We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - walking distance to city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guilin Bravo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Guilin Bravo Hotel to your Saves list
Guilin Bravo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.14 Ronghu South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Holiday Inn Guilin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel - walking distance to city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Traveled with my husband and two teens to Guilin as part of our China tour. This hotel is located by a lake, which is great for a night or morning walk. The rooms are big, clean, and well appointed. Wi fi was available in room which is a welcome change for us. The breakfast buffet was averaged compared to Beijing or Shanghai, but still adequate. The nice part of this hotel is that it is only 10 minutes away from the city. Just walk around the lake, don't cross the double bridge, and you will reach the city. This hotel is very busy, with lots of tour groups and other local events. Will recommend this hotel if you come to Guilin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    307
    126
    21
    10
See reviews for
81
226
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It´s a huge hotel with nice service. Not a lot of English spoken, but they make an effort to understand you and give you the best service possible. Western breakfast is big but not very varied (or good, for that matter), but still reasonable, just as the dinner buffet we were served because all the restaurants and bar were taken by wedding and children´s parties. The rooms are spacious and clean, very comfortable bed and great shower. I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpe Bay
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here one night as part of a tour. There was a locksmith's convention here on our arrival so the hotel was packed. Ate in the restaurant which was average. Breakfast was a nightmare. The room is badly laid out and trying to get a cup of coffee was impossible, gave up and went back to the room to make one. The rooms were fine if a bit OTT.
Had a pool but we did not us it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is in a really good location, but we wanted to experience China and this hotel was a slightly strange mix of Western/Russian (?) - very glitzy, sparkly and brassy. It almost verges on bad taste tacky, but veers off at the last minute. You could be anywhere in the world which will suit some guests but was not what we wanted from the experience.

Having given that very personal opinion I must in fairness say that the hotel was immaculately clean and well maintained, our room was spacious and sparkly clean. The bathroom was large, clean and everything worked. We could happily have stayed for longer since the bed was large, soft (by Chinese standards) and oh so comfortable. The staff members we met were efficient and friendly.

The downside was the breakfast. The dining room was large and very busy. There didn’t seem to be quite enough staff to cope. It was quite the worst coffee we experienced anywhere in China and perhaps in the world!!!

Whilst the ambience of the restaurant was poor there was a lot of western type food on offer which was topped up promptly. The quality of the food didn’t quite seem to be as good as in other hotels and it seemed as if the choice was of less expensive food. The fruit choice wasn’t as good as in other hotels we stayed in, but I accept that might just be the time we went to breakfast. We missed the option of Chinese food for breakfast and were disappointed to see that Chinese guests eat in a different dining room.

When we stayed we noted that this hotel is used by tour groups and so large coach loads of tourists coming in and going out rather than individuals. There were probably more nationalities staying here than anywhere else we stopped in other parts of China. This may have given the hotel a slightly different feel.

Room Tip: Front of hotel view of the lake - back of the hotel go higher and look over the surrounding resident...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel could be anywhere in the world, that is why we did not like it very much! We went to China to experience China, but here we could have been in London. The room was nice and so was the bathroom, but all a bit bland. The breakfast was very European, and not very good. It was only later we found out that there is a separate breakfast room for Chinese guests!

On the plus side the location is great, right by the lakes. We had a great time walking around the area and found a nice bar near the hotel which felt much more Chinese! I would like to go back to Guilin to see more of this lovely city, but would choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a Lovely big hotel that we would be happy to stay in if it were anywhere in the world!
The room was very big and clean and had everything you would need, it is one of those hotels you just feel so relaxed in, nothing to worry about at all, we loved it!
They have a really nice bar with an old mock radio that has a great sound and plays all the oldies from the 50's era, a nice place to relax if a bit expensive. Only downside is there is a piano outside and if someone wants to play the radio goes off .... poo.
Anyway, we Loved this place for its room, facilities and relaxed but professional approach. Oh, and when Mrs H left a vanity case we were able to collect it on our return a couple of days later, Thank You x
About the area itself, there's not much of interest to see in Guilin and Mrs H was a bit upset by some of the live caged animals on show outside the restaurants, but that's China, they want fresh, not bothered what it is!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of 3 week tour of China. This was one of the best hotels we stayed in. Located beside a lake and a ten minute very pleasant walk around the lake takes you into the pedestrianized city centre. Excellent breakfasts and friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guilin Bravo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Bravo Hotel

Address: No.14 Ronghu South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China (Formerly Holiday Inn Guilin)
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#12 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilin Bravo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Guilin Bravo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bravo Hotel Guilin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guilin Bravo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.