We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible dinner buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Guilin Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.15 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 520 Hotels in Guilin
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Terrible dinner buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Older hotel, but quite adequate accommodation on the 4th floor. Horrible food at the hotel dinner buffet, practically inedible, and not replenished (a problem for some in our tour group, but not for me!). Breakfast buffet better, but not great. ATM machine out of order.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, General Manager at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Guilin and thank you for your valuable feedback.
We have noted your comments about the dinner buffet and we are working on improvements on taste and selection.
Regarding the ATM issue we are sorry for the inconvenience. Please rest assured that this was an isolated case.
We sincerely hope that those issues will not deter your patronage from our hotel in the future.

Best regards,
Silvio Autuori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    369
    147
    41
    10
See reviews for
119
256
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

very nice clean rooms but you can hear everything from the corridors and next door

and if you are expecting to catch the shuttle bus to the airport (because thats what the booking sites offer you with your booking) - beware the service does not exist and the staff do not know what you are talking about.

otherwise, nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
We feel very sorry to learn of your unpleasant experience. There's no shuttle bus from the hotel to the airport, but we can offer airport pick-up service with extra charge. Could you send email to me at rita.qin@sheraton.com tell us which sites offer you the wrong information, and we will correct it as soon as posibble.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hi, we stayed here for two nights, it is in a fantastic central location. The staff were warm and welcoming. The room we had was spotless and luxurious, it has a 7foot bed, and we had a great sleep. The bathroom had all the additional products you want, it really was gorgeous. On the second floor and looking out over the river, we were right next to the mezzanine cafe, so quick to breakfast and up to the outdoor swimming pool.
I loved the breakfast, so much to choose from, a wide range of Chinese and western choices. We ate outside on the evening but I am told that the buffet and meals was delicious.
We come straight outside at the rear to the market stands, and town centre, I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
桂林喜來登飯店, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for your generous praise of our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a great sleep during your stay; the sweet sleeper bed is one of our Sheraton unique core products.
It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay and our hospitality, and we will continually strive to deliver the warm Sheraton service and high quality products to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Guilin in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location, centrally located, close to everything you want to see. nice clean rooms. Great breakfast. Excellent service. The facility is a little older compared to other hotels we stayed at in China,but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
桂林喜來登飯店, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Guilin Hotel and taking time to share your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our room, breakfast and service; we will keep working on improving our hotel facilities and providing more professional and personalized service for guests.
We are looking forward to having you back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Location is excellent. Right across from the river and near the main shopping district. 20 minute walk to 7 Star Park. The building is a bit old, but I had paid a bit more for a "premium" east wing room. What we got was a room that had been renovated, it appears within the past couple of years, and faced the tree-lined street next to the river.
They cash travellers cheques.
We had the dinner buffet at the Atrium Coffee Shop overlooking the lobby and it was excellent and good value.
We also tried the Cathay Chinese restaurant on the ground floor - food is OK but a bit expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor and we have shared your feedback with our management associates. Our team truly cares about guest’s experiences and is always striving to improve.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and thank you for choosing The Sheraton.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked at Sheraton through odyssey tours. We were "upgraded" to a club room on the 6th floor. On opening the door to the room we were met with a dank smell.The furnishing and decor are very old and in need of a refurb.
We had buffet for dinner on the 2nd floor.The food was 2nd rate and mostly either undercooked or cold.
I could not recommend this hotel to anyone and I am amazed that some have given the hotel a high rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Warm greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations and we have shared your feedback with our management team. We will certainly be looking to improvements based on your valuable comments.
We sincerely hope that this experience will not deter your patronage from our Sheraton brand in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After waiting many years to experience Guilin's Beauty, we ended up in the Sheraton Guilin Hotel, definatley not worth the price and the wait. The rooms were very worn, and tired, the food in the lobby was not was not much better. The front desk offered to "upgrade our room", which had a additional room with 3 sofas place 1 placed on each wall, and (I Kid you not) a single light hanging in the middle of the room. After the tour up the river there is a beautiful newer hotel Hotel Shangrila, right on the water. Definatley worth the reseach to look into that hotel. Guilin's surrounding beauty is definatley worth the adventure, just do your research regarding the hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuilinHotel, Sales Specialist at Sheraton Guilin Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Greetings from The Sheraton Guilin,
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on TripAdvisor and we have shared your feedback with our management associates.
We are sorry to know that our hotel can't meet your expectations. The hotel has completed the renovation of club lounge and Riviera terrace last month however in some places it needs some refurbishment. It is already on plan for the coming year.
We sincerely hope that we or my colleagues in another Sheraton will have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Guilin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Guilin Hotel

Address: No.15 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Location: China > Guangxi Zhuang > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guilin
#4 Business Hotel in Guilin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#15 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Guilin Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Guilin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Guilin
Guilin Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Guilin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.