We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not befitting the Sheraton name.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Guilin Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 522 Hotels in Guilin
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Not befitting the Sheraton name.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was shocked at the service, level of hospitality and quality of this hotel. I have traveled throughout China and cannot believe this hotel can fly the Sheraton flag.

There are two parts to this hotel, the original and the addition built on. We stayed in the newer part. The rooms were unbelievably hot (as all hotels rooms in China are in winter but this was ridiculous). When we asked for a fan we were told our traveling companions had the only fan in the hotel sent to their room. When asked if we could turn down the temperature a resounding no was heard. The room was so hot it was not possible to sleep. The service was curt, rude, and it felt like we were inconveniencing the staff.

There are not many choices in Guilin for Western-branded hotels. Be forewarned of the subpar standards of this particular Sheraton hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan to help cool your room upon check-in. And they only have one, so ask fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
桂林喜來登飯店, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are sorry to hear of your disappointments about the problems you encountered with the room and service. We had shared your concerns with our team to make future improvement for future guests.
I sincerely hope that this experience will not deter your patronage from our Sheraton brand in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    384
    153
    43
    11
See reviews for
129
269
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in 2 (two) rooms back in Nov 2013 with Club (Executive Lounge) benefits. Unfortunately, the Executive Lounge Club was very poorly managed. Very little food, very little selections, & very little alcohol. The hotel overall is old & it needs renovation everywhere. Everything else was satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our club lounge; however, we certainly take your feedback onboard.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The staff here are very friendly and helpful. Nice open lobby. Great location. Free wifi in the lobby. Located by the Li river walk. Have a nice cafe and western dinning. Quiet and comfortable environment !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on our hotel. Your compliment is definitely a big source of motivation to the entire team.
We very appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Guilin soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

As far as I understand this is one of the nicer hotels in Guilin, Plus, being a Starwood member made the decision easy. I thought the hotel was older but nice and well located by the River and within walking distance from restaurants and shops. We are gold reward members so we were supposedly upgraded but I wasn't super impressed by the rooms, however, I didn't see the alternative. All in all a decent choice for a short stay in Guilin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your valuable comments, and thanks for your support to the Starwood.
We are truly disappointed to learn that our upgraded room didn’t come up to your expectations.
We sincerely hope that we or our colleagues in another Sheraton will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the outlook, the hotel looks a bit old and not so impressive. However, the lobby and interior are much better than the exterior. The room is reasonably spacious and has all the things a tourist needs. The bed is comfortable (though I personally find it too soft) and sheets are clean. Buffet breakfast and lunch are pretty good and there are a fairly wide choices of food according to the Chinese standard, though I must say the style is very oriental. If you rank this hotel according to western standard, it would be an average Sheraton hotel but a fairly good one according to Chinese standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for providing your kind feedback about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you have a pleasant surprise during your stay, and we will certainly continue to do our best to ensure our guests have a great time with us.
We look forward to your return trip to Sheraton Guilin soon.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while on tour for the Li River cruise. Very large open atrium with a rather noisy eating area , food ok but nothing special, hotel needs overall update. The service was very good. Location close to shops and restaurants

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Guilin Hotel and taking the time to post your comments.
We will surely keep your comments under consideration, when planning for the coming year.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishinomiya, Japan
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

It is an 80's hotel that is in need of a face lift. There seems to be a lot of brown and reddish brown which was popular back then.However the building is relatively well maintained and everything was clean.

Whatever flaws in the building can be overlooked by its location. Across the front is the Li River, behind is the ZhengYang Pedestrian street. A block away is the town central plaza and 20 minute walk is Fubo Hill. Everything is convenient. Bars, restaurants, coffee houses from all corners of the globe, foot massages, to souvenir and high end department stores are all within a block away.

All staff speaks English and their service is impeccable.

Breakfast is standard Western and Chinese fare. Nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about.

Since most of our trip was spent outside sightseeing, the exterior look of the hotel didn't seem that important. In Guilin, there seems to be only a couple of international hotels to choose from and to get this type of location for the price point they offer, both my wife and I feel it is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.

Best Regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Guilin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Address: No.15 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guilin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#5 Family Hotel in Guilin
#16 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Guilin Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Guilin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Guilin
Guilin Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Guilin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.