We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and pretty setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guilin Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Guilin Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Guilin Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Luosishan Road,Diecai District, Guilin 541001, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 409 hotels in Guilin
Durham
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and pretty setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour of china. This is a lovely hotel in an extremely pretty setting overlooking a lake which is beautifully lit at night. Hotel room was good, and buffet breakfast very extensive. Only downside was that it was extremely busy at breakfast and experienced some difficulty getting a table.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    90
    47
    16
    2
See reviews for
18
44
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Park had an outstanding location on Lake Guih (once an arm of the Li River). Immediate access to gorgeous walking paths along the lake that will take you to great views of downtown and its pagodas. Rooms were sumptuous, though beds were China hard. Great breakfast and free WIFI. Probably the best located hotel we had on our 3 week tour of China.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great hotel with good location. Rooms clean, staff friendly and excellent breakfast. Like all Chinese hotels the bed was very firm. Pool was clean and enjoyable after a hot and humid day sightseeing. Hotel was busy with weddings and conference during our staff but hardly any noise. Very pretty at night when lit up an reflecting in lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited as part of a tour. As most of the hotels we'd stayed in, in China were in poor locations and settings it was a pleasure and a pleasant surprise to stay at the Guilin Park Hotel. Overlooking the lake with fantastic walks along by the lake and within walking distance of the town it enhanced our stay considerably. Taking a night time stroll with everything lit up with fairly lights was magical. We wish we could have stayed longer. that said the hotel itself could do with a refurbish, and the breakfast was a bit disappointing, probably because all our other breakfasts had been superb. Loved Guilin and would return to the city again given the opportunity

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Report On Our Stay At Guilin Park Hotel 2 July, 2012

During our stay in China all hotels were excellent and the service was suburb, with the exception of the Guilin Park Hotel and their arrogant manager Mr. Long Zhuliang of the International Emperor Chamberlain team.

Due to a flight delay, we arrived late in the afternoon and our China Odyssey Tours guide Mr. Lu assisted us to check in at the hotel. The check in went smoothly and our guide suggested that we take a walk around the hotel along the river as it was a warm and beautiful evening and the lights were coming on over the river.

We went for a swim in the hotel swimming pool followed by a walk along the river, returning to our hotel at approximately 20h30. We then went to the restaurant for dinner as we were very hungry, as we had not eaten since breakfast that morning. We were aghast to discover that the hotel restaurant was closed.

We went to our room and found the room service menu and attempted to order sandwiches from hotel room service. We were then informed that the western and room service kitchens had been removed from the hotel for upgrading (at the height of tourist season?) and only a Chinese restaurant remained, which had already closed for the evening promptly at 20h30. Why were we not informed of this by hotel staff at the time of our check in?

We went down to reception and called for the duty hotel manager and Mr. Long Zhuliang came and spoke with us explaining that the restaurant was closed at 20h30 and there was no room service available (even though the menus were still in our room with no note on them about the kitchen closures.) My wife asked him if they had there would be breakfast in the morning and he said yes. She then asked if the hotel had bread. He said yes. She then also asked if someone could not then make us a cheese sandwich from the breakfast food. He curtly responded “NO!” and walked away.

This man was unhelpful and uncaring towards his guests. He did not suggest any alternative restaurants or places where we could find food nor did he show any concern that we were not informed at check in that normal restaurant service nor room service was unavailable during our stay.

We went to our room where on our desk was a brochure describing the Philosophy of International Emperor Chamberlain hotels. It said: “Philosophy: Treating politely and sincerely, being harmonious and near and dear. Elaborate, considerate, perfect and nice, create comfort, provide chamberlain services.” This is not what we experienced from Mr. Long Zhuliang.

I intend to document our experience with this hotel on travel websites to share our experience about this hotel and its manager for fellow travellers.

Robert Bareham
Cape Town
South Africa

Room Tip: Our beautiful room was on the 3rd floor I think, overlooking the pool and mountains and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed there for several days for a teambuilding and training team. They helped arrange everything. We wanted something taylor-made, including a trip to Yangshuo and another village, a tour on the Li river and attend the Zhang Yimou's show, Impression (really worth seeing it!). They provided the tickets for trhe show, a minibus and its driver and they found a good (official) guide who has been able to tell us a lot of things about the area. Only for that we can say they are nice people. But what happened later is that, because of a cyclone on Shanghai, we were not able to return home. They managed to find rooms for us one more night although they were full. And always smiling. Very efficient and utmost polite. Excellent staff!
Otherwise, the hotel is nice, relatively well located. It is what you expect in a 4-star Chinese hotel. Plus a swimming pool from which you can see the typical skyline of Guilin.
Breakfast is mostly Chinese, little for Westerners.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

it's a nice experience.it's comfortable. Guilin is a peaceful ,cozy city .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guilin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Park Hotel Guilin
Address: No.1 Luosishan Road,Diecai District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#21 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilin Park Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Guilin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guilin Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.