We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guilin Bravo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Guilin Bravo Hotel to your Saves list
Guilin Bravo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.14 Ronghu South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Holiday Inn Guilin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
4.0 of 5 stars 571 Reviews
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great place, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

This is a great place, and an excellent location. In the middle of town, you can walk to the lakes (don't forget to ask a room with lake view!). clean rooms and a friendly staff

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    308
    126
    21
    10
See reviews for
81
226
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

This hotel has a beautifuyl view across the lakes, especially if you get a room on the top floor with a balcony. Unfortunately it felt a bit more like a Spanish Hacienda than a hotel in China, and I went there to experience Chinese culture, not European. Having said that the food was excellent, and the hotel very pleasant, but beginning to look a bit 'tired'. Also, make sure you take your own hair dryer, theirs was useless.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We were allocated this hotel by our Agent and she made the right choice. Our local guide said that this was her favourite hotel in Guilin and we could see why.

Located on one of the five inter-connecting lakes throughout Guilin City we had a fantastic morning walk watching the early Tai Chi and dancing rituals. The hotel boasts an outdoor swimming pool just outside the lobby area open until 10pm.

Room was comfortable although our view not great ( you need a front facing room to get a view of the lake). Breakfast wise the hotel had a full complement of Eastern and Western food. You cant want for more in terms of food. The main restaurant is very big which caters for big groups.

The Hotel also has two huge shops but the City Centre is but a 5-10 minute stroll around the lake away with the fine night market.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We only stayed here one night - but we really liked it. The hotel is in a great location next to the lakes and a short walk from the city center. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was tasty. I really hope to return to Guilin soon and I would definitely stay here again

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — That I only got to stay here one night!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

I have just returned from Guilin, China after spending 4 days at the Guilin Bravo Hotel. The hotel's staff was very friendly and helpful. After traveling extensively in China, I can easily say the level of service is superior in this hotel compared with many others I have stayed at. The outdoor pool at the hotel looked nice, yet due to rain and limited time, we didn't have a swim unfortunately.

My boyfriend and I stayed in a deluxe lake-view room, which was very nicely decorated and very clean. The view across Rong Hu lake was nice, and the location to nearby Zhongshan Road meant it was easy to get around to other areas in central Guilin. If you decide to venture out and try some of the local restaurants, the hotel is only 5 minute's walk from a fantastic 'eat-street' offering many different Chinese cuisines. Just ask at the hotel reception and they can steer you in the right direction.

We also arranged a tour guide & driver through the hotel a couple of times. They were very friendly and helpful, ensuring our day-trips were well-organized and comfortable. Whilst I currently reside in China and am familiar with the varying standards of hotels here, I could definitely recommend this hotel to foreigners on a holiday trip to the south of China. Many staff spoke very good English and always willing to help us with any of our requests. Usually I'm not one for hotel lobby gift shops, but surprisingly, the largest of the 3 gift shops (right opposite the elevator) had some tasteful souvenirs, at fairly standard prices (and not inflated 500% over what you pay in the nearby night market).

  • Liked — Really surprised at the service and general standard of the hotel
  • Disliked — For a 4-star hotel serving western breakfast, it could be improved. Banana bread great, but other breads, pastries etc left a bit to be desired
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

I read many of the reviews on the hotels in Guilin and we chose this one based on the other reviews. We could not wait to check out of this hotel, our entire stay was horrible....the worst out of all our hotels in China. On our first night our room was very hot even though we had the a/c on the coldest settings. We called the front desk to have them come up and look at it.....they took the temp reading in the room and it was a muggy 78 degrees. They didn't really seem to care too much that we were uncomfortable, so we asked if we could have a fan and they asked why. Finally they gave us a fan which gave us some relief, but we tossed and turned all night because the beds were so uncomfortable. One night we ordered a burger from the restaurant and when it came, the bun was old and hard. The hotel charged 7% to cash travelers checks.....no other hotel in China charged us....travelers checks are the same as cash. Finally our last day came and we had to wait in the lobby for a while because we were not catching a train until 6pm that night. The lobby must have been about 80 degrees.....every person in there was hot and very uncomfortable....and the staff didn't seem to care at all. They closed the pool earlier that day due to rain, but would not re-open it even after the rain stopped and the sun came out. Finally after a few hours and complaining they opened the pool. Once we checked out, we called the manager to complain and he did not seem to care at all. One night we went over to the Sheraton to have dinner and we saw how nice it was and we regretted staying at the Bravo. The reviews for the Sheraton say it is still under construction, but when we went it was only on the outside and hardly noticeable. I wish we could have stayed there, it was a much nicer hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

A hotel which was beautifully sited with fab views at night. Staffwere generally very helpful however on arrival, very late one night, they had given our room to someone else. This was despite haviving booked and the hotel being aware of our arrival time. We ended up in a very sub standard room for the night although they did upgrade us for the second night. At the time of arrival we did not find the reception staff helpful or sypathetic to our plight.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guilin Bravo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Bravo Hotel

Address: No.14 Ronghu South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Holiday Inn Guilin)
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#12 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilin Bravo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Guilin Bravo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bravo Hotel Guilin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guilin Bravo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.