We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel in Guilin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Guilin Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 518 Hotels in Guilin
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“very good hotel in Guilin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

i had the pleasure of staying three nights in the beautiful city of Guilin and at the Sheraton. Admittedly, I had an executive suite with nice view on the river. However, all the negative comments I have read about the hotel, are unjustified. Let's not forget , this is China and even the country side of China. The service was very good, room was very spacious and clean, hotel is very centrally located, breakfast was outstanding. I had lunch at the Chinese restaurant at ground level - could be better. The ITalian restaurant on the top floor however is outstanding. Impressive wine list and service was impeccable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the room and Riviera restaurant. Indeed we have a the one and only Italian restaurant in town.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    347
    144
    36
    9
See reviews for
115
232
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great hotel in Guilin. Excellent location with a beautiful river view, nice helpful staff with a good of English, nice amenities in the room and the bed was really nice I strongly advice you to book this hotel only because the bed. We got a upgrade to the executive floor I must say that the view was wonderful and the breakfast was good they have a excellent egg station. Overall was a great experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review.
We sincerely appreciate your high evaluation on our service, breakfast and the bed. The SweetSleeper Bed it’s the back bone of Sheraton brand room’s comfort.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We recently spent two nights in Guilin at the Sheraton. After an initial room mix up, and arduous check-in process we finally settled in for the night. One of the perks of travelling for our kids is the breakfast buffet. But we were disappointed by the service and quality on both mornings. The variety of foods was lacking, presentation was poor and the breads/pastries were never replenished. The lines for the omelets was very long because that was really all that was available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your valuable comments.
We are sorry to hear that the breakfast disappointed you and we are already working on improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you back and show you our improvements.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel has a great location right by the river Li. It's close to the hustle and bustle and amenities of Guilin but the hotel itself is calm and comfortable. The beds are firm but not as rock hard as many in China. Our room was very clean and pleasantly decorated with a view over the hotel pool so it was very quiet. The bathroom was modern with good fittings but the walk-in shower was very difficult to regulate being either too hot or too cold - a small irritation. The Wi-Fi was fast and there were good choices of English speaking channels on the TV.
The staff were very helpful with good English skills. Breakfast was a very good mix of Chinese and Western and the standard was very good. Omelettes and fried eggs were cooked to order and the fresh fruit and salad selections were excellent. One small disappointment on day two was the absence of the lovely fresh unsliced bread to cut. This had been available on day one and was delicious however it was not available again on day two. There was also a separate 'Cathay Chinese restaurant' on the ground floor which we did not use.
There is a bar area on the ground floor which was very pleasant to return to after an evening in the busy streets of Guilin.
As usual in China a 5 star hotel is not of quite the standard of a European 5 star hotel so there were small attentions to detail missing but don't let this put you off. This is an excellent hotel and right up there with any other 5 star hotels you might find in China. I would definitely chose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor overlooking the hotel pool so faced away from the main streets and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Your comments regarding the room, the breakfast and staff are much appreciated by our team.
We are undergoing some modification work of the water pipes; we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we caused you.
Once again, thank you for your kindness and support and we look forward to having you back soon.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel itself is good but (we were upgraded to a suite), doesn't have a lot of character. An important plus is the comfortable beds. After many nights in beds that were hard it was great to have a good sleep again.
The location of the hotel however is very good. You just walk from hotel to the Li river, square, shopping, restaurants and some of the attractions. This is absolutely a big plus as some of the other hotels like Shangri La are not in town. We intended to stay 1 night but in the end stayed two nights. Opposite the hotel is a place where you can have a decent footmassage and bodymassage in a clean environment (2 hrs foot/body 240rmb)
One night we ate in the chinese restaurant of the hotel which was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us. The SweetSleeper Bed it’s the back bone of Sheraton brand room’s comfort.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Room ,,location and the Italian Restaurant were great. However, when it came it breakfast it was a joke. Poor service for coffee. The chef had just put out bacon and hash browns and they were all cold.

Room Tip: River view room was nice but do not expect to see the river as trees are in the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our room and Italian restaurant.
We really appreciate your comments about the breakfast and we will take prompt action on this matter.
We are looking forward your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This was a great hotel in Guilin. Stayed for 3 days. The staff is very friendly and professional. I travelled alone so it was adventure for me. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. They assisted me on where to go around and where to go shopping. Excellent location for shops and restaurants so it was not a problem to me. When it comes to my room, it was well furnished, clean with all the amenities and a perfect view. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for providing a review with regard to your stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you satisfied with our hotel. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and our hospitality.
Once again, thank you for your kindness and recommendation and look forward to having you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Guilin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Address: No.15 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guilin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#19 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Guilin Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Guilin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Guilin
Guilin Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Guilin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.