope that was only temporal. Fast wifi in the hotel (another good point) aand desktop is provided (at least in Executive rooms) although they were a bit slow.

If you are going to do sightseeing in Guilin/Yangshuo but have not got the chance to prepare anything.. Dont worry. The travel desk (open at 7.30 am) provided a great help. We booked at 7.30 am for 8.30 am pick up and still manage to get 4 spots. Not sure about how much extra we have paid in terms of the price but we paid around USD 250 for 4 hours of Li River Cruise, Banyan Tree walk, Traditional Boat ride, and Butterfly Cave visit.

Dont miss out to see the IMPRESSIONS by Sanjie Liu (which can be arranged by the hotel..). It is one of the best show I have ever been, and I have been to a few in London and Australia. You will be amazed!

Room Tip: The ones with working aircon (trust me, you do not want to open the windows at night due to the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovigo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Lijian Waterfall Hotel is a big, busy hotel. We chose it because we thought we could get good service and comforts there. But when we arrived in Guilin, we soon realized that the people who work at the reception can speak very LITTLE English and could not answer our questions. They could not explain why our credit card had been charged the day before our arrival, they could not tell us where we could find a good restaurant near the hotel, they could not tell us where the main attractions of the city were and they didn't even tell us that the hotel had two restaurants where we could have dinner and breakfast. So the service was terrible! I would not recommend this hotel to any foreign person who does not speak very good Chinese. At least the bedroom was nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Rooms are clean and hotel location is ideal. The breakfast buffet is included in hotel rate but the food is just so so. Food inside the hotel is not good at all. There is a good restaurant to the right of hotel across the street-you'll see a crowd there all the time and their roast goose is good and we ate there 3 times. To the left of hotel there is a street lined with street stalls, shops and restaurants. The menu did not appeal to us so we didn't try them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lijiang Waterfall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Waterfall Hotel

Address: No.1 North Shanhu Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Guilin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#18 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lijiang Waterfall Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 652
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lijiang Waterfall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lijiang Waterfall Guilin
Hotel Lijiang Waterfall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lijiang Waterfall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.